We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special warning about Saturday nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milwaukee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Save Saved
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Special warning about Saturday nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

County Clare is a nice little B&B close to downtown Milwaukee. There is a cosy Irish restaurant attached, and the room includes a wonderful breakfast there. Our room was a suite with a roll-out bed. Everything was clean and the bathroom (which was accessible for people with disabilities) was gorgeous. However, we stayed in Room 105 on a Saturday night and the noise from the bar was terrible. It went on until about 1 a.m. We complained and got a gift certificate towards our next stay, when we will definitely ask for the room furthest from the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    73
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
147
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
heanster25
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an excellent little hotel, just a bit away from downtown,tucked into a quiet neighborhood...unless you go there St. Patricks day. Great place to stay for a weekend and if you want to feel like you're in Ireland for a bit, it's perfect. Very nice rooms and good food and drink. Would recommend to anyone except they don't accept pets, which is probably a good thing

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful rooms, with a lot of charm. The breakfast is complimentary and is excellent! The restaurant space is nice and very bright with natural sun, the bar area is adjacent, a little on the small side, but it makes for a great excuse to meet new people while you sip a bit of the black stuff... or a nip of mead... Check it out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were looking for a one night getaway and the Count Clare was perfect. Melissa, at the front desk, was welcoming and explained our package. The room was large and nicely decorated. Our room had a two person hot tub which really did fit two people. While we did not take advantage of the dinner that was part of the package the made to order omelet for breakfast was excellent. The inn is located away from downtown in a quiet residential location. Lake Michigan is a couple of blocks away and a walk revealed some interesting architecture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is on the behalf of my parents who spent 2 nights here during February 2013. It's a very charming guest house, decorated with rich dark wood, greens, and Irish advertising memorabilia in the pub/restaurant. Their room was very reasonably priced for downtown. Even though it was located directly above the pub on the second floor while live music was going on below, they reported absolutely no noise carried up into their room.

Lunch and brunch in the pub was very good. They offer a nice array of familiar Irish specialties and they do it well. The corned beef was delicious.

Considering that their stay was comfortable and quite enjoyable, I would recommend the County Clare for Milwaukee visitors who are looking for somewhere more unique and inviting than many large chain hotels. They are truly wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed our anniversary stay with friends from the moment we parked. The reception staff took care of us right away with parking & fresh baked cookies. Our friends arrived a little earlier & were awaiting in the pub. Rooms are very comfortable & nicely decorated. We visited a few pubs within walking distance before coming back to the Clare for dinner. Some had sandwiches some had dinners, with all choices delicious. Service was excellent and don't forget to order a side of Powers! Breakfast choices the next morning were plenty & when they say full Irish breakfast they mean it! The hash breakfast was outstanding, homemade. Bloody was good with all the trimmings including a small pickled red potato. After all it is Ireland! County Clare can make you feel like you are over the pond. There's more to say and you should experience it yourself if you have not already done so.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a great inn and outstanding restaurant all under one roof. County Clare I believe gives you the best value for your money at any place you will stay, not just in Milwaukee but even in the Midwest. I visited the Inn with my girlfriend in mid February for valentine's weekend, and it really couldn't have been any more romantic than it was. The staff from the check in counter to the host at the restaurant were all top notch and professional as can be. The room we stayed in was a suite for a very reasonable price. At first glance you notice the very high ceilings which make the room very spacious, while the bathroom had a nice sized whirl pool for two. Upon check in we received two homemade cookies which was a nice touch to the homey welcoming feel to our stay. The inn was in a great location just north of downtown and near just about all the hot spots that Milwaukee has to offer. The restaurant was perfect as well, five star quality for breakfast and dinner. All in all County Clare Irish Inn and Pub is the place to stay when travelling to Milwaukee. You can't beat this value!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#25 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish themed B&B in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A cooler is available upon request along with a dvd player free of charge. Our bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! The master brewer of Guinness from St. James' Gate in Dublin recently stayed at our inn and gave us the distinct honor of the best Guinness in the city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.