We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I put up every client that comes to Milwaukee in the County Clare Inn and Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milwaukee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Save
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I put up every client that comes to Milwaukee in the County Clare Inn and Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Part of my job is to arrange housing for speakers, performers, big shot international people, who come to Milwaukee for one of my company's gigs. I do this on a monthly basis. I tell you this because in the last four years of booking rooms in the County Clare, every single one of my speakers, performers, big shot type people, have told me how wonderful their stay is. THat is 48 different people form all parts of the world and in different creative endeavors who have told me how much they like this hotel. And some of these people were very high maintenance. They love the coziness of the place. They love the sheets and towels. They love the personalized service and they love that this hotel is situated in one of the most walkable parts of Milwaukee. It is really the jewel in the crown of Milwaukee. The County Clare makes my job so easy and they make me look good. When people ask me where they should say while in Milwaukee, I can not get the word County Clare out of my mouth fast enough. Also the restaurant is amazing. Try the shepard's pie, or the meat loaf. You will think that you are in Galway, Ireland with the first bite of their potatoes. But you are not. You are just staying in one of the best small hotels in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    82
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
27
159
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This drink is banned in the UK but alive and well at this Irish Pub and small hotel in a quiet part of town. Food was great and they also had Magners on tap and not some US cider so added to the feel. Bangers and Mash was excellent and the chicken strips were best we have ever seen. Add the Sheppards Pie and Reuben Sandwich all looked great

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My first visit to the County Clare and was very impressed. The restaurant and room were beautiful and very clean. The hot tub was a nice addition to the room. Comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious. Nice atmosphere in the evenings to enjoy a beer and company of other guests and customers. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I DON"T GET IT! I am actually in my room now. Floors are not well vacuumed, dirty door knobs, dirty doors, dirty walls, dusty vents, dusty (caked with dust!) window sills. Thank goodness for travel sized packages of disinfectant wipes. Decor consists of very old, marked up, dirty furniture. This place in 3 words: TIRED, UGLY and DIRTY. Begging for a Gordon Ramsey Hotel Nightmares intervention, an investment has not been made in decades to upgrade, clean up or modernize. If you are into this brand of "Old World Charm", this is the place for you. This room was booked for me for a business trip and I will let that person know I'll handle my own reservations in the future....thank you very much! Can't wait to get out of here tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you like a quaint small boutique B&B located in a great quiet neighborhood with a wonderful staff and large rooms this is it. We had a suite on the first floor. It had a jacuzzi tub and a shower. the bathroom was large, the sitting room had a small fridge, a couch an easy chair and a desk (good WiFi) and the bedroom contained a large bed and a flat screen TV. The room contains old style furniture and bead board wains coating and the staff works hard to keep the rooms very clean. The breakfast has a good variety and you can have made to order omelette's. the pub serves wonderful food at a very fair price and the beer is cold and the drinks well proportioned. The only negative that I had was that I have a bad back and the beds are very firm. Also the TV is in the bedroom portion of the suite and you have to turn it to the side to see it from the sitting area. We loved it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: 105,205,305 are suites and worth the extra $20 or ask for an odd#'d room on the third floor-the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed recently and enjoyed the place very much. Service was great, breakfast was excellent. Location worked for all our destinations. My daughter lives in Milwaukee now, so this will be my first choice when visiting. A snug room is exactly what they describe. The bar has a better selection of irish beers than I found in Ireland.

Room Tip: A lower floor may have better water pressure, top floor was a little low during our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Great Irish pub. Watched a World Cup game there on July 4th with others who truly appreciate the game. No posers, no chain feel. Excellent bar but the food was, how shall I say, like a Long John Silvers? Sorry. Our waitress was very pleasant though.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#25 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish hotel in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East Side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A refrigerator is available upon request free of charge. The bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! Guinness Brewmaster, Fergal Murray recognizes County Clare for the best Guinness pint in Wisconsin! The highly acclaimed County Clare Pub and Restaurant celebrates the music, food, and drink of Ireland. The amiable staff is proud to present traditional Irish cuisine as well as contemporary American fare. Feast on such comfort food as shepherd's pie, grilled salmon, our signature Irish root soup, a meatloaf sandwich, or the popular Bloody Mary. County Clare also has an extensive vegetarian menu with vegan options of all your favorites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.