We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE FOR PUB FOOD AND DRINKS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grumpy Troll Pub & Brewery

Grumpy Troll Pub & Brewery
105 S. Second Street, Mount Horeb, WI 53572-2105
+1 608-437-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Mount Horeb
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Local Brewery featuring 12 of our own beers on tap and many award winning. Many local food offerings and full bar. Daily specials include Friday FishFry and Sat Prime Rib. 2Nd floor is home to Pizzeria and full bar with many large screens for the games.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR PUB FOOD AND DRINKS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After a long day on the road, and visiting at a hospital in Madison, we decided to stop at the Grumpy Troll for dinner. It was late when we stopped on a week night, and the place was still pretty busy. We got seated right away, and our server, Angela, immediately was at our table to take our drink orders. She was very informative about the different beers that they had to offer. I decided to have the Troll Fest Lager, and hubby had the Amnesia Baltic Porter(darker beer). Both were quite tasty! We ordered fried cheese curds for an appetizer. You sure got a lot of them on the large order! I ordered the half sandwich (ham and swiss on rye) and soup (beer and cheese). Both were very tasty and reasonably priced. Husband ordered the brat which was served on a soft pretzel roll. It, too, was very good. Will definitely stop here again whenever we are in the area again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    89
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Burger for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great place for lunch. Very clean and family friendly. We enjoyed a Happy Troll Burger with Seasoned Waffle Fries. 1/2 lb Burger with Cheddar Cheese and special sauce.

Watched bartender fill several beer growlers for customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best beer cheese soup in the state”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I came to Mt. Horeb in 2012 and twice in 2013 to bicycle the hills in the area. A favorite stop for dinner was the Grumpy Troll. Their beer cheese soup is the best in the state. It's made with andouille sausage, which spices it up, and has just the right amount of cheese. The corn bread muffins that accompany the soup are great.
I've also had the burgers, pizza and walleye sandwich. These are good but not outstanding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A trip to Mt. Horeb with my brother and after he checked out the DTCo. we asked the 'associate' for a lunch recommendation. Although the G Troll was not mentioned and there were other choices available, we went for the Troll. Not gonna lie, wish we could have gotten pizza, but in the end we each ordered a brat and a beer and very left happy. The beers were really well done and the food was definitely above average bar food. The service was spot on too. I serve in Madison and can be picky, but our server played right along with my shenanigans. Kudos to her for not letting our late lunch be a distraction either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wautoma
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Spent Mother's Day with my son & my sister in Mt. Horeb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

While on a road trip with my sister, we stopped off in Mt. Horeb to visit my son on Mother's Day. Since my sister had never been to the Grumpy Troll, that's where we went for lunch. It was pretty busy, but we enjoyed playing the Trivial Pursuit cards while we waited for our beers & food to arrive. We tried the fish tacos, a burger & a salad. All were good. Being family, of coursed we sampled each others beers. We tried their Bourbon Barrel Stour, their Grumpy Crik Pale Ale & their Trollfest Lager. Also all very good. It was a fun way to spend my Mother's Day & it seems to be the happening place in Mt. Horeb.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grumpy Troll Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Grumpy Troll Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grumpy Troll Pub & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.