We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch the spirit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milwaukee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Save Saved
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago area, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Catch the spirit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed our anniversary stay with friends from the moment we parked. The reception staff took care of us right away with parking & fresh baked cookies. Our friends arrived a little earlier & were awaiting in the pub. Rooms are very comfortable & nicely decorated. We visited a few pubs within walking distance before coming back to the Clare for dinner. Some had sandwiches some had dinners, with all choices delicious. Service was excellent and don't forget to order a side of Powers! Breakfast choices the next morning were plenty & when they say full Irish breakfast they mean it! The hash breakfast was outstanding, homemade. Bloody was good with all the trimmings including a small pickled red potato. After all it is Ireland! County Clare can make you feel like you are over the pond. There's more to say and you should experience it yourself if you have not already done so.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    72
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
147
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a great inn and outstanding restaurant all under one roof. County Clare I believe gives you the best value for your money at any place you will stay, not just in Milwaukee but even in the Midwest. I visited the Inn with my girlfriend in mid February for valentine's weekend, and it really couldn't have been any more romantic than it was. The staff from the check in counter to the host at the restaurant were all top notch and professional as can be. The room we stayed in was a suite for a very reasonable price. At first glance you notice the very high ceilings which make the room very spacious, while the bathroom had a nice sized whirl pool for two. Upon check in we received two homemade cookies which was a nice touch to the homey welcoming feel to our stay. The inn was in a great location just north of downtown and near just about all the hot spots that Milwaukee has to offer. The restaurant was perfect as well, five star quality for breakfast and dinner. All in all County Clare Irish Inn and Pub is the place to stay when travelling to Milwaukee. You can't beat this value!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just stayed at County Clare this past weekend February 16th and we loved it. Our room was beautiful (305). This room was reviewed by someone else who had bad things to say about it and we found NONE of that. The person who gave the bad review about this room must have been a difficult person to please or just really petty. The open concept for the bathroom was interesting, but liked it because it made the room feel more open and bigger. The front desk person when we arrived was so very nice and friendly. Cookies were a nice touch...Country Clare has free parking for guests, but when we got there all parking places were full, but this was not a problem because we gave our car keys to woman at front desk. She parked the car when a space became available. that was REALLY a nice perk. We appreciated that is was not a hassle. The bar and restaurant was really, really quaint, felt like a pub in Ireland...beers on tap were good and there was several to choose from, food was good bar food that we really appreciated at 11 PM. Wished we would have had dinner there because the menu looked good and the food we saw being served look very appetizing.

The only fault I have (and its VERY minor) is the TV in room. While it was small was not the problem, but sitting in bed it was difficult to view the TV...its a little to low in the cabinet.

Now on the best part...Breakfast. WOW we were so impressed with the choices for our breakfest. It was all so good and the portions were HUGE...we all had something different (full Irish breakfest, veggie & kale frittata, American breakfest & corned beef hash) and all our plates were clean. The Bubble 'n Squeak was good, plus the name of the dish is fun to say. I had the corned beef hash and it was really good...better than the corned beef hash at 52 Stafford. We all had the bloody marys and let me tell you...its a meal in a glass...loved it.

We really enjoyed our stay and will be back. County Clare is so close to Brady Street and we enjoyed doing bar hoping...plus the lakefront is right there...if it was warmer out we would have walked to lakefront...hopefully we will do that this Summer.

Thank you Rip and Sean for another wonderful B&B. We had a great time

Carrie & MIke

Room Tip: our room was very nice & faced Astor Street. My sister-in-law & her husband's room were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

From the moment you drive up to this outstanding establishment, you feel as if you were actually in Ireland. You just get a sense of "this is what it would be like" from the neighborhood, building, lobby for check in, the pub and the overall ambience of establishment. We stayed in one of the standard rooms which was perfect for us. Whirlpool, queen bed, and decor in the room were all very good. Pub has a great laid back atmoshere to enjoy a Harp or Kilkenny! The natural fire stove is awesome to sit next to on a cold winter night. The breakfast which was included in the price for the room was outstanding and very "Irish". Great, relaxing get away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the County Clare inn the night of our wedding. Overall, we were left with a very positive experience, and would return back to the inn with no hesitation.

There were a few hiccups in our experience that I would like to share for future guests.
1) Parking - I am sure other reviewers have mentioned this, but the parking lot is small, and while parking was included with our stay, the lot was full upon arrival, to the point that cars were double-parked. We found a temporary street spot a block or so away, and upon checking in was informed that we could double-park in the lot, and leave the receptionist our car keys. Had we known this *before* arrival, we would have done this from the beginning and saved ourselves the walk in the ~20 degree cold.
2) After a certain time, the receptionist is off-duty, and the bartender handles receptionist duties. The bar was hopping at one point, and it took quite a bit of time to get the bartender's attention. This wasn't the end of the world, but it kept me from my group for about 10-15 minutes.
3) Unlike some reviewers have experienced, we had no major issues with the room. The room was satisfactorily clean, quite comfortable. Upon turning on the whirlpool jets in the bathtub, however, a fair bit of debris came out. We were able to drain the tub and get rid of the debris, but it was a slightly disappointing (but understandable) discovery. That said, what's the cleaning staff supposed to do, fill up the tub and run it every time they clean? We perceive this just part and parcel of staying somewhere that has an in-room whirlpool tub.
4) We were seated in the restaurant around 9:30pm, 30 minutes before the kitchen closed. The host who seated our group (6 people) didn't give us menus, and directed us to make drink orders at the bar. After waiting about 20 minutes without any waitstaff coming to our table, I again left our party to ask the host for menus. After that, a waitress came by to take our orders, and she (understandably) advised us that we should make orders quickly since the kitchen closed in 10 minutes. This was only irritating because had we been given menus and waitstaff from the beginning, we would not have had to cut our orders so close. As it played out, it was irritating to have to wait, just to feel as though we were being blamed for cutting it close.
4b) While eating breakfast the following morning, we discovered a 'late night' menu for food items that were available after the kitchen closed. Had we known of this availability, we would likely have ordered differently, and not put a last-minute burden on the kitchen.

And now for the positive aspects of our stay (which completely outweighed the negatives, from our point of view).
1) The room was very comfortable, adequately clean, with a fairly speedy wireless internet connection that was hassle-free. The room is spacious, uniquely laid-out, and the 2-person whirlpool was exactly what we were looking for to unwind with.
2) Our breakfast meal was on a Saturday morning, and was absolutely fantastic. I will spare the details, but the Corned Beef Hash and the Traditional Irish Breakfast are what we ate, and they were amazing.
3) The only other food we personally ate was the bread pudding dessert. This too, was fantastic.
4) The pub/restaurant is beautiful, with charm in spades.
5) The room has a nice array of hot beverages, not just the typical in-room coffee. Tea selections (with honey), hot cocoa and some flavored creamer were a delightful touch, all complimentary.
6) Aside from our issue with dinner's timing/waitstaff hiccup, all of our other staff experiences were excellent. The evening receptionist and morning receptionist were friendly, welcoming and very accommodating and helpful. It was a nice touch to receive some cookies upon check-in. Our breakfast server had recognized us as the newly-weds from the night before, and offered his well wishes, and was very friendly. After breakfast, as we were in the parking lot, he came running out to us, to give us our champagne bottle that we had forgotten at our table. Definitely left a wonderful impression, and is a great asset to the establishment. I wish I knew his name, but thank you sir!

We cannot stress enough again, that we would come back to the County Clare again with no hesitation. We simply share some of the other details to hopefully educate potential guests. Overall, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the east (210), overlooking the parking lot. I have read other reviewers say this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Our family, all from Chicago, traveled to the County Clare Inn and Pub for a family reunion. Our family included babies and kids of all ages and parents, and we all thought the Inn was the perfect choice. Rooms were comfortable, and in one case, large enough to accommodate room for two packn' plays for baby twins. The pub is very warm and the food was pretty good. We were a large group and took over most of the space, but it did not seem to be an issue. Later in the evening we moved to the private Michael Joyce room. I was able to bring in my own decorations for the tables and the room itself is cozy with dark wood tables and cute Celtic decor. I ordered from the catering menu, which was very good, and the kids were able to order from the pub menu, which really was perfect! Add in free parking along with a free breakfast(no continental fare here) and we couldn't really have asked for more. If traveling to Milwaukee, you should think about the County Clare....it's location is desirable as well. Perfect!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at County Clare a 2nd time last year, and enjoyed it as much as the first time. The rooms are wonderful, which a rich green decor, comfortable bed, and nice layout. The inn is close to everything, whether walking or driving (Milwaukee's not too big). The pub is great for all meals, and is also vegetarian friendly which is great for my wife. It's a great place for a weekend getaway, and the staff has always been fantastic.

Room Tip: We've stayed on the 1st and 2nd floors, and both were great. Even having a room right next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#26 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish themed B&B in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A cooler is available upon request along with a dvd player free of charge. Our bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! The master brewer of Guinness from St. James' Gate in Dublin recently stayed at our inn and gave us the distinct honor of the best Guinness in the city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;