We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK at off season rate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northwoods Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Northwoods Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
8730 Hwy 51, Minocqua, WI 54548-0325 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Minocqua
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK at off season rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The off season rate is reasonable for this place, I would never pay their high season rates. I liked that the property is close to downtown Minocqua as well as Woodruff, in general a great central location. Our room was quiet, even being so close to hwy 51. The coffee was good and there were plenty of towels in the room.

I did not like where the vanity was located, just inside the door to the room. We were here in winter, so we'd walk into the room with snowy boots and even if you take them off right away the carpet in front of the vanity would get wet. Then if you get up in the middle of the night to get a glass of water your feet get wet. Not fun. The mattress was possibly the worst I've ever slept on, I went home with a crink in my back and had to set up an appointment with my chiropractor. The breakfast was also lacking, in fact I don't think it should be called breakfast if I can pick it up for 50 cents at a gas station. As I said, the coffee was good, but the boxed cereal, pre-packaged cinnamon rolls/danish, and granola bars were not what I was hoping for.

I would recommend this to people in the off season as a decently clean place to crash, fair warning about the mattress.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very friendly gentleman working the front desk. Nice, clean room. Comfortable beds. Room was quiet, couldn't hear any traffic even though we weren't far from the main road. There was plenty of lighting outside, yet was able to keep the room nice and dark at night. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in mid-June.. SUPER clean room. Great central location to all of Minocqua has to offer.
I appreciated having a microwave and a refrigerator. The WIFI works VERY well. Coffee / muffins available in the main office area each morning. I would definitely stay here again when in the Minocqua area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigo, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Staying here again was a great price and well worth the price. Owners were very nice and showed us around and there beautiful suite. I would recommend them to anyone. In fact were going there tomorrow for two nights. My fiance and I could not stop talking about it to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosholt, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I booked this trip for my husband for his 25th birthday (we stayed 3/31-4/1/12). When I originially booked it, I found it by Googling "hotels in Minocqua" and came across the Northwoods Inn & Suites. The pictures looked nice so I went ahead and made a reservation. We got there at around 1:00 in the afternoon and the parking lot was empty. That made me nervous because we passed so many other nice-looking places with much fuller parking lots. We walked in and there was a phone by the main desk. A sign said to press 0 and wait for an operator. We were then greeted by the owner, Thomas Murray, who was the most wonderful and pleasant man to deal with. He asked if we had any questions before he took us to our room and I inquired about the "themed" rooms that I read about. He said something to the effect of "let me show you the room you currently have reserved, and then let me show you the room I'm going to give you". After he showed us the room we reserved, he took us to a fishing-themed room, which was cute, but nothing super spectacular. We were excited for the upgrade just the same and on our way back to the main desk to finish checking in, he stopped and showed us a lumber jack themed room, which was awesome (reserve if you can), and one of his suites. The suite was fantastic! It was split into two rooms, one was more of a living-room style with couches (one of which was a hide-a-bed), a TV, mini-fridge, microwave and bathroom (which had a heat lamp in it). The main room had a nice queen-size bed with a woodsy comforter set, a second television, a second bathroom (also equipped with a heat lamp), and a big hot tub in the middle of the room. The owner offered us the suite for a $30 discount. We took the suite and when we brought our stuff in, we noticed that it was extremely clean. This man obviously takes pride in his building and for a small motel, he even offers breakfast. He recommended we walk next door to El Mez restaurant, which we did and it was fantastic, and he also recommended a restaurant called Chef Rene's for dinner, which was about 10 miles away, which was beyond fantastic. The own provided amazing service to us, took time to suggest places to go and things to do that he thought we would enjoy, and the stay was better than I ever thought it would be. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: Ask about a themed room and for a room that's accessible from the parking lot (if that is desira...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! I was in the area for a wedding, and was unfortunate enough to stay here for two nights because everything was booked! First, the owners were rude! The room smelled awful! The mattresses and box springs were disgustingly stained! The mattresses were as hard as rocks! I felt as if I was sleeping on the floor, and after driving more than seven hours, I was not very happy! This was overall, the worst experience of my life!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northwoods Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn & Suites

Address: 8730 Hwy 51, Minocqua, WI 54548-0325 (Formerly Super 8)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Northwoods Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwoods Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.