We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only our opinion - don't waste your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lagniappe Brasserie

Lagniappe Brasserie
17001 W Greenfield Ave, New Berlin, WI 53151-1364
262-782-7530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in New Berlin
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
midwest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“only our opinion - don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Our dear friends gave us a gift certificate for this restaurant for our anniversary. We went and this was our experience a few days ago. Just for your information, we did not complain to the hostess or the server, and that was our fault, All three of us felt hostess had a slight attitude. Server was very nice. Went there for lunch and reserved a table on Fred's porch. It is an enclosed porch with two tables. On the paticular day that we were there it was very cold outside. A portable heater was there, but was only put on when we arrived. It took quite awhile before it heated up the small space. There were 3 of us for lunch. The order was 2 entrees, 2 soups, 1 fresh pressed vege/fruit drink, 1 small salad, 1fish entree, 1 rib eye steak entree, 2 wines, 1 martini, 1 coffee, bill without tip was $71.00. Only one meal almost edible, fish was tasty, but a long black hair under the vegetables turned us off. Fish piece was approximately 3-4" long, extremely small, even for lunch portion. Rib eye steak was grey, no char marks, totally unedible -only options given to go with the steak were cole slaw, chips or cottage cheese, no vegetables. Took whole portion of steak home for the dogs, steak knife given could not cut the meat, full of fat and grissel. It was 12:30 and they had run out of soup. Husband and daughter wanted same soup, but restaurant only had 1 order left. Soup was served in a large bowl, the amt. of soup seemed no more than 1/4 to 1/3 cup. Bread on table was dry and appeared old, not a nice warm, french bread which would be expected in a nice french restaurant. I honestly don't not want to write a negative reveiw - I write several reviews and all have been positive, but this experience left a sour taste in all of our mouths. This is my first negative review of a restaurant. Just could not find anything appealing or promising about it. When our dear friend has asked how we liked it, I had to be honest, but did feel bad. Perhaps should give it a second chance, but not at those prices. As far as interior appeal - curtain rods on windows, but not curtains, cheap pictures. After reading all the positive reviews, I feel like we went to an entirely different restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Great Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Lagniappe is located in a converted house on 170th (or so) and Greenfield Ave. It is small, quaint, very nice and unpretentious. The focus is clearly on the food and your dining experience. The menu frequently changes and many (if not most) of the ingredients are as local as possible (some being grown on site). It is a great place to go to have a leisurely dining experience, with interesting dishes that are very well prepared. Considering the quality and the types of dishes I also think it is reasonably priced with most entrees between $15 and $30. It is among the top of our choices for fine dining in Milwaukee.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Chef Choice Dinners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Once a month or so the chef has themed meals, usually by country. They are awesome and a fantastic value.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lovely little French outpost in suburban Milwaukee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This charming spot offers attentive service and an interesting, seasonal menu. We found the food to be slightly bland and the plate was not eye-catching (white fish, white potatoes, white turnips - even the asparagus was white) but the friendly and professional server and the coziness of the restaurant added up to an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazingly Affordable Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is a cute little restaurant (and tiny bar) with a small menu that seems to change daily. I wasn't blown away by the entrees (except for a fabulous asparagus soup) on a recent visit, but I was amazed at the quality offered at very reasonable prices. At those prices, I would definitely return to try some other menu offerings. The service was very good. A nice wine list was available, though wines by the glass were somewhat limited (but again, very reasonably priced). The bread basket and its accompaniments were very enjoyable. The restaurant was empty when we arrived for early dinner (6pm on a Fri) but by the time we left around 8:15 pm business was good. It is a nice place for a quiet/intimate dinner. I hope this little gem can hold in in these tough times.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagniappe Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Lagniappe Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagniappe Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.