We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milwaukee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a great little irish inn. Stayed here over Easter & once last year. Very clean, there is a pub also, which has good food. You get breakfast included with your stay, good (with chef-made eggs) but on the weekend you can order breakfast off the menu and the choices are really good! Location is very good also, you can pretty much park your car (free in their lot) and walk to the lake, Brady st., downtown etc. The only thing that could pose a problem for some is that there is only 1 large bed in the room and the tub is out in the open (shower & toilet enclosed) Overall a great place for the price! Going back in August

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    70
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
144
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

CC is a find ! they have few suites, but we stayed in a suite in April and was very pleased as I have been each time I have stayed there. would say in a suite each time if there was one available, just for more room & a larger bathroom. it's a great place, wonderful staff, great food & bar. Quiet when you want it to be. Close to everything, within walking distance of so many
things, the lakefront, Victors, the grocery store, Brady street, everything downtown. I love CC !

Room Tip: The regular rooms are very nice, the suites are great. Quiet overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Our room was pleasant. Not spotless but pretty good. There is offstreet parking but the lot is extremely tight and shared with restaurant/pub patrons. But no additional fee for parking so that is a plus. The made to order omelettes for breakfast were excellent but the chef was the only person working in the area. He did a good job of delivering each plate and taking care of customers but it seemed strange not to have another staff member to assist.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

County Clare is a great place to spend a night or weekend. The rooms are very nice and spotless. The restaurant has great Irish food and the pub has a beer or drink for everyone. The staff is very professional and friendly all the way from the front desk to the bartender. The omelette in the morning is a great way to start the day. And if you like Bloody Mary's, County Clare has the best.

Room Tip: Check out the Sunday romance special. It's a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mounds, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Room was comfortable--not a lot of frills but perfectly fine as a unique home base for a Milwaukee weekend. The staff was super, accommodating our need to park before official check-in and helping us when our plans changed last minute. I loved being able to take my complimentary breakfast in the excellent Irish restaurant and pub each morning.

Room Tip: Spend a little time adjusting the heater in the room before you crash for the night. We ended up se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Perhaps the most romantic room I have ever stayed in and is perfect lodging for a couple. Please note, this is definitely not for for a girls week away or guys weekend. The shower opens into the room and there is a jacuzzi for two. Zero privacy so you better love the one you are with.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Food is good, the breakfast omelets are outstanding. It's a great Irish pub, popular drinking spot, with evening entertainment. Location is outstanding, walking distance to downtown (but the bus stop is also located just in front). Minutes away from the lake and the Art Museum.

Room Tip: Parking and breakfast is included. Check their web site for discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We've stayed at County Clare several times and we always have a fantastic time! This is a gorgeous Inn! The restaurant and pub are lovely with excellent food and a great pint of Guinness! The brunch is lovely as well. Most weekends they have live music and it's always a roaring good time!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 215 and it was large and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#28 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish themed B&B in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A cooler is available upon request along with a dvd player free of charge. Our bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! The master brewer of Guinness from St. James' Gate in Dublin recently stayed at our inn and gave us the distinct honor of the best Guinness in the city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list