We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Aire Motel

Swiss Aire Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Glarus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Aire Motel
Save
You added Swiss Aire Motel to your Saves list
1200 Highway 69, New Glarus, WI 53574   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Glarus
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Budget Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed this perfect stop between historic New Glarus, New Glarus Brewery and Sugar River State Park. Cute mini golf also down the road (we will have to try that next time).
The couple that own this place put their heart into making your stay comfortable. Clean and modern rooms for a good price and a light breakfast on the weekends.
We were 500 feet from the bike trail and could walk to town. We were very very happy. The room was right on the road, but the noise was not noticable at all.

I would highly recommend this to families!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, IN
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Swiss Aire Motel is a small, family-run motel that retains the simple charm of old-timey motor courts. My husband and I stayed here during a recent visit to New Glarus. The property was clean, and we liked being near the Sugar River Trail and downtown New Glarus. The property owners were friendly and gave very helpful suggestions for the best restaurants in New Glarus.

Rooms do face the highway, and we needed to keep the A/C on at night to avoid hearing traffic noise. This is a no-frills hotel, but we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for easy access to the attractions of New Glarus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were travelling with 2 other couples and decided to stay in New Glarus for the night. I did my research and decided on this hotel because the reviews were favorable. I had called the day before to check on availability and prices. I was told a price which included a 10% discount but when I called the next morning to reserve 3 rooms I was informed there was no discounts on weekends. The 3 rooms we reserved were supposed to be in the same building but when we got there 2 of the rooms were in the building in back...it is a cheap and poorly built area in need of updating. The air conditioning unit was so loud and would go on and off all night. The beds were uncomfortable as well. For this we paid $110...way too much for such a mediocre motel. Needless to say we would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Glarus hotels

Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Been coming here for about 10 years.great little swiss city.Bike trails/golf/great food
Would not stay anywhere else.Local family--super nice
No fancy motel--but perfect old time feel
Walk to town!!--Bakery a morning must!!
Best dinner in town--ask Tracy for directions!!

Room Tip: king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascade, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a great, clean, friendly motel in the friendly town of New Glarus. Eric and Tracy Gobeli, are wonderful hosts offering suggestions on where to eat. We went with another couple on a weekend motorcycle trip and had a wonderful time in New Glarus where the folks are very friendly. Thanks to Eric and Tracy for a very relaxing evening at your beautiful property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a very nice motel,clean,simple,low-cost than most motels,owners are very friendly,clean rooms, relaxing stay, great continental breakfast , love the knotty pine wood work in the office and where you have your continental breakfast. Stayed here in 2003, hope to afford trip next month back to New Glarus, will definetly be staying at Swiss Aire.

Cindy from Kenosha,WI

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed again at this nice little Motel. There are a few comments I would like to add from my previus review a few years back. As usual the room was impecable, clean carpet, furniture in very good condition. The price is getting up there, this is a no frills property. There is certainly no room for $39.00 per night as listed on this site. No microwave or fridge in the room and no complimentry breakfast. There is a coffee maker in the room and a in the lobby. I think something a little more should be offered for the price. Maybe doughnuts or something in the morning. Still a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: This motel is set back from the main highway, but the highway noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Swiss Aire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Aire Motel

Address: 1200 Highway 69, New Glarus, WI 53574
Location: United States > Wisconsin > New Glarus
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Glarus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Swiss Aire Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Aire Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.