We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week with family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beacons of Minocqua

The Beacons of Minocqua
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minocqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beacons of Minocqua
Save
You added The Beacons of Minocqua to your Saves list
8250 Northern Road, Minocqua, WI 54548   |  
Hotel amenities
Moorhead, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful week with family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We exchanged into a one-bedroom unit from June 16-23, 2012. The view of the lake from our deck was wonderful, and we loved hearing the loons calling. The unit was very clean and the kitchen was well-equipped (although a bit lacking in storage space). In every instance the staff was responsive to our needs or questions and were cordial, helpful and polite. On one occasion we stopped at the desk to report the screen in our patio door was loose. We walked back to the unit and were surprised to find someone already there fixing it!

We loved having the dock for our boat right in front of our unit. The kids loved the indoor pool, and it was clean and well-maintained. There were five of us in our party, and they not only were okay with that, they offered us a rollaway at a reasonable rate.

Although almost everything was positive about our stay, there were some minor negatives. As mentioned before, there wasn't much space for groceries--we stacked supplies on the wardrobe and on the kitchen table. It would have been nice to have a television in the bedroom. The carpet also should have been replaced. They are working on that, since the carpet was being replaced in two of the units above us.

But overall, it was a great vacation, and we would happily go back another time.

Room Tip: First-floor one-bedroom units have walk-out access to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile


Great place at the lake! Easy access...tar roads. Close to shopping. Friendly, helpful service. Fun fishing, swimming and boating.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days of snowmobileing and had a woderful time. Very clean. We stayed in a condo and it was well stocked. The pool area was very nice and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great location. Secluded, but still within walking distance to town via the Bearskin trail. Boats, canoes, and bikes are available for rent, just not too early in the morning.Great place if you have your own boat. Nice area to dock boats or to just sit and watch the Loons and Eagles. Each morning we opened our patio door and heard a loon on the lake. Deer were around almost daily. There is a nice area for nightly campfires and charcoal grills by the units. There were not many planned activities. Our unit was a one bedroom, great for two people, but it would very cozy for four people. Wi-fi is not available in the room, but it is available at the main lodge. Linen exchange is available, but no housekeeping during the week. We would recommend staying here. The Minocqua area is a wonderful place to vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at The Beacons for a wedding, and although we had a great time at the wedding, and some of the staff were great, there were lots of areas where the staff and the procedures could have been greatly improved, including the rudeness with which some of our friends and family were treated. I agree that this is an outdated place to stay. That doesn't mean it doesn't have everything that is necessary for a great family stay. I heard many people say they were not treated very nicely. One friend was kept waiting over 2 hours for their room to be ready, but I know because I was next door, that not one person entered the room in those 2 hours. That is poor organization and very rude indeed. Other people who checked in were not told about the amenities at the resort and since they were older, they didn't really read all the information and felt they were not treated well. Management should read reviews and make improvements. I have heard that people in this area feel that they don't have to be nice because there are plenty of tourists and they come no matter what. My recommendation is for the staff to step it up and any outdated amenities would be easily overlooked in favor of a great spot with all the natural amenities necessary for a nice family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We thought the Beacons would be a charming respite in the woods because it looks so inviting from the lake. It's old boathouse has a lot of character and very nice. But that's where my positive comments end. The front desk staff was incredibly rude and unhelpful. The indoor pool was dirty and gross. The game room would have been cool, but the pool table and several games were out of order. We tried to play tennis and basketball, but he court was only fenced on the ends, so we just kept chasing the balls down a big hill. But most importantly, the condo we rented was extremely out of date. Ugly furnishings, old comforters, very poor lighting...not at all an enjoyable place to stay. My bedroom had two twin beds and was so tiny I could barely move around. And who designed this resort? To get from the indoor pool to our room, you had to go up a flight of stairs, down a flight of stairs, across the grass, up 2 separate flights of stairs. That's what it took to get around this place. So inconvenient! We would not return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Wyoming
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband booked a 1-BR log cabin/loft for a long Mother's Day weekend. I was SO impressed with the construction, the furnishings, cleanliness and quiet surroundings. Our view of the lake and the evening sunsets was magical!
The cabin had everything you needed for preparing your own meals, a good supply of towels, a washer and dryer, lots of windows and decent television reception. However, there was no wireless internet :( You can access via a computer set-up in the resort lobby.
Such a cozy cabin to spend time in! Very comfortable furnishings and very Northwoods-designed, which I love. The downstairs bathroom was quite large, with a whirlpool tub. The loft provided 2 twin beds, a daybed and another bathroom. Again, nicely decorated.
There is no restaurant at the resort but there are plenty to choose from in the surrounding area. I highly recommend a stay at The Beacons of Minocqua.

Room Tip: The off-season rates are terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beacons of Minocqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacons of Minocqua

Address: 8250 Northern Road, Minocqua, WI 54548
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Minocqua
Number of rooms: 81

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beacons of Minocqua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.