We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, breakfast & quirky room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milwaukee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Save Saved
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Owensville, Missouri
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location, breakfast & quirky room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location is great to walk to many interesting lakeshore sites. The special order omelets were excellent. You may have to look around a little for the oj & cream but it's there. This is a unique Inn that is reasonably priced at a good location. The bed was comfortable and the room nicely decorated. The open concept shower to the room was a bit unique. Make sure you are rooming with someone comfortable. The only down side was the noise that came in from the hall. There were signs posted in the hall for guests to be considerate and quiet but that didn't stop the couple that came in after midnight. The noise really traveled.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    72
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
147
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GREEN BAY
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Comfortable room located on the edge of downtown Milwaukee in the great near NE neighborhood. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bed comfortable although pillows were a little hard and flat. Beautiful pub serving great Irish drinks. Free parking and wi-fi, something you don't see in many of the downtown hotels.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This is the best place to stay if you want to get a true feel for Milwaukee locals. Great location (close to Brady Street) and has an amazing bar and restaurant that is full with locals., staff was friendly and helpful in recommending places to see and things to do. The price was reasonable and a perfect blend of a European guesthouse. Won't stay any other place now.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at CC this past weekend & it was great. A bit dated, but clean & had everything we needed. We asked for a refrig & one was waiting there. Small windowless bathroom with just the comode in a sep room. Whirlpool tub in the room which we did not use, & sep stand up shower in the room also. Privacy limited because of that, if that is an issue.Two pillows on bed with xtras in dresser but they were not too puffy. I know that sounds petty. Fairly quiet overall. Staff very nice & helpful.Cleaning ladies were everywhere & brought any xtras we needed. Never encountered a problem with the limited parking. Restaurant was great for dinner & our complimentary breakfast. Omelet station manned by two chefs so if there was a problem in the past it has been resolved. Nice walk to Brady St & anywhere else in the downtown area. Very reasonably priced. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our room (211) faced West in the middle of the building over the entrance to the building so we hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Three lady friends and I visited Milwaukee for the Brewers Mini-Marathon. We chose the County Clare based on TA reviews--and it was a wonderful choice! We stayed in a king suite that had a sofa bed and there was plenty of room for all of us and our things. The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Everything was super clean. I was impressed that liquid creamers were available for the in-room morning coffee! Wi-fi was free and that came in handy for keeping in touch with those back home. I'm always worried about bed comfort due to back issues, and I didn't have a bit of trouble.

We visited the bar/restaurant after our race and filled up on tasty Irish food/drink (Guinness!). The host was able to accommodate our group immediately even though we didn't have a reservation--I never saw anyone wait for long although the restaurant was crowded. Our waitress, Jenna, was adorable and helpful. We loved her suggestions.

We also visited the second morning for our complimentary breakfast that was also very tasty. The coffee was WONDERFUL (brewed in Wisconsin), some kind of fried potato cakes were worth the calories (a hint of onion), made-to-order omelets, irish soda bread, sausages, cereals, etc... Not a lot of choices, but very good.

It was great to not have to worry about parking--off-street parking was free. The location was within walking distance to the Art Museum and the shore. We had a storm the first morning and didn't manage to get up early enough the second, but the sunrise would be awesome over Lake Michigan just a short walk from the hotel. There was no fitness center, but many sidewalks plus the shoreline to walk or run along.

Feel free to send me any questions!

Room Tip: No noise from the bar/restaurant on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at the County Clare when we took our daughter to college. We were in a suite which as very comfortable and spacious. Our room was over the bar so on a busy weekend evening it could be noisy, but it wasn't a problem for us. All activity ended on Tuesday evening at 11 am. The room was cute with an old fashioned, country touch. We ate at the hotel restaurant and it was good, large portions and very Irish. The breakfast was very good, small number of choices but delicious made to order omelets. We plan to return in October to visit our daughter and will check out a standard room. County Clare was a far superior choice to the other standard hotels we tried in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Small Irish hotel, cooked to order breakfast included, large, spotlessly clean rooms with jacuzzis, wifi and comfortable furnishings. great location near Milwaukee Art museum, $100 a night, very reasonable, and free off street parking, charming cafe/bar on site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#26 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish themed B&B in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A cooler is available upon request along with a dvd player free of charge. Our bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! The master brewer of Guinness from St. James' Gate in Dublin recently stayed at our inn and gave us the distinct honor of the best Guinness in the city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.