We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Waters of Minocqua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Waters of Minocqua to your Saves list
The Waters of Minocqua
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   8116 Hwy. 51 South, Minocqua, WI 54548   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This is my second review for this property. My fifth stay here. The hotel itself is great. My family enjoys the pool and the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the view from our balcony was beautiful. This year we thought we'd try eating dinner at the bar....and that was a horrible mistake. We sat and waited. The server walked by us several times. No acknowledgement at all. One woman pouring drinks behind the bar (drinking herself) comes out and joins the table next to ours. Still no acknowledgement. After 20 minutes my husband got up and asked if we could get service. After we ordered and had eaten, we received the bill. Our buy-one, get-one free drink wasn't discounted. (We had two identical cocktails.) The bartender's reply to our complaint was, "But I didn't charge you for the kiddie cocktail." What?!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience dining with us. If you would please contact me directly, I would like to make your experiences 'right', as well as do some investigating on some of what I see as very troubling issues that occurred to your party. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We will certainly use this to get even better. My hotel extension is 4206, or I may be reached at gm@thewatersofminocqua.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    46
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
81
22
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just decided to stay there one night on a whim. We booked via their online website and chose a 2 queen with a fireplace. Got there early and got to check right in. The room was very clean and spacious. We did go to the waterpark area to sit in the indoor/outdoor hot tub. I thought it was ok but yes it was a little dirty. We went to the bar and ordered food. The bartender and chef were very nice and accomodating and the food was great!! Breakfast was nice and I thought the variety was good. Easy checkout and on our way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us you feedback. Any and all feedback only helps us get better at delivering what our guests want. I am glad you had a good stay and we hope to see you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhinelander
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

stayed during the off season i guess. room was clean and nice. but the "water park" was dirty. dead flies in the water, stuff on floors, etc. game room was open to play but no one to redeem the "tickets". breakfast was very minimal. ive seen 3 times that much as small hotels. not much to choose from.
staff from what i saw was ok. not very helpful or knowledgeable about area places to eat.
hope its better in the "peak season"

Room Tip: go in peak season
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This property is very impressive upon arrival. A beautiful north-woods decor greets you and is evident throughout the hotel. Rooms are very spacious and well laid out and it appears that ALL the rooms have a small balcony which is nice. It's in a very convenient location along the highway as you approach Minocqua from the south, just a short drive into the city center (but definitely not walking distance). The included continental breakfast is adequate: cereal, toast, bagels and a waffle maker -- that's about it, no other hot entrees such as eggs or bacon.

The only thing lacking at this hotel is a friendly and helpful staff. Front desk personnel were very "robotic" at check in & check out and the staff we encountered in between ranged from non-caring to downright rude. Though we had no major issues, we heard the same comments from others staying there at the time.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to get away to beautiful northern Wisconsin, as long as you don't want to walk to any of the area attractions and are ok with a lack of customer service. Families will especially like the big waterpark which is included in the nightly rate.

Room Tip: Nice waterpark for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for providing your feedback. I am very sorry to hear of your guest service experience. Yours was certainly not the norm! We strive for much more and from the sounds of it did not deliver it to you. Your comments and thoughts will certainly be used in our ongoing training efforts. I do hope that you will come back to visit again in the very near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here twice in the month of September; once on our way to WI Dells and again on our way back. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Our rooms during both stats were clean and comfortable. The bathrooms in the standard rooms are pretty small, but I see that they are being renovated. My kids enjoyed the water park and game room. We have stayed at the Waters for over 5 years now and have lived every stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate your kind words! Our bathroom renovations are going well and you will certainly appreciate the changes being made! We hope to see you again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in room 308 while attending the Harley Tomahawk Fall Ride. The room was very clean and had no smell. These are 2 things that are very important to me. Our room had 2 queen beds, flat screen TV, small refrigerator, microwave, balcony with sliding glass door and was very spacious. The downside was that the bathroom was teeny tiny. The bathroom had a sink, toilet and combination tub shower, and unless someone was in the shower, that was the only way you were getting two people in that bathroom at the same time. Fortunately, there was an additional sink located just outside of the bathroom.
The beds in our room were pretty soft, whereas I like a firm mattress, but they were comfortable. And the curtain covering the sliding glass door did a great job of blocking out any light. I wish a sheer would have also been available so that it would be possible to close just the sheer in order to have privacy, but still be able to let light into the room.
All in all, it as a nice stay and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: book a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to comment on your recent stay! Just to let you know that we have begun the process of renovating all of our standard room bathrooms to allow for more room. We are sorry that you were not in one of those...maybe on your next trip. Also, we are replacing all of the beds in the entire hotel later this fall! We are very excited for these changes. I hope that we are able to house you in the future...maybe next Fall Ride? Thanks again for the comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We only stayed one night, but the deluxe double queen room was very nice. It was a nice large room that included a small microwave and fridge plus a wet bar sink. My only complaint was the in the wall AC that was loud and not easy to regulate. Staff very helpful and friendly.
The room included coupon for buy 1get1 drink in the bar.

Room Tip: Select room on back side to avoid overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments. We appreciate hearing from out guests. I am sorry to hear of your noisy cooling unit. All units in the hotel are in a constant rotation for preventative maintenance and we do everything in our power to keep them as functional and quiet as possible. We will do our best to investigate your concerns further. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waters of Minocqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters of Minocqua

Address: 8116 Hwy. 51 South, Minocqua, WI 54548
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waters of Minocqua 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Waters of Minocqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waters Of Minocqua Hotel Minocqua
The Waters Hotel Minocqua
Waters Minocqua
Waters Hotel Minocqua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waters of Minocqua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.