We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So worth the trip!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stone Barn

The Stone Barn
S685 County Road Kk, Nelson, WI 54756
715-673-4478
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“So worth the trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time to the Stone Barn and we will definitely be back.
I could of sat there all night enjoying the atmosphere.
It's a true gem in the middle of no where.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pizza and beautiful country setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Pulled up on a Friday night at 4:55 at the same time as 100 other people, wait on a short line to order pizza and beverages and then go pick a table outside on a beautiful patio that has a breathtaking view of the country, a great fresh herb garden and a great stone barn. The pizza was delivered quickly and it was delicious, now I Know why 100 people were all coming at 5pm when they open. A great little find in the middle of the countryside.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, mn
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous pizza and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Stone Barn is simply a fabulous experience. They sell pizza, ice cream and drinks, all at a very reasonable price. The pizza is outstanding and the wine and beer selection are quite good for a pizza place. However, the real treat is the ambience. The restaurant is in a rustic cooley with a beautiful view. The service is fantastic. The wait for food is often long but that is because so many people go there. Given the load they move a quickly as humanly possible. The wait staff deserves kudos for being so hard working. To top it off, the drive there is absolutely spectacular through some of the most beautiful country side anywhere. It takes an effort to get there but it is well worth it. One bit of advice--get 1 pizza per 2 adults even though they look large. The crust is very thin and toppings are perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OMG Its GOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Love pizza? Love eating outdoors? You should not miss this place. The best pizza I ever had anywhere in the world. All made to order and baked in a wood fired oven.
Sitting outside by the herb garden adds to the ambiance. I cannot say enough just how good this busy little gem of a place is.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A local gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

July 2013 is my 3rd visit here and it such a great way to spend a summer evening. I am hoping they consider offering rooms for sleeping after indulging in pizza and wine! I can highly recommend a bottle ..or two..of the Lost Angel with the Supreme. A nice evening is to stay nearby at the Pepin Motel and then breakfast at the Homemade Cafe the next day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stone Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Stone Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stone Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.