We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is definitely a restaurant first and an Inn second” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brewery Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mineral Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brewery Creek Inn
Save
You added Brewery Creek Inn to your Saves list
23 Commerce Street, Mineral Point, WI 53565   |  
Hotel amenities
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“It is definitely a restaurant first and an Inn second”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

If you're looking for peace and quiet, it may not be the best place. You are staying in bedrooms off a working restaurant. Plus, the owners are nice, but can be a bit awkward. So be friendly, chatty, and enjoy the stay. If you want a big TV, stay home. My wife and I enjoyed the Packer playoff game on their little TVs and we got the same experience. Plus, there are plenty of bars in Mineral Point if you must watch something on TV. It was quiet and nice. That is what we wanted. Yes, the exit is near the kegs of beer. Did you think you'd get a catered private entrance in the working restaurant/inn?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
6
40
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The check in was terribly dissapointing. The owner is not at all friendly and should not be let out of the back. Why don't they just type out a nice welcome letter instead of being greeted as though you are a nuisance. They looked at us with dumb looks on their faces when we asked if were in the right place to check in? "Oh you're here to check in?
The cabin was dirty with 4 windows left wide open even though it was in the low 60's and freezing in there. The dust was very thick on everything and it smelled musty. The bed was clean but thats it. The shower was horrible with a shower head that was very very old and worn out. You know the kind where the water barely gets through and once it does goes everywhere other than where you want it to. Take a quick shower or else you will run out of hot H2o. The wires sticking out of the outlets serving up to 6 appliances was not comforting. The TV is serious a 12" screen and about 35 years old. You can pick up a 20" at Costco for $300 or so. Also it has a 4 cup coffee maker like they used to have in Super 8's circa 1988. Needless to say for the $190 we paid for it we were not at all impressed. I doubt anyone would come back to visit this place. Also to check out by leaving the key in the back next to the dumpster and old beer kegs was charming. i hope i don't sound too harsh in my review but why should i hand money over to people who don't seem to care a bout their guests.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed in room #1 and our friends were in room #7. Both rooms were uniquely and beautifully decorated with antiques and local pottery. Our room had a nice sitting area and gas fireplace. The sleigh bed was very comfortable. My favorite thing about the room was the great hot tub complete with bath salts.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

I agree with another reviewer that it's hard to feel welcomed as a guest when checking in at the bar and basically having no sense of being in a hotel. The room and building are attractive and interesting but it was way overpriced. A two night stay was too much. The breakfast didn't appeal with dirty dishes left by others and no one to pick them up. The coffee smelled like it had been on the burner too long. We drove to Spring Green for breakfast instead. We did enjoy the dinner at the brewpub downstairs the second night. Mineral Point is worth one afternoon but I'd stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This was my first time at Brewery Creek B&B. We went with my boyfriend's parents who had been there before and, in their opinion, was the best B&B they had ever been to. They liked it so much that they invited us out (from California) to a Wisconsin getaway vacation complete with an overnight stay at the B&B as one of the highlights. Having never stayed at a B&B before, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. Upon arrival, the owner greeted us and showed us to our rooms (#1 and #2). She made sure we knew what all the amenities were and even how to operate the fireplace and whirlpool tub. We could reach the owners 24/7 as they live upstairs and freely gave their extension number. The staff at the pub/restaurant was very nice and the food was delightful. I recommend the cheese curds with raspberry sauce, potato dill soup, and the bourbon ale. The best part was that the restaurant closes at 8 so the guests can enjoy a quite evening in their rooms or common area complete with games, music and a nice library collection. There was a great selection of breakfast foods served in the morning including excellent danish pastries.

I have read some reviews where people complained about having to come up the back stairs. I did not see this to be a problem as I realize there is only so much you can do in an old building that is part restaurant, bar, residence and bed and breakfast. IMO this seems like a trivial complaint compared to the overall quality. If you don't expect a red carpet and trumpets upon your arrival you'll be just fine ;-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed 2 nights. I booked the most expensive room, #6 because it was the only one available AND I liked the look of the room. Even though some of the TA comments were negative on the hosts I thought the place looked great and we would try it. Well, room #6 was great. It had a large bathroom with a jacuzzi, queen size four poster bed (very comfy), fireplace (didn't work but was explained to us when we arrived), very nice seating area with a couch and chair, TV/DVD, and internet service (we got the service but it was slow. It could have been because of our computer). Two of the walls of the bedroom were the original stone which added to the charm of the room. There were plenty of pillows and an extra blanket. The lighting was great. We had the window open so it did get loud on Saturday morning. Two big trucks drove by. BUT if we had the windows closed it would have been fine. I didn't see a hair dryer. I didn't ask for one but assume you would get one if you asked.

Our disappointment was because of registration process and the lack of feeling like we were guests. Checking in was strange. There is a restaurant that is part of the Inn. If the restaurant is open, then you go in the front door. One of the owners basically said "looks like your checking in since you have luggage. You owe us this much." We don't mind paying our bill but we didn't feel like we were guests at all. We paid the bill and were shown to the breakfast area and our room. We were told to come in the front door during business hours and after hours come in the yellow back door. Well, the back door is by the garbage and empty beer kegs. You walk in to a little storage area and then go up the stairs to your room. To us it is strange that there is no reception area.

The breakfast area and restaurant kitchen are on the second floor. The room was nice. We were told coffee goes on at 7:30 AM (you can turn it on earlier if you want). The ice buckets were in the breakfast area. If you want ice, tell them. Breakfast is served at 8:30. They had coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pastries, one day there was melon, another day macroons, bananas, sourdough bread and three types of cereal. I didn't see anything get replenished except coffee. The coffee was excellent. They get it from a place in Galena.

Any time we have stayed in a B&B, there was either coffee and cookies available to guests all day OR there was a basket of some type of goodies - water, snacks, cookies, or candy. None of this existed here.

We ate at the restaurant the first night. I liked my burger and fries and herring appetizer. My partner was very disappointed with his burger but did like the fries. We stopped by the second night for a glass of wine at the bar. Debbie got the wine for us but Jeff, behind the bar, didn't greet us or talk to us at all. There was a young blonde man who was either a waiter or a bus boy. He was friendlier to us than the owner.

I guess I was disappointed to pay $205 per night, including taxes (this is the only one at this price, the rest are less expensive) and not feel like we were welcome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed in the Miner's Cottage for one night and loved it. Certainly not a 5-star Chicago suite, but a charming historical cottage with nice amenities considering it was built almost 200 years ago. Great location too. Town is quaint with shops and galleries.

We enjoyed reading by the fire - lots of nice books. Bedroom was lovely and bed and pillows so comfy.

The only downside was the bath tub is old (not jetted) and there wasn't enough hot water for a bath - but this is understandable of a 1836 cottage!

All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brewery Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Creek Inn

Address: 23 Commerce Street, Mineral Point, WI 53565
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mineral Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Mineral Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewery Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.