We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B in a lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helvetica Inn

Helvetica Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Glarus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Helvetica Inn
101 3rd St., New Glarus, WI 53574   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 New Glarus B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B in a lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Lynda was a wonderful hostess as the other reviewers have noted. She makes you feel at home and has great insight into local sites and activities. The historic house is very nice, the room comfortable, and the neighborhood quiet. It is within walking distance of historic sites, downtown, and restaurants. We stayed in the king size bedroom with private bath and entrance. The tasty breakfast was served in our room -- pretty posh! We really enjoyed our time there and in New Glarus, and the price was quite reasonable for the very fine accommodations. We will be back soon to bicycle the nearby trails.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I were planning a trip to New Glarus b/c we are avid craft brew fans and were interested in spending some time at the brewery. I picked Helvetica b/c of the reviews. Lynda is absolutely fantastic. She made the trip so much more fun! The house is lovely, historical and positioned in a beautiful and quiet spot. The walk to downtown is pleasant, with lots of wonderful shops/bars and restaurants to visit. The dogs are such sweeties as well. We stayed in the Gerber Room, which was more than spacious! I strongly recommend that you stay with Lynda when you visit! I'll remember the advice Lynda......steps, steps, steps!
Michelle & Todd Takei

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The bed & bath were great, food was tasty, and Lynda conversational.....but her walking a long block in the rain to bring us two umbrellas at the restaurant for the walk back at night -- was exceptional. You just don't find that kind of customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Helvetica Inn is a clean, lovely and charming place to stay! Morning breakfasts were scrumptious and evening snacks were delicious. Lynda is so hospitable and offers a lot of history and sightseeing information for the area. We stayed in the Hoesly room which was large, had its own entrance, bathroom and porch. There are a couple bikes that are available to bike the numerous local trails. Lynda even came to pick us up when one of the bikes got a flat tire! New Glarus is a cozy little town with some good restaurants and a great brewery. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We are avid B&B er's when we travel. Most are nice, but the Helvetica Inn is a standout. It is a lovely, clean, affordable, and historic place to visit. Lynda, the host, is a gem! We arrived earlier then we were expected and that was not a problem for her at all. She gave us an interesting tour of the house and was very helpful with New Glarus information. The Inn is a short walk from downtown, which is a pleasant place for a short visit. We stopped there as part of a longer road trip. You can visit the brewery, take a bike ride on the Sugar River Trail (Lynda provides two bicycles free of charge,) and have a delicious Swiss meal in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast was yummy; broccoli quiche, yogurt, and grapes and the rooms were cute and well kept. The owner was so kind and informative, giving us a history of the house and info on how cheese is made as we had our morning breakfast. You must go if in the area, and a trip to area is worth it to visit New Glarus brewery, a high tech operation making great quality beer.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend honeymoon at the Helvetica B&B. The owner, Lynda, made us feel like friends and not just guests. Our room (the Hoesly Suite) was spacious, clean, and comfortable with a private entrance. We loved sitting out on our private porch in the evenings and for the yummy breakfasts each morning. Downtown New Glarus is just a short walk from the B&B. We look forward to staying at the Helvetica again in the near future and will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda C, Owner at Helvetica Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Awh Thanks guys. You were definitely one of my favorite guests! Have a good life and come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Helvetica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetica Inn

Address: 101 3rd St., New Glarus, WI 53574
Location: United States > Wisconsin > New Glarus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New Glarus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helvetica Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Helvetica Inn to your Saves list