We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but be choosey about which room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pointe Hotel & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minocqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Save
You added The Pointe Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
8269 Highway 51 South, Minocqua, WI 54548   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25 Days of Christmas
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, but be choosey about which room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have stayed at The Pointe before and really enjoyed the room I had then...it was on the back side and it had a separate bedroom, and a living area, kitchen, and dining table. This time I had a studio, and it had a king bed and a full, but not seating other than 2 hard chairs by a tiny table, and the bathroom was very tiny. I did not realize the room would be facing the highway...extremely noisy. It wasn't relaxing at all to sit on the patio, because you couldn't hear anyone talking over the traffic...only if you stayed in the room and had it all closed up with the air conditioning on. We had to do lots of stairs with luggage...no elevator on this end.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them you want something on the back side...not facing the highway. Also, do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Pointe Hotel & Suites as your Minocqua lodging choice. And, thank you for your repeat visit.

The room you stayed in is a Studio, Yes, it is located near the highway while our One and Two Bedroom Condominium Suites are located away from the highway. The Studio unit is not for everyone's liking; however, many guests enjoy watching the robust activity of people moving and the water sports on the lake; it is their perfect room. These rooms are also popular for guests who are water sport enthusiasts; for the ease of getting to their boats, kayaks, canoes and more being located near our 220 foot lakefront pier and boat slips.

Yes, there is no elevator that services our 12 Studio rooms; of which eight are relatively easy to get to, while four require a number of stairs be taken.However, our team members welcome the opportunity to assist our guests.

On behalf of our hospitality team, it is my hope that you will return to enjoy our One or Two Bedroom Condominium Suites for your next stay. Our hospitality team looks forward to welcoming you back!

Thanks for your review; it is important!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
39
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Wow! We stayed in condo 1013 and it was absolutely wonderful. It was so clean and modern. We had a gorgeous view of the lake and woods. It had a full kitchen and cold AC. The breakfast had something for everyone, very filling. Friendly staff throughout. We would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Judy,

THANKS! Thanks for the nice review, and on behalf of my team members, I appreciate your comments.

We take great pride in providing our guests with clean and inviting rooms. And, viewing the lake from your room is second to none. There's nothing better than a view of Lake Minocqua to enhance a guest's stay! I'm also pleased that you enjoyed just some of the many amenities our property offers. Your feedback is important for us to hear; it's appreciated.

It would be our pleasure to host your future stay. Thanks for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

ROOM 3018. Where do I begin. Forget about lake views. The trees obscure 85% of the of the panorama. The master bedroom has a huge skylight over the bed. This will not be an issue for the early riser, but if one has been up late, imbibing at one of the local "watering holes" and would appreciate a few extra hours of sleep - forget it. This was a huge negative for me. I like having the option of opening the curtains and letting in some light, but I might as well be sleeping outside. Ridiculous. A bedroom is for sleeping. The irony is that they installed blackout curtains on the sliding glass doors. Some kind of shade or blind would have been thoughtful.
Ok. Enough about the skylight.
The hotel is clean and the room is spacious (we booked the two bedroom "premier" condominium suite) , but is a little outdated. The vertical blinds have to go. I understand the choice of a "rustic" theme, but it's 2014. Time to invest in some design upgrades. I don't know about the rest of the rooms here and this room was likely one of the last as this appears to be a fully booked weekend. I requested another room and there were none available at this price point. This is my first stay here and if the rest of the rooms with a lake view have a skylight over the bed, I will not be staying here again. The "healthy" breakfast is not. Nothing more than your average wholesale, free breakfast (i.e. waffle machine, hard boiled eggs, apples, cheerios and toast, etc.) I, honestly, was expecting more for the money. If I was able to get a little more sleep, I would have been a little more gracious.

Room Tip: Request a room without an obscured view. If waking with a beam of light is not your idea of a good m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for being our guest. As important thanks for the feedback on your accommodations while our guests.

Allow me the opportunity to address your comments as follows:

The panorama from Unit 3018 is somewhat obscured. We anticipate that we will be able to do some clearing of the trees to enhance the views of Lake Minocqua; however, waterfront land restrictions do impede some of what we can do. We will do our best to provide our guests a most deserving view of Lake Minocqua.

The master bedroom skylight will have a blackout blind installed that will help inhibit light penetration. The vertical blinds in the living room will be replaced with drapery units. We appreciate your comments and are quickly moving to meet the needs of our guests.

Every unit at our resort hotel is a privately owned condominium and each two bedroom unit has it's own unique decor, no one is alike. Our Studios and One Bedroom units decors are alike. With the cooperation of our Unit Owners, we continually upgrade our units through strategically planned programs.

As for our breakfast, we began offering a hot breakfast to our guests this summer and we are enhancing and changing as we receive feedback from our guests; however, the overall response has been very positive.

I appreciate your feedback as it helps us get better at servicing our guests. Thanks for being our guest, and I invite you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My family rented 2 of the condos at The Pointe for an extended family gathering. Both condos came with huge bathrooms and fully equipped kitchens. The rooms were clean with views of the lake. The resort had an indoor pool, bikes, and rowboats available for use for FREE!! It was a short walk (less than 5 minutes just over the bridge) to downtown Minocqua for shopping, restaurants and bike trails. Great place- everyone really enjoyed their stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Tom C. said it all! Another outstanding conference at an incredible venue hosted by an amazing staff at The Pointe!! Rooms are ultra clean and spacious. The views are great! Buck and his staff really do it right! Thank you! Kurt H.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind review. We are thrilled to read the words you speak, "outstanding, incredible and amazing". Our goal every day is to make things happen in and around our facility that will make our guests feel they are outstanding, incredible and amazing! Simply put, it's important to us to make every guest feel this way. These are just not spoken words, these are action words; our team takes pride in making each guest stay outstanding, incredible and amazing. This is our goal and I'm happy we succeeded with your stay.

Thanks for the many years; we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I walked back into the lobby, looked at Buck and said, "it's great to be home again!" That's what it feels like at the Pointe Hotel and Suites. All staff are so very friendly. The rooms (even single bedrooms) are spacious. You can bring a few snacks or food for a meals, but also find great restaurants just down the road, within walking distance.
My last visit was for a group that has held annual training at the Pointe for 23 years! They are great to work with on organizing a very large group. We have never been disappointed!

Room Tip: It's great to travel with two couples, you'll get separate bedrooms in the larger suites, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear guest,

It's great to have you home again! Our home is your home; for a personal or family getaway to a business or conference meeting. Every guest stay is special to our guests, so that makes it special to us. We're going to make sure that every guest is taken care of with friendliness first and great timely service to follow.

We do our very best to greet all our guest with welcoming and friendly faces, large comfortable rooms with amenities from full kitchens, living rooms and private bedrooms to a special feature of walk-out patios or balcony decks with furniture, overlooking beautiful Lake Minocqua. And, that's just the beginning of so much more offered at our resort-hotel.

Thanks for being our guest for the many years. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you personally, and your group, have been taken care of with consistency over 23 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

For the past 23 years our organization has held an annual training conference at the Pointe. WE have never been disappointed. The views are beautiful and the rooms are nice and very clean.

Most of all the staff is OUTSTADING! Buck, the manager, always greats the returning guests by name and Chris and Jen always have smiles on their face and work endlessly to make sure everyone is happy. All of us feel like we are part of the Pointe family. The facility is great but the entire staff is responsible for repeat guests.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a lake view on the 200 or 300 level. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Tom,

Thanks for your review. We appreciate that your organization has held their annual conference at our resort-hotel for the last 23 years. It is our goal to greet every guest with smiles, respect and most of all like family. It will probably be hard for readers of this review to believe what I'm going to say, but honestly, the above statement comes natural to our hospitality team. They take great pride in their service and our management team is very proud of our crew knowing that they will do what's necessary to make every guest stay memorable.

We like to think every guests that walks through our door is "family". Our philosophy is an old one, and time tested, "treat your guest the way you would want to be treated." That philosophy makes great service easy to a accomplish.

Thanks for the last 23; we'll see you again next year, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pointe Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe Hotel & Suites

Address: 8269 Highway 51 South, Minocqua, WI 54548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2013 & 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient and Certified Travel Green property, with 800 feet of Lake Minocqua frontage affording all rooms and suites waterfront views. Deluxe Studio rooms and One and Two Bedroom Suites - sleep two to six guests in a relaxing, wooded lakeside setting with an easy walk to downtown shopping, eateries and activities. The property also features bicycles, canoes, kayaks, a fishing pier, boat slips, gas grill picnic patios, and lakeside fire pit patio and on-site snowmobile trail access. Conference/banquet rooms welcome company and family events, with the Top of The Pointe room towering four floors above ground level featuring a spectacular view of Lake Minocqua. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pointe Hotel Minocqua
The Pointe Hotel And Suites
Pointe Hotel Minocqua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pointe Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.