We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First B&B experience--wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helvetica Inn

Helvetica Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Glarus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Helvetica Inn
Save
You added Helvetica Inn to your Saves list
3935 37th St Ct West, New Glarus, WI 34205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 New Glarus B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First B&B experience--wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I LOVED our stay here! It was our first time in a B&B and started a favorite new vacation tradition of going to small towns and staying in B&Bs. Lynda was a great hostess--we didn't want to end the delicious breakfast because the conversation was so wonderful. She gave us great tips about where to go in the town and we had a great day bumming around, walking all over, and --of course-- heading to the brewery. She recommended a number of places for dinner, and we actually bumped into her and spent another few hours chatting out in town over drinks. The house itself was charming and the best value for staying close to town. We cannot wait to go back!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Lynda was a wonderful hostess as the other reviewers have noted. She makes you feel at home and has great insight into local sites and activities. The historic house is very nice, the room comfortable, and the neighborhood quiet. It is within walking distance of historic sites, downtown, and restaurants. We stayed in the king size bedroom with private bath and entrance. The tasty breakfast was served in our room -- pretty posh! We really enjoyed our time there and in New Glarus, and the price was quite reasonable for the very fine accommodations. We will be back soon to bicycle the nearby trails.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I were planning a trip to New Glarus b/c we are avid craft brew fans and were interested in spending some time at the brewery. I picked Helvetica b/c of the reviews. Lynda is absolutely fantastic. She made the trip so much more fun! The house is lovely, historical and positioned in a beautiful and quiet spot. The walk to downtown is pleasant, with lots of wonderful shops/bars and restaurants to visit. The dogs are such sweeties as well. We stayed in the Gerber Room, which was more than spacious! I strongly recommend that you stay with Lynda when you visit! I'll remember the advice Lynda......steps, steps, steps!
Michelle & Todd Takei

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The bed & bath were great, food was tasty, and Lynda conversational.....but her walking a long block in the rain to bring us two umbrellas at the restaurant for the walk back at night -- was exceptional. You just don't find that kind of customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Helvetica Inn is a clean, lovely and charming place to stay! Morning breakfasts were scrumptious and evening snacks were delicious. Lynda is so hospitable and offers a lot of history and sightseeing information for the area. We stayed in the Hoesly room which was large, had its own entrance, bathroom and porch. There are a couple bikes that are available to bike the numerous local trails. Lynda even came to pick us up when one of the bikes got a flat tire! New Glarus is a cozy little town with some good restaurants and a great brewery. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We are avid B&B er's when we travel. Most are nice, but the Helvetica Inn is a standout. It is a lovely, clean, affordable, and historic place to visit. Lynda, the host, is a gem! We arrived earlier then we were expected and that was not a problem for her at all. She gave us an interesting tour of the house and was very helpful with New Glarus information. The Inn is a short walk from downtown, which is a pleasant place for a short visit. We stopped there as part of a longer road trip. You can visit the brewery, take a bike ride on the Sugar River Trail (Lynda provides two bicycles free of charge,) and have a delicious Swiss meal in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Breakfast was yummy; broccoli quiche, yogurt, and grapes and the rooms were cute and well kept. The owner was so kind and informative, giving us a history of the house and info on how cheese is made as we had our morning breakfast. You must go if in the area, and a trip to area is worth it to visit New Glarus brewery, a high tech operation making great quality beer.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glarus
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Madison-Verona
14.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monroe
13.4 mi away
Super 8 Verona / Madison Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Karakahl Country Inn
Karakahl Country Inn
#3 of 3 in Mount Horeb
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
14.7 mi away
Super 8 Monroe
Super 8 Monroe
#3 of 4 in Monroe
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
17.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetica Inn

Address: 3935 37th St Ct West, New Glarus, WI 34205
Location: United States > Wisconsin > New Glarus
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New Glarus
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy cottage 6 miles from the beaches of Anna Maria Island on the Gulf ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helvetica Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.