We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milwaukee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Mason, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
“Cute Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Inn is very warm and welcoming. We stayed in suite 309 the room was very roomy. The bathroom was large with a hot tub we did not use. The hallway is narrow so you can hear the doors closing. At night you hear the city buses driving past the inn. But that is what you get for staying in the city. The pub was very nice, the food was good and fresh. We had the Ruben rolls to start. The soups and main dishes were all delish. When you stay at the Inn you get a complementally breakfast, which is a made to order omelet, with breads, juice, coffee or tea. Breakfast is very good, could use some fresh fruit. Inn was clean but not spotless, few spider webs on lights and corners. Nothing major, we would stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    70
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
144
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We found online that if you booked with them, they sometimes had special deals and we found one for "Sunday Romance" which was quite a bit off the regular room price, PLUS it had a bottle of champagne (which we had converted to two pints), plus a free dessert with the purchase of two entrees, and a hot breakfast. That right there was a winner! Our room was comfortable and cozy (we had the regular room.) The rooms, as most have mentioned, are a bit old, but everything was well kept. We liked how close this Inn was to everything and that it was within a quick walking distance to almost anything! The staff was extremely professional, polite, and courteous!

The food we had was excellent, some of the best of the trip! We liked how the bar looked like Irish pubs as we have both been abroad and been in some of the finest. They also had a great patio area out front that was fun to sit out at. The waitstaff and the bar was fun!

I would definitely recommend staying here without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the third floor. We didn't hear any of the noise from Astor Street or from anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the County Clare this past weekend. It's close proximity to the Astor Hotel (where we attended a wedding reception) was the main reason we chose it. We found the Irish atmosphere to be charming. Our suite was very nice and clean (though a TV in the sitting area would have been nice (only TV was across from the king size bed). Only complaint was the street noise as the hotel is located right on the corner of a busy East side street. The next morning we both enjoyed a full course free breakfast that was exellent. I highly recommend the corn beef hash. Plentiful and tasty. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed 1 nite on a thursday for a family gathering. No early checkin but you're welcome to drop your luggage off. Checkin was easy, room was clean and spacious (we had a standard, the rest of the crew had suites...can't comment on the snug). Started in the pub and talked briefly w/the knowledgeable bar tender. Nice selection of local and irish beers. Mussels starter was tasty. Shepard's pie was likewise good. Had some negative comments from the crew on the Ruben. This had thick slices of (very good) corned beef where they are used to thin sliced. Another comment was to increase the amount of sour kraut. In general, the food was very meaty, very irish and portions large. Consider a split.

The rooms are not brand new. As other reviewers have noted, there are signs of wear. But everything was functional and clean and the only recommendation I'd pass on is to consider replacing the mattresses as ours was starting to sag in the middle.

I like the central location but you do have to deal w/some of the indigent population that comes with a central location. One of our rooms had to bear witness to a 2am argument outside the inn (he could have improve his lot if he'd realized his bathroom window was open).

I'd stay again w/o hesitation.

Room Tip: Standard recommendation is to take the top floor to eliminate noise from rooms above you. I'd g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, WI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Can't say enough about the cleanliness of this Inn. It was most comfortable and so authentic! The neighborhood is great and the convenience of on-site parking was appreciated. The breakfast, which was included with the room, was delicious and very generous with many great choices on the menu. We will certainly be back on a future visit to downtown Milwaukee!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've been to Ireland and I've been to the County Clare Irish Inn and Pub in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and I have to say, the County Clare Inn feels authentic. My husband and I got in late, around 12:30 a.m. in order to check into our hotel room. We were welcomed into the place by a group of Irish fiddlers having a jam session in the pub. It was that same convivial feeling that you get in Ireland in those little towns where the pub serves as the local gathering spot and people stay up late, playing music, dancing, and talking. The bed was very comfortable and the complimentary breakfast (I had the eggs benedict, while my husband had some waffles) was delicious. This was my first time in Wisconsin, and I'm glad that we decided to stopped in Milwaukee before heading to a wedding up in Kewaskum.

Also, if you are looking for things to do in town, try doing a tour with Milwaukee Food Tours. My family and I did the Brady Street Tour on a Saturday morning. It was well worth it. Food tours are an excellent way to see a town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at County Clare Inn. It's located in a nice neighborhood, and downtown Milwaukee is a short walk away.
The rooms were very clean, and despite the busy bar and restaurant, it was very quiet. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#28 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish themed B&B in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A cooler is available upon request along with a dvd player free of charge. Our bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! The master brewer of Guinness from St. James' Gate in Dublin recently stayed at our inn and gave us the distinct honor of the best Guinness in the city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list