We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milwaukee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Save
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I can not rave about this place enough. It was an amazing stay and would be a reason to come back to Milwaukee.

We stayed for 3 nights in the beginning of August over a weekend, in the standard room. It featured a desk and sitting area, a comfortable pillow top queen bed, handcrafted comforters, a luxurious double whirlpool bath, separate shower and wireless high-speed internet.

Complimentary breakfast ( over the weekend it was amazing food, your choices are plenty and the quality is above industry standard, highly recommend the salmon benny and the Irish breakfast) also you may want to stay for dinner as well, their shepherds pie was phenomenal and bangers and mash to die for.

Free parking is offered to all overnight guests, do be aware that it is tight parking in the back and spots will fill up quickly.

Stayed August 2 -5, 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    82
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
27
159
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in the "snug" room (cheapest one) but there was nothing snug about it. By European standards at least, the room was big. Room was clean, bed comfortable.

Great location. Walked to everything. Breakfast cooked just for us was lovely.

In our room, there was a whirpool bath (in the room but behind a dividing screen) which was relaxing. If you don't feel comfortable with that though, there's a shower in a separate bathroom.

Parking was free and convenient. Staff were lovely.

A great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very large room with a hot tub. Room was very clean. The omelet cooked by a chef for breakfast was great. The rest of the breakfast was self serve. Nice location with a pub/restaurant downstairs. Staff was very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a great Inn with a awesome location. I have stayed twice on business trips and enjoyed my stay both times. The rooms are reasonably priced and they offer a Government rate. The food is good, but if it is not what you want there are several great restaurants with in walking distance. The rooms are clean, spacious and quiet. Most if not all have a rooms garden/jacuzzi tub. I plan to stay again next time I visit Milwaukee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
537 helpful votes 537 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Inn is very warm and welcoming. We stayed in suite 309 the room was very roomy. The bathroom was large with a hot tub we did not use. The hallway is narrow so you can hear the doors closing. At night you hear the city buses driving past the inn. But that is what you get for staying in the city. The pub was very nice, the food was good and fresh. We had the Ruben rolls to start. The soups and main dishes were all delish. When you stay at the Inn you get a complementally breakfast, which is a made to order omelet, with breads, juice, coffee or tea. Breakfast is very good, could use some fresh fruit. Inn was clean but not spotless, few spider webs on lights and corners. Nothing major, we would stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We found online that if you booked with them, they sometimes had special deals and we found one for "Sunday Romance" which was quite a bit off the regular room price, PLUS it had a bottle of champagne (which we had converted to two pints), plus a free dessert with the purchase of two entrees, and a hot breakfast. That right there was a winner! Our room was comfortable and cozy (we had the regular room.) The rooms, as most have mentioned, are a bit old, but everything was well kept. We liked how close this Inn was to everything and that it was within a quick walking distance to almost anything! The staff was extremely professional, polite, and courteous!

The food we had was excellent, some of the best of the trip! We liked how the bar looked like Irish pubs as we have both been abroad and been in some of the finest. They also had a great patio area out front that was fun to sit out at. The waitstaff and the bar was fun!

I would definitely recommend staying here without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the third floor. We didn't hear any of the noise from Astor Street or from anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the County Clare this past weekend. It's close proximity to the Astor Hotel (where we attended a wedding reception) was the main reason we chose it. We found the Irish atmosphere to be charming. Our suite was very nice and clean (though a TV in the sitting area would have been nice (only TV was across from the king size bed). Only complaint was the street noise as the hotel is located right on the corner of a busy East side street. The next morning we both enjoyed a full course free breakfast that was exellent. I highly recommend the corn beef hash. Plentiful and tasty. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#25 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish hotel in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East Side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A refrigerator is available upon request free of charge. The bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! Guinness Brewmaster, Fergal Murray recognizes County Clare for the best Guinness pint in Wisconsin! The highly acclaimed County Clare Pub and Restaurant celebrates the music, food, and drink of Ireland. The amiable staff is proud to present traditional Irish cuisine as well as contemporary American fare. Feast on such comfort food as shepherd's pie, grilled salmon, our signature Irish root soup, a meatloaf sandwich, or the popular Bloody Mary. County Clare also has an extensive vegetarian menu with vegan options of all your favorites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.