We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do you expect? It's a Super 8, folks.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 New Richmond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 New Richmond to your Saves list
Super 8 New Richmond
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1561 Dorset Lane, New Richmond, WI 54017   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Richmond
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What do you expect? It's a Super 8, folks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night, so paid more than I would have liked for a Super 8, but it was quiet during the night when we slept and there was hot water in the morning, so we can't complain too much. Pretty run-down, but it was fine for a one-night's sleep. Wouldn't book this hotel if you plan on actually hanging out in your room for a while. Owners live in the hotel, so that's a little weird. Overall, it was what I expected. Be aware that all Super 8s accept pets.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    16
    15
    15
See reviews for
22
16
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel is awful. Do not stay here. Hotel staff at check-in was incompetent and distant. The pillows in the room were very thin so we called to ask for some extra pillows. At first they didn't answer the phone. We waited a few minutes and called again and someone answered the phone after several rings. When I asked for extra pillows he asked "why?". I explained why and he slammed the phone down on the counter without answering. A few minutes later he showed up with 3 pillows (we asked for 4 because there were 4 people in the room). The first thing he said to us was "next time bring your own". The pillows looked used and we were creeped out using them. We had a reservation for 2 nights but left the next morning. There were sold out hotels in the area but we realized this one was almost empty. Now we know why!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Richmond hotels

usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I just need to tell you how wonderful and caring you folks are. I would recommend you very highly.
My husband and I had attended a late funeral in Stillwater, MN. He was so very ill with stomach trouble
and you helped us so much.
After Bud not feeling at all well all night, we headed back home to the Rothschild area very soon on Sat..
It was a very long drive for me and we thought how we could not have traveled the distance that Friday
Night just to get home. The date was Sept. 9th.
Thank you again.
Helen Meydam

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We were staying on a Saturday night with two small children. At approximately 2:00 a.m. we received a call from the front desk telling us that there was a complaint regarding the noise in our room and asking us to be quiet. The noise did not come from out room - we had all been asleep for 3+ hours at that point, and the phone call woke everyone up. When I explained this to the desk attendant, he just hung up without apologizing. The next morning, I went to find a manager to complain and found the front desk unattended. I waited for several minutes, but finally gave up and left. I wrote an e-mail to Super 8 corporate to relay our experience, and received no response. What a horrible experience, and what a horrible way to run a business. Needless to say, we will never set foot in any Super 8 again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This place was an absolute disaster. We waited five minutes for someone to check us in. When they did come to check us in, we couldn’t understand her since she seemed like she was fresh out of India. The check-in process took almost a half an hour!

The room and hallways smelled horrible. The room’s lights kept flickering and there wasn’t even a TV in our room. But since it was one night and only $50 dollars, we stayed. We weren’t in the room for very long and only slept. Which the pillows were very hard and the heat went hay-wire and the room rose to 102 degrees and stayed that was all night. There was no way to turn this heat down.

After taking a shower, the water drain was broken and wouldn’t go up to let the water out. My colleague had to ask for more shampoo and conditioner at the front desk and they charged us $4 dollars for the tiny bottles. After I cleaned up and packed my belongings, I discovered a pair of underwear that were not mine nor my colleagues that were wedged in a corner. DISGUSTING. Never will I stay at a Super 8 of any kind.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We were traveling and called ahead with the Super 8 800 number. It was listed as a 'Pride of Super 8', in the motel book. Wrong! The desk clerk was very friendly. The motel was almost empty. Our room had not been vacuumed, there were several spider webs in corners with spiders in them, and the parking lot had no lighting. We were not sure if our sheets were fresh and they were a dingy color. The security door had duct tape over it. Super 8 really should check on their motels to be sure they maintain them if they are going to list them as a Pride. It was also difficult to find it with no outside sign lit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I was in New Richmond for a family wedding and decided to stay at the super 8. Several years ago I stayed there and didn't remember anything negative, so felt comfortable booking a room for my kids and I.

Upon entering there was no one at the front desk, however a quick ringing of a door bell and someone came to the front quickly. We got to our room (keys both worked fine), room is very basic but clean. However it is a worn out looking room, there were rips in the bed sheet, windows don't look like they properly fit in the window opening. I was going to open one, but the screen was significantly bent and not fitting the window...so bugs could very easily find there way into the room if the window was open.

We had to enter the hallway a few times that evening, and everytime an overwhelming smell permeated the hallways. I am not familiar with Indian foods, but from reading other reports on here I wonder if that is the smell. I didn't notice it upon checkin, just after 6pm or so, so it must have been something the owners were making for their own family. I am pretty sensative to smells, so I was glad that it didn't waft into the hotel room at all.

One other small note, I am not sure if it is a hotel that usually allows pets, but there was a couple staying there with 2 medium (40lb?) dogs, so if you can't stay somewhere that pets stay, this place shouldn't be considered.

Overall, after having stayed at the AmericInn just down the street a few months ago...if in need of a hotel in New Richmond in the near future again, I would spend a little more and stay down the street and not at the Super 8...it's seen better days for the price they're charging.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 New Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 New Richmond

Address: 1561 Dorset Lane, New Richmond, WI 54017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > New Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 New Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 New Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight New Richmond
New Richmond Super Eight
New Richmond Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 New Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.