We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute, welcoming Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milwaukee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Save Saved
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very cute, welcoming Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First off all, the hotel is in such a cute neighborhood! It's very quiet, yet close enough to anywhere you might want to get downtown, we walked everywhere we went. We went in the summer, and the outdoor patio at night was a beautiful place to enjoy dinner, which was delicious! The rooms themselves were simple yet very charming. This is a great place to go for a romantic trip for two!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    74
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
148
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ephraim, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

County Clare was a delight...the hotel as well as their pub/restaurant. We met out kids there for dinner and after a few pints we made our way to the dining room. Service was exceptional...and the food was great...delicious and nicely presented...and surprise (!) quite reasonable for downtown Milwaukee.
Our room was nicely laid out and scrupulously clean. We are fellow Innkeepers so we are very particular and we see EVERYTHING! Passed with flying colors!
Turns out the bartender has a connection with a local gourmet soup purveyor here in Ephraim.
We would definitely return to County Clare and it's laid back definitely friendly Irish vibe!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice hotel. It was actually quite the bargain!! The staff was absolutely lovely! The rooms were clean and made me feel at home. Next time I'm in Milwauke I will look into staying here again. This hotel was well worthy of 5 stars 

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a comfortable, quiet, pleasantly decorated room for one night at the County Clare Inn. The Milwaukee Art Museum is a short walk away, and downtown restaurants are also walking distance. A good choice for those who resist outrageous hotel prices.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensville, Missouri
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location is great to walk to many interesting lakeshore sites. The special order omelets were excellent. You may have to look around a little for the oj & cream but it's there. This is a unique Inn that is reasonably priced at a good location. The bed was comfortable and the room nicely decorated. The open concept shower to the room was a bit unique. Make sure you are rooming with someone comfortable. The only down side was the noise that came in from the hall. There were signs posted in the hall for guests to be considerate and quiet but that didn't stop the couple that came in after midnight. The noise really traveled.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREEN BAY
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Comfortable room located on the edge of downtown Milwaukee in the great near NE neighborhood. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bed comfortable although pillows were a little hard and flat. Beautiful pub serving great Irish drinks. Free parking and wi-fi, something you don't see in many of the downtown hotels.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This is the best place to stay if you want to get a true feel for Milwaukee locals. Great location (close to Brady Street) and has an amazing bar and restaurant that is full with locals., staff was friendly and helpful in recommending places to see and things to do. The price was reasonable and a perfect blend of a European guesthouse. Won't stay any other place now.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#25 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish themed B&B in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A cooler is available upon request along with a dvd player free of charge. Our bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! The master brewer of Guinness from St. James' Gate in Dublin recently stayed at our inn and gave us the distinct honor of the best Guinness in the city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.