We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milwaukee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at County Clare 5 nights. Everything suited us fine: room pretty and comfortable, breakfast great and pub just what a pub should be. We walked to many attractions and found Milwaukee to be a lovely city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    70
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
144
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Spent our anniversary with friends at the Clare the weekend before St Patricks weekend. Who would have known Milwaukee celebrates the holiday a week early! The whole weekend was a blast. The pub within the Clare is a great meeting place & The pub food was delish. No entertainment the weekend we were there as the whole town was celebrating St Patrick & seating is limited in the pub. Accommodations were great as always and being able to celebrate in the pub and simply walk through the door to get to your room is so convenient. The chocolate chip cookies fresh from the oven really hit the spot. The next morning had the corn beef has breakfast & it was all homemade and outstanding with big chunks of Cohen beef not little ground up pieces. Wife had full Irish breakfast which was equally good. Bloody Mary's were not as tasty as they looked, need a little work in the drink but the skewer appetizer is very good. The Clare is in walking distance to many other restaurants & establishments. We will go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night. We were in town to see a comedian at the Riverside Theatre and we also went on the Margarita Fiesta Cruise prior to the show. The employees at the hotel were very friendly. We received cookies upon arrival. We had one of the large suites and it suited what we needed for one night. The whirlpool was a bonus, along with the free breakfast. We were able to order anything we wanted off of the breakfast menu the next day in the restaurant - which ended up being a $25 value. The food was great too! We had planned on grabbing cabs throughout the night, but we ended up walking to all the venues that we went to. (Riverside Theatre, Port of Call Restaurant and the Red Rock Saloon) I even had heals on, never would I have thought that we were actually as close to everything as we were. Even walked back to the hotel around midnight and felt safe. The hotel also has free parking. Only have one complaint - we were on the first floor, and I could hear the traffic outside the bedroom window. I'm a light sleeper - as my boyfriend is not, so it didn't bother him the least. (our room faced the front of the hotel and the main road) I would definitly stay at this hotel again - really good value, espcially for a whirlpool suite, free parking, free breakfast and proximity to the downtown area.

Room Tip: I would suggest to get a room that doesn't face the front of the building - road traffic can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stopped in for a pint, good selection of beers. Just like a pub out of Ireland, worth going out of the way to get there. Friendly service. Didn't see the hotel rooms, but if anything like the pub, should be nice. Will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband & I stayed a night while vacationing in Milwaukee. Our stay in the guesthouse couldn't have been better. Very professional and friendly staff. Room quiet and comfortable and full of charm. We recieved a voucher for free breakfast included with our stay. I had the irish breakfast and my husband had the corned beef hash. Both meals were really delicious! My husband liked this pub so much that we had dinner twice that same week. We were never disappointed between the service and quality of food. I'm really glad we found this place. It elevated our stay beyond just ordinary. Stay here and make lasting memories of good times.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in August on our drive from LA to Buffalo. Milwaukee was a last minute decision and boy were we ever glad we gave it a shot. The rooms were well appointed, cozy and comfortable. Coming from an Irish background it really had that homey Irish B&B feel that I've experienced in Ireland many times. The pub was a nice bonus with friendly staff, good food and of course a proper pint of Guinness to finish off your day.
I would highly recommend this place to other.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night in a standard room. The room is actually much like one might find at a B&B in Ireland or elsewhere in Europe. It was basic, large and open and the bed was comfortable and clean. There is no wall to separate the bathroom area, although the toilet is in it's own "WC". So, for the room itself, I rate this place as 3-star, average, but there isn't any reason why I wouldn't stay here again - it's a very charming place.

What I would rate higher - very good to excellent - is the location. Wonderful old Milwaukee neighborhood with good walking access to lots of things to do. The pub in the main level of the County Clare is also just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#11 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish themed B&B in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A cooler is available upon request along with a dvd player free of charge. Our bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! The master brewer of Guinness from St. James' Gate in Dublin recently stayed at our inn and gave us the distinct honor of the best Guinness in the city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list