We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great polish cuisine, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckhorn Cafe

Buckhorn Cafe
N8404 19th Avenue, Necedah, WI
(608) 565-2695
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Necedah
Cuisines: Polish
Restaurant details
Necedah, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great polish cuisine, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We go there often for the great breakfast, red potatoes, polish sausage. Lunch and supper has been great too. Especially enjoy the pig roasts and pulled pork sandwiches. We have had really good steaks there too! Sometimes the wait in the summer is annoying but I hear they will be expanding the kitchen. The staff has been attentive and friendly whenever we have been there. Cozy place. Will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The food wasn't very good. I asked for a recommendation among 3 and it was a dry bbq sandwich. I had to wait 10 minutes for a drink refill and someone at our table had to flag the waitress down, and it wasn't even busy. Décor is nice though. I'd give them another chance if we're back in town.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauston, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, especially Polish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Have been going here for three years. The food has always been very good. Had their breakfast for the first time(Polish sausage, eggs and potatoes) and this is hands down the best breakfast in the area. Eggs were done perfectly, and I'm a stickler. Occasional slow service. Great beer menu(lots of micros and polish/german choices)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte, IN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth The Wait! Mark it "DELISH"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

While I will agree that the wait time was a little long, the food we received on a Saturday night was excellent. My husband & father-in-law were looking for pierogi that reminded them of ones like grandma made. They loved them! They also had the Country Polish Platter which was a full plate of good food. I opted for a Buckhorn Burger which arrived hot off the outdoor grill on a nice soft bun cooked to medium rare perfection. Our waitress, Kim, was attentive even though she was running between a lot of tables. Jerry, the owner, came to our table to personally apologize for the wait. I found the atmosphere good, the staff friendly, and the food excellent. If you are pressed for time on a busy Saturday night, you might try somewhere else. But if you are willing to have some patience, you won't be disappointed with the Buckhorn Café. Yummy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Has potential but doesn't have it all together!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We went for the fish fry, I ordered walleye which was excellent and my husband ordered cod fried and received broiled. Didn't complain because took long enough to get our food. My 2 kids both ordered grilled cheese and one was half cooked with white cheese and the other had yellow cheese, why aren't they using the same type cheese for a simple grilled cheese sandwich, major fail on those. The French fries look like they came straight from freezer and no whole pieces just tiny bits and pieces, also the mashed potatoes are instant and floating in butter. Like I said this place had a lot of potential they just need to get all on same page and get it together.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckhorn Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buckhorn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckhorn Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.