We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and food was excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MP Dining Company

MP Dining Company
20 Commerce St., Mineral Point, WI
608-987-0006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Pine Island, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and food was excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Don't get distracted by the prices on the menu. The food is very good and they have daily specials that are reasonable. Service was great and the building is really beautiful. I would definitely eat their again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delafield, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, solid food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

What is memorable about this spot is the outdoor dining. The outside dining section is up against a bluff, and is beautifully landscaped. The food was solid. I had the lake trout, which was nice. We had to send my wife's steak back as it was overdone, but it came back with fresh sides cooked and seasoned to perfection. We would gladly return.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious! Delightful food, atmosphere & staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We visited MP based on recommendations by locals - I'm so glad that we did. Excellent food, charming atmosphere and the staff were wonderful - Leah was our waitress and Gabriella was the hostess. Even the locals sitting around us were great - gave us menu suggestions and chatted. We had the goat cheese appetizer and the marinara sauce was the best I have ever tasted! My entree was shrimp and grits - wow! Again, the best I've ever had- never had grits that creamy. My husband had the gnocchi. Everything tasted very fresh and farm to table.
Don't miss MP Dining Co.!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Point, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wonderful experience at MP Dining recently. Food and atmosphere make this dining option an absolute must. The cuisine is on a level with that found at popular restaurants in major cities. MP Dining's chef, Charlie Socher trained in Paris and was the chef/owner of Chicago's Cafe Matou prior to relocating to Mineral Point. His selections will not disappoint, I can assure you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Was worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

One of the reasons we made the recent trip to southwestern Wisconsin was to eat at MP Dining Company. We were great fans of Charlie Socher, the chef's, cuisine at Cafe Matou in Chicago, and were devastated when he closed shop. We were not disappointed by our meal at the new restaurant. Everything was delicious, but real high points included an appetizer of grilled calamari and a main course of shrimp and grits. Fine dining in small towns can be disappointing, but this was a great reason to travel from Chicago!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MP Dining Company also viewed

 
Mineral Point, WI
 

Been to MP Dining Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MP Dining Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.