We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gingerbread House

The Gingerbread House
S 63 W 16147 College Ave, Muskego, WI 53150
414-422-9601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Muskego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Unique experience with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The setting is an old farmhouse (1800s?) turned into a cute little cafe. Outdoor seating lets you see the chickens wandering around the property, or you can sit inside. We went for breakfast and they have an array of coffee drinks and alcohol (bloody mary, etc.). Their bakery items look amazing (although I was too full to try them). I had an omelet, which was hearty and delicious. Great ingredients, simple but flavorful food. My only two concerns: they charge around $5 to split a plate, and the service was very slow.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very country like establishment with great homemade bakery and wonderful coffee and teas.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“such a wonderful place out in the country but mins from the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our first experience here and we loved it. We both had the special, grilled turkey with tomato, pepper jack and avocado - along with a salad - we had a hard time finishing it. The tea and lemonade was wonderful too. I also bought a carrot cake for a birthday party on Wednesday because their bakery was mouthwatering beautiful !

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy Eats Amidst Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Other reviewers have mentioned the chickens and hens roaming around the grounds of The Gingerbread House, but for my three friends and I, the food and its presentation was super. Two of us had the cobb salad. Wow! Huge plate of goodies with excellent presentation. Neither friend was able to finish her serving. The Italian sandwich was also very good, as commented on by my Italian friend. I had the tuna melt which oozed flavor and went down quickly. Before we were served, I got up to inspect the bakery/dessert case. Oh my. Watch out!
We all ordered desserts AND bought treats to take home. My almond scone the next morning was still flavorful and fresh. I had to exclaim to our wonderful waitress that the coffee tasted so good. And, I asked, where is it from? She replied, from Madison, Ancorra Coffee Co. (I hope I spelled it right.). Afterwards, fun ensued upstairs in the Gift Boutique. Don't hesitate people.
Treat yourself and others to this restaurant...SOON!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hales Corners
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gingerbread House is heavenly delicious and full of nostalia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This place is awesome, the food is great and the atmoshere is relaxing and serene, takes you back to a time when life was simpler and relaxed. I love the Gingerbread house. From the bakery to their weekend breakfast and daily sandwiches and dinners you will not find better! The Friday night Fish Fry is fantastic!
The staff is friendly, and do special orders whenever requested, I come often for a skinny latte and the great experience!
I have visited for breakfast on the weekend, coffee in the AM, lunch in the afternoon and Friday night fish and I have nothing but praise for this establishment!
Way to go Gingerbread House!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gingerbread House also viewed

 

Been to The Gingerbread House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gingerbread House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.