We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, questionable customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Waters of Minocqua

Save Saved
You added The Waters of Minocqua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waters of Minocqua
8116 Hwy. 51 South, Minocqua, WI 54548   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Minocqua
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, questionable customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This property is very impressive upon arrival. A beautiful north-woods decor greets you and is evident throughout the hotel. Rooms are very spacious and well laid out and it appears that ALL the rooms have a small balcony which is nice. It's in a very convenient location along the highway as you approach Minocqua from the south, just a short drive into the city center (but definitely not walking distance). The included continental breakfast is adequate: cereal, toast, bagels and a waffle maker -- that's about it, no other hot entrees such as eggs or bacon.

The only thing lacking at this hotel is a friendly and helpful staff. Front desk personnel were very "robotic" at check in & check out and the staff we encountered in between ranged from non-caring to downright rude. Though we had no major issues, we heard the same comments from others staying there at the time.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to get away to beautiful northern Wisconsin, as long as you don't want to walk to any of the area attractions and are ok with a lack of customer service. Families will especially like the big waterpark which is included in the nightly rate.

Room Tip: Nice waterpark for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for providing your feedback. I am very sorry to hear of your guest service experience. Yours was certainly not the norm! We strive for much more and from the sounds of it did not deliver it to you. Your comments and thoughts will certainly be used in our ongoing training efforts. I do hope that you will come back to visit again in the very near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    31
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
64
17
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here twice in the month of September; once on our way to WI Dells and again on our way back. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Our rooms during both stats were clean and comfortable. The bathrooms in the standard rooms are pretty small, but I see that they are being renovated. My kids enjoyed the water park and game room. We have stayed at the Waters for over 5 years now and have lived every stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate your kind words! Our bathroom renovations are going well and you will certainly appreciate the changes being made! We hope to see you again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in room 308 while attending the Harley Tomahawk Fall Ride. The room was very clean and had no smell. These are 2 things that are very important to me. Our room had 2 queen beds, flat screen TV, small refrigerator, microwave, balcony with sliding glass door and was very spacious. The downside was that the bathroom was teeny tiny. The bathroom had a sink, toilet and combination tub shower, and unless someone was in the shower, that was the only way you were getting two people in that bathroom at the same time. Fortunately, there was an additional sink located just outside of the bathroom.
The beds in our room were pretty soft, whereas I like a firm mattress, but they were comfortable. And the curtain covering the sliding glass door did a great job of blocking out any light. I wish a sheer would have also been available so that it would be possible to close just the sheer in order to have privacy, but still be able to let light into the room.
All in all, it as a nice stay and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: book a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to comment on your recent stay! Just to let you know that we have begun the process of renovating all of our standard room bathrooms to allow for more room. We are sorry that you were not in one of those...maybe on your next trip. Also, we are replacing all of the beds in the entire hotel later this fall! We are very excited for these changes. I hope that we are able to house you in the future...maybe next Fall Ride? Thanks again for the comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We only stayed one night, but the deluxe double queen room was very nice. It was a nice large room that included a small microwave and fridge plus a wet bar sink. My only complaint was the in the wall AC that was loud and not easy to regulate. Staff very helpful and friendly.
The room included coupon for buy 1get1 drink in the bar.

Room Tip: Select room on back side to avoid overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments. We appreciate hearing from out guests. I am sorry to hear of your noisy cooling unit. All units in the hotel are in a constant rotation for preventative maintenance and we do everything in our power to keep them as functional and quiet as possible. We will do our best to investigate your concerns further. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I, along with our toddler daughter, stayed here for three nights this past week and we were very pleased with our stay. We asked for a room away from elevators, ice machines and other noise makers, and we were given a room that was very quiet, literally no noise or disturbance at all. The room was clean. Our 2 year old slept in the hide a bed comfortably. The water park is not what I would call a water park- indoor outdoor pool, indoor-outdoor whirlpool, a kiddie pool, and two very good water slides. That being said, it was the perfect size for us and all three of us really enjoyed it. The game room needs some updating and variety, but is decent sized. Good continental breakfast. The price was decent for what you get. I recommend this place.

Room Tip: Third floor seems to be best if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you, also, for the great referral!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Took a motorcycle trip with friends and stayed with a group of 14 over Father's Day weekend. Rooms were very clean. Everyone from the front desk to the restaurant/bar were awesome! They accomodated our group and made us feel just as important as the wedding that was held that same weekend. Food in Restaurant was good too. Excellent service. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy you chose to stay with us and hope that you will again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Booked a loft suite at the Waters several months prior to a family member's wedding at Minoqua Country Club. Arrived at the Waters to be told be the front desk clerk that there are no lofts, their biggest room has a pull-out and that the pet fee has just been changed to 20$ per night - complete lies. The loft suite has 3 beds and stairs to upper sleeping area. Went back next day to speak with another clerk who had just finished checking two women in to their respective loft suites. He tells me they're just out of lofts and offers nothing. After a few seconds of silence, waiting for him to do the appropriate thing and comp our room, I speak up and say "and you're going to give me a discount on our room then since it's not a loft and you're charging us for one?" After an uncomfortable few moments we had been discounted but NO APOLOGY was ever given.
I guess the Waters doesn't understand how to treat guests. I would never stay here again and much prefer the Point Hotel just a few blocks away.
Also, the grounds, the rooms and the general aesthetic of the Waters was disappointing.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you booked and paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I am sorry to hear of your reservations problems. I would certainly like to speak with you personally about the issues with your reservation. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 715-358-4000. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Waters of Minocqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters of Minocqua

Address: 8116 Hwy. 51 South, Minocqua, WI 54548
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Waters of Minocqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waters Of Minocqua Hotel Minocqua
The Waters Hotel Minocqua
Waters Minocqua
Waters Hotel Minocqua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waters of Minocqua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.