We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Favorite for 20 years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Jacks Barbecue

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fat Jacks Barbecue
6207 Monona Dr, Monona, Madison, WI 53716
608-221-4220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Monona
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Monona, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family Favorite for 20 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I think I am biased when it comes to Fat Jacks. I have been coming here for 20 yrs and it holds a special place in my heart. Sometimes the food is cooked differently. I have been there and had the best experiences and had just ok ones. I LOVE the onion rings and could eat them all the time, if I have one last meal they would be on it along with the ribs. I have never found a spice mix like Fat Jacks. I love this place and I hope it's around for my children to enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great End to a Fantastic Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We had been on the road for the entire day and wanted something simple, satisfying and near the hotel. Fat Jacks fit the bill perfectly. My spouse had a Pulled Pork Dinner and I the Saturday Special Rack of Ribs, both excellent. Even though I prefer dry ribs, the barbecue sauce was tasty and the meat fell off the bones. We started with an order of Onion Rings - DO NOT FORGET TO GET ONION RINGS!!!! Thickly sliced sweat onions with just the right amount of batter cooked to perfection.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD and SERVICE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The ribs were incredible, as were the steak fries, coleslaw and beans. Our waitress was friendly, fun and helpful. They have a small but adequate salad bar and evrything looked very fresh. The prices were very reasonable and we'll definitely be back soon!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We had them cater our basketball banquet and it was probably the worst thing I have ever ate in my life. The chicken was extremely dry and salty, and the ribs were very tough and not appetizing at all. Overall I would never recommend this restraunt to anybody, it is a very bad place to eat at.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

My husband and I have been big fans of Fat Jack's for years. We try to go on Fridays for the fish fry or Wednesdays for all-you-can-eat ribs. We always leave happy and full. Fat Jack's has a small town feel with the decor but the food is top-notch!

Always get the soup - they make it from scratch and it's delicious. My favorite is the cajun potato. Also, the cajun battered cheese curds are fantastic! They're gooey inside and have a light coating. They are perfect to dip in the bbq sauce.

My favorite entree is the sliced pork dinner; it comes with a choice of fries or baked beans or red beans/rice (I go with the baked beans), and a slice of garlic toast. The pork is always tender, juicy, and smokey.

My husband usually gets the fish (on Fridays) or a build-your-own combo with sliced pork and spare ribs. The ribs are super meaty and incredibly flavorful. These ribs are in a completely different league than Famous Dave's or Smoky John's - if you're craving ribs, you have to try Fat Jack's.

Lastly, the servers and owners are wonderful! They learn your names and are happy to see you return. I can't wait to visit them again the next time I'm in town.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Jacks Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Fat Jacks Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Jacks Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.