We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeepers need improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waters of Minocqua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Waters of Minocqua to your Saves list
The Waters of Minocqua
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   8116 Hwy. 51 South, Minocqua, WI 54548   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
graduation_98
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Housekeepers need improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautifully decorated!! Was disappointed that the juice machine for the free breakfast was out of order on Saturday but they didn't put out any pitchers of juice to compensate for this. Housekeeper turned our heat off in our room we came back to a freezing cold room which I was NOT happy about and they didn't put any garbage liners in the garbage can. The water slides should have warnings that as an adult the water is not deep enough at the end. I about broke my leg and knee. The indoor/outdoor hot tub was a great feature! Overall a great value for the money! Beautiful decorations! The front desk staff was friendly. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention concerning the continental breakfast. I have checked into the issue and our breakfast staff have been instructed on what to do if they have an issue with any of our juice machines from now on. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we have made some procedure adjustments to eliminate this problem in the future.

Our housekeepers normally do an outstanding job in cleanliness and making sure each guest is well taken care of. We are sorry that a garbage liner was missed in your room and that they turned the heat down or off. They sometimes do turn them down if the room seems too warm beyond a normal comfort zone, but unfortunately it may have been adjusted lower than it should have been and we are sorry for the inconvenience. We hope that you will join us again in the near future.

Sincerely
Lisa B, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    42
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
72
20
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrill, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We visit the water park here several times per year. It is always warm and the staff is great. This water park is a bit smaller than others we have visited but it is the perfect size for my family. Our kids are 2, 4, 6, and 8. My husband and I can sit on one of the lounge chairs and see the entire park and all of our kids. It's so super relaxing. The kids love that they can go outside in the pool and the hot tub. The kiddie pool water is always so nice and warm and clean.
We recently stayed at the hotel for the first time and we're pleasantly surprised by the room. It was warm, clean, and very large. All of the staff were friendly and very accommodating.
Our whole family cannot wait to visit again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review about your experiences here at the Waters. We try to create the best atmosphere for family fun we can. We hope that you will join us again very soon. Thanks for the kind words ~ Lisa B, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The waters is a very nice place with nice rooms, and a nice pool area. That being said, it is obviously managed by people who are either really cheap or not concerned about customer satisfaction. The hallway leading to our room was freezing, which is a big problem when walking back and forth to the pool (pool is on the far end of hotel, VERY long hallway). The door between the indoor outdoor pool was broke (all winter, according to the lifeguard) which caused the whole pool area to be quite chilly in January. The outdoor hot tub, a huge plus in winter, was closed almost the entire weekend (too cold according to the lifeguard, but I don't think they had the appropriate staff to deal with it). The snack bar opened two hours late, and frequently had a sign dating "be back soon" while the dude was on a smoke break. The "restaurant" (really a bar with a big plain open room with a few tables) only had one chef working on a Saturday night where they were at full capacity, and we were told it would be a 45 minute wait to get served even though there were many tables open (the bartender was also the hostess and waitress). We were forced to order pizza and ended up having starving kids who couldn't eat until 7 o'clock. Nice place, but it would be nice to see them put an appropriate number of people on during busy periods, or at least get a management that cares.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Craig,

The Waters does have Management that truly cares about the experiences our guests have and we work hard to achieve perfection for our guests. We started a new menu and pizzas in our restaurant a few weeks back and the demand for "dining in" has tripled since we did that. We were not as prepared for influx of business we have had since then and for that I am sorry for the delay in service. I am in the process of adding additional help as we can accommodate our guests better and faster.

I feel terrible that you were not able to enjoy the outdoor hot tub during your stay. When the wind chill is below zero we do not open the outside hot tub. It doesn't have anything to do with number of employees; it has to do with the health and safety of our guests subjected to below zero temperature's. As for the pool door in question, a slat was broken off by a guest and we are waiting on a replacement part to repair it. We hope that it is here soon to better keep the cold out of the building.

We truly do care about your needs and every guest that joins us here at the Waters. We hope that you will give us another try so that we can prove it.

Sincerely

Lisa B
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsville, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The staff was very helpful in getting the room set up, Heidi in particular went out of her way to make our party room very accommodating, from the beginning to the party end. The tables were elegant for the meal and cleared away for the music and dancing that followed. She stayed late to set up the area again for our breakfast buffet. The water park was a great place for the kids to play with a full view window from the banquet room area for parents to keep an eye on the action going on in the water park area. The rooms were spacious and clean, would recommend this place. The reason for very good not excellent was the outside caters could have used more help in getting the meals on the tables for the banquet dinner, the breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are so pleased you chose us for your holiday party this year. We try our best to make your stay as enjoyable as we can. Thank you for bringing the catering concerns to my attention and I have passed your concerns on to our caterer to provide more staff in during this type of meal service here at The Waters. We hope that you will join us again for your next holiday event.

Sincerely

Lisa B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family selected the Waters as our base camp for a weekend of snowmobiling and ice fishing. This was my first time here, and I was surprised by how clean and spacious the room was. We had three couples, and we stayed in a loft room for a very reasonable price for a weekend. The water area is nothing like the parks in the Dells, but who needs all of the craziness that comes with those anyway? Our toddler loved the kiddie pool area, and the water temperature was perfect - warm! I loved the outside hot tub in the below zero air, although i knew my limit before my hair froze solid. The breakfast area became a bit jammed, but I think we hit the rush of skiers and others trying to get out early to enjoy the new snow. The beds were comfy. Skeeball in the arcade was fun. I really have nothing bad to say!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and making us your home away from home. We are glad your family enjoyed the water park experience and we hope you will come and visit us again this winter.

Lisa B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My 10yr old son and family friends stayed here on Christmas night. The lobby is impressive - all stuffed animals and a huge beautiful Christmas tree too! We stayed in a mezzanine bedroom, one double up the top and two doubles and a pull out sofa down below and we all (7 of us) fit in. The kids loved the pool and slide. Not much to not like here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and hope you will join us again soon. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.

Sincerely

Lisa B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We thought The Waters was an okay place, no big problems or anything, but nothing to write home about. We did think it was really pushing it to claim a "water park". The space is good sized with many tables and chairs but the actual water features were pretty minimal. The arcade was nice and we'll kept for small kids. The one major issue I did have was with the bartender in the pub. Very friendly woman, but her hands were DIRTY!!! Literally her fingers were black from something as she was touching my glass I was supposed to drink from. It was really gross. Got out if there pretty quick. Overall, friendly staff, decent rooms, but not as great as u thought it would be based off other reviews on trip advisor.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of our hotel. We apologize for the experience you had in the bar area. The bartender with the "black hands" is a wonderful individual and very dedicated to giving you the best guest experience she can. She is an artist on the side and unfortunately tried a new paint that stained her fingers and nails. Rest assured, she has vowed not to be using that paint on a work day again. We apologize for the incident and hope that you will understand.

As a water park, we do offer a large children's pool, an indoor-outdoor activity pool, and indoor-outdoor hot tub along with a 3 story waterslide and snack bar and 25 game arcade. It is true we cater more to the younger families with small children rather than the extreme water sports that you are likely to find in the Dells. As we expand our services we will be offering again this summer, additional packages in the Minocqua area that offer more adventurous activities such as go karts, miniature golf, and the New Zip Line tours. We hope you will join us again and have a better guest experience.

Sincerely

Lisa B
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waters of Minocqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters of Minocqua

Address: 8116 Hwy. 51 South, Minocqua, WI 54548
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waters of Minocqua 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Waters of Minocqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waters Of Minocqua Hotel Minocqua
The Waters Hotel Minocqua
Waters Minocqua
Waters Hotel Minocqua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waters of Minocqua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.