We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day Friday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otto's Beer & Brat Garden

Otto's Beer & Brat Garden
509 Oneida St, Minocqua, WI 54548
715-356-6134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 50 Restaurants in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Labor Day Friday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

A group of us decided to take a hour drive to go see Brad Emanuel and have a good time. A great time is what we had. I just read a review that couldn't be farther away from the truth of that night. Brad was at his best that night. Not quite sure who the person is complaining because there wasn't too many people not dancing that night. Brad was as professional and fun as can be and everyone seemed to be having a great time. I would go to any place that has Mr.Emanuel playing!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    31
    12
    8
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best place in Minocqua for late night fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Otto's is awesome! I take everyone who is new to visiting Minocqua there and stop in everytime we are "up North". The place is so well staffed (polite, friendly, and fun) and has a great atmosphere for fun on summer/weekend nights. The entertainment is fantastic- Brad Emanuel plays here multiple times a week and has given us some of the best nights we've ever had on vacation. Where else are you ENCOURAGED to dance on the tables???
The Bier Garden in the back is amazing and unique- especially on hot summer days. Beer selection is very good, food is great (German), and prices are reasonable. I couldn't recommend a day/night at Otto's any higher. GET HERE!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THE place in Minocqua for food, drinks, music and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have been going to Otto's Beer and Brat Garden in Minocqua for over ten years. It is an awesome place to have a casual dinner, meet for drinks, hang out with friends, or listen to awesome music. The menu has something for everyone (fresh, good tasting food) and the beer and liquor choices appeal to everyone. (They make a mean homemade Bloody Mary with your choice of beer chaser!) The awesome bartenders (Rachel, Christy, etc...) could not be more friendly, the atmosphere is always fun, the bathrooms are clean (even when it is jam packed with bar goers), and even the bouncers are great! Otto's even manages to please the huge crowds that come for lunch and dinner on July 4 and during Beef-O-Rama, without missing a beat.

My friends and I, and our spouses (a group of 40 something year olds) have been planning our yearly summer trips to Minocqua around our fun evenings at Otto's and we always make sure to show up to see Brad Emanuel play on Thursdays and Sundays, as well as on the Fourth of July weekend, Labor Day weekend, and Beef-O-Rama. We have even driven the five hour drive to Otto's for one night to hear Brad perform! He is a crowd favorite, packing the place all summer long, and gets the entire audience singing along with him and dancing on the tables....from the single 20 something year olds to the Senior crowd. (We even witnessed him serenading a 80 year old woman on her birthday, with audience participation, as she stood and danced on her seat....and had what was surely one of her best birthdays ever!) His loyal followers include locals, vacationers, summer camp counselors and teachers from nearby, as well as fishermen, hunters, bikers and professionals, all from many walks of life. The bar is always packed with happy music lovers hoping to hear Brad sing their favorite song. Many other groups come to celebrate birthdays, weddings, and bachelor/bachelorette parties and it soon becomes more festive as the crowd joins in the celebrations with "Sociable Time" chanting "3-2-1 Driiinnnkkk!" along with Brad. We have brought many friends here and every one of them has become an instant Brad Emanuel fan!
(I should mention that there are other great performers at Otto's too....including The Marvin's, a fun band that is also a crowd favorite.)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love Otto's, love Brad Emanuel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Otto's many many times... Always to see Brad Emanuel.
He is an amazing talent and always keeps the crowd moving, drinking and happy.
I (along with as many friends as i can fit into the ride) live over an hour away and always make it a destination point to see Brad. Pure entertainment!
Brad Emanuel is worth visiting at Otto's no matter how far you have to drive...
and I can't leave out the great bartenders and staff they have always had...
Can't wait to go back for a cold one, great music and always an amazing time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very disappionted!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I brought a group of girls for a weekend at our cottage last weekend(Labor Day Weekend) from Minneapolis.We saw that Brad Emanul was playing the Friday night we came to Minocqua so we decided to go to Otto's because he usually puts on a good show. We had a new girl with us and had been telling her how much fun Otto's is when Brad plays. What we ended up seeing was one of the POOREST performances we have ever seen anywhere!

Now, we have seen Brad play before and he usually does a good job but we've also seen him have a little to much to drink on some nights but it was usually later in the night in the last hour or so. Friday night his voice was cracking early in the night. He later became belligerent and was yelling at the crowd "you guys suck" and "you guys aren't any fun" most of the night. It then appeared he decided to quit at midnight and was so drunk he couldn't even stand up straight and just leaned up against the wall in the corner.

We frequent various live music venues in the Minneapolis area and have never seen anything like this. I assume that he gets paid to play and doesn't do it for free. Whomever is in charge of this bar should ask for their money back for that very poor performance and probably shouldn't have let him continue once he became to drunk to play.

Our group of girls were very disappointed as we were ready to have a fun night at Otto's. Brad was yelling that we suck, well...he is the one that "sucked" and we wont be back when he is playing again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Otto's Beer & Brat Garden, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
After having discussed this incident with Brad Emanuel, the Manager on duty at the time, staff present, a number of guests and reviewed video from that evening I have concluded that this feedback holds little merit. I have reached out to this reviewer for more information and have not gotten a response.

Brad is a long time performer at Otto's and it is my opinion that he is professional and caters to the crowd providing a fun and entertaining evening.

Sincerely,

Bob Paul
General Manager
Otto's Beer and Brat Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto's Beer & Brat Garden also viewed

 

Been to Otto's Beer & Brat Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otto's Beer & Brat Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.