We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
sterling
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at County Clare again last weekend. Once again had a wonderful time. The only place except for Ireland the Guinness tastes great. Room and staff both wonderful. They have added a brunch on the weekends. The traditional Irish breakfast was as advertised.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    93
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
177
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We made reservations two months in advance based on an ad promoting a package for seeing the current exhibit at the the Milwaukee Art Museum. When I called, I was told they discontinued the package but would give a $5.00 per person off coupon for the museum's exhibit. The reservationist also said there were two rooms left for our desired dates, one by the elevator and one further down the hall. I booked the room away from the elevator. Upon arrival we learned that the inn discontinued the discount coupons with the museum and, as fate would have it, we ended up with the room immediately next to the elevator. That really started things on a bad note.
However, from there-on, the room lived up to its billing and the elevator was a minor irritation. The pub and grill were fun with the bartendar engaging guests with all sorts of information about different alcohols. The menu was represented by a very knowledgeable waitress and our dinner was delightful.
The complimentary breakfast was ackward and I am not sure how to describe it. I think they were trying to personalize the experience, but it resulted in a long line waiting for one chef to take your order for an egg omlette. Short of waiting in line, you could choose dry ceral or toast but no fruit was available.
All staff were very friendly and most had an Irish accent which added to the Irish milieu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First off all, the hotel is in such a cute neighborhood! It's very quiet, yet close enough to anywhere you might want to get downtown, we walked everywhere we went. We went in the summer, and the outdoor patio at night was a beautiful place to enjoy dinner, which was delicious! The rooms themselves were simple yet very charming. This is a great place to go for a romantic trip for two!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraim, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

County Clare was a delight...the hotel as well as their pub/restaurant. We met out kids there for dinner and after a few pints we made our way to the dining room. Service was exceptional...and the food was great...delicious and nicely presented...and surprise (!) quite reasonable for downtown Milwaukee.
Our room was nicely laid out and scrupulously clean. We are fellow Innkeepers so we are very particular and we see EVERYTHING! Passed with flying colors!
Turns out the bartender has a connection with a local gourmet soup purveyor here in Ephraim.
We would definitely return to County Clare and it's laid back definitely friendly Irish vibe!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice hotel. It was actually quite the bargain!! The staff was absolutely lovely! The rooms were clean and made me feel at home. Next time I'm in Milwauke I will look into staying here again. This hotel was well worthy of 5 stars 

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a comfortable, quiet, pleasantly decorated room for one night at the County Clare Inn. The Milwaukee Art Museum is a short walk away, and downtown restaurants are also walking distance. A good choice for those who resist outrageous hotel prices.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensville, Missouri
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location is great to walk to many interesting lakeshore sites. The special order omelets were excellent. You may have to look around a little for the oj & cream but it's there. This is a unique Inn that is reasonably priced at a good location. The bed was comfortable and the room nicely decorated. The open concept shower to the room was a bit unique. Make sure you are rooming with someone comfortable. The only down side was the noise that came in from the hall. There were signs posted in the hall for guests to be considerate and quiet but that didn't stop the couple that came in after midnight. The noise really traveled.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#15 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#11 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#26 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish hotel in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East Side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A refrigerator is available upon request free of charge. The bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! Guinness Brewmaster, Fergal Murray recognizes County Clare for the best Guinness pint in Wisconsin! The highly acclaimed County Clare Pub and Restaurant celebrates the music, food, and drink of Ireland. The amiable staff is proud to present traditional Irish cuisine as well as contemporary American fare. Feast on such comfort food as shepherd's pie, grilled salmon, our signature Irish root soup, a meatloaf sandwich, or the popular Bloody Mary. County Clare also has an extensive vegetarian menu with vegan options of all your favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your County Clare Irish Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.