We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Just as Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milwaukee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Save Saved
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Glendale Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“2nd Time Just as Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at County Clare a 2nd time last year, and enjoyed it as much as the first time. The rooms are wonderful, which a rich green decor, comfortable bed, and nice layout. The inn is close to everything, whether walking or driving (Milwaukee's not too big). The pub is great for all meals, and is also vegetarian friendly which is great for my wife. It's a great place for a weekend getaway, and the staff has always been fantastic.

Room Tip: We've stayed on the 1st and 2nd floors, and both were great. Even having a room right next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    72
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
147
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sterling
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at County Clare again last weekend. Once again had a wonderful time. The only place except for Ireland the Guinness tastes great. Room and staff both wonderful. They have added a brunch on the weekends. The traditional Irish breakfast was as advertised.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We made reservations two months in advance based on an ad promoting a package for seeing the current exhibit at the the Milwaukee Art Museum. When I called, I was told they discontinued the package but would give a $5.00 per person off coupon for the museum's exhibit. The reservationist also said there were two rooms left for our desired dates, one by the elevator and one further down the hall. I booked the room away from the elevator. Upon arrival we learned that the inn discontinued the discount coupons with the museum and, as fate would have it, we ended up with the room immediately next to the elevator. That really started things on a bad note.
However, from there-on, the room lived up to its billing and the elevator was a minor irritation. The pub and grill were fun with the bartendar engaging guests with all sorts of information about different alcohols. The menu was represented by a very knowledgeable waitress and our dinner was delightful.
The complimentary breakfast was ackward and I am not sure how to describe it. I think they were trying to personalize the experience, but it resulted in a long line waiting for one chef to take your order for an egg omlette. Short of waiting in line, you could choose dry ceral or toast but no fruit was available.
All staff were very friendly and most had an Irish accent which added to the Irish milieu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First off all, the hotel is in such a cute neighborhood! It's very quiet, yet close enough to anywhere you might want to get downtown, we walked everywhere we went. We went in the summer, and the outdoor patio at night was a beautiful place to enjoy dinner, which was delicious! The rooms themselves were simple yet very charming. This is a great place to go for a romantic trip for two!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraim, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

County Clare was a delight...the hotel as well as their pub/restaurant. We met out kids there for dinner and after a few pints we made our way to the dining room. Service was exceptional...and the food was great...delicious and nicely presented...and surprise (!) quite reasonable for downtown Milwaukee.
Our room was nicely laid out and scrupulously clean. We are fellow Innkeepers so we are very particular and we see EVERYTHING! Passed with flying colors!
Turns out the bartender has a connection with a local gourmet soup purveyor here in Ephraim.
We would definitely return to County Clare and it's laid back definitely friendly Irish vibe!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice hotel. It was actually quite the bargain!! The staff was absolutely lovely! The rooms were clean and made me feel at home. Next time I'm in Milwauke I will look into staying here again. This hotel was well worthy of 5 stars 

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a comfortable, quiet, pleasantly decorated room for one night at the County Clare Inn. The Milwaukee Art Museum is a short walk away, and downtown restaurants are also walking distance. A good choice for those who resist outrageous hotel prices.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#26 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish themed B&B in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A cooler is available upon request along with a dvd player free of charge. Our bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! The master brewer of Guinness from St. James' Gate in Dublin recently stayed at our inn and gave us the distinct honor of the best Guinness in the city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.