We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“County Clare was a great idea !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milwaukee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Save Saved
You added County Clare Irish Inn and Pub to your Saves list
1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“County Clare was a great idea !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at CC this past weekend & it was great. A bit dated, but clean & had everything we needed. We asked for a refrig & one was waiting there. Small windowless bathroom with just the comode in a sep room. Whirlpool tub in the room which we did not use, & sep stand up shower in the room also. Privacy limited because of that, if that is an issue.Two pillows on bed with xtras in dresser but they were not too puffy. I know that sounds petty. Fairly quiet overall. Staff very nice & helpful.Cleaning ladies were everywhere & brought any xtras we needed. Never encountered a problem with the limited parking. Restaurant was great for dinner & our complimentary breakfast. Omelet station manned by two chefs so if there was a problem in the past it has been resolved. Nice walk to Brady St & anywhere else in the downtown area. Very reasonably priced. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our room (211) faced West in the middle of the building over the entrance to the building so we hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    77
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
154
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Three lady friends and I visited Milwaukee for the Brewers Mini-Marathon. We chose the County Clare based on TA reviews--and it was a wonderful choice! We stayed in a king suite that had a sofa bed and there was plenty of room for all of us and our things. The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Everything was super clean. I was impressed that liquid creamers were available for the in-room morning coffee! Wi-fi was free and that came in handy for keeping in touch with those back home. I'm always worried about bed comfort due to back issues, and I didn't have a bit of trouble.

We visited the bar/restaurant after our race and filled up on tasty Irish food/drink (Guinness!). The host was able to accommodate our group immediately even though we didn't have a reservation--I never saw anyone wait for long although the restaurant was crowded. Our waitress, Jenna, was adorable and helpful. We loved her suggestions.

We also visited the second morning for our complimentary breakfast that was also very tasty. The coffee was WONDERFUL (brewed in Wisconsin), some kind of fried potato cakes were worth the calories (a hint of onion), made-to-order omelets, irish soda bread, sausages, cereals, etc... Not a lot of choices, but very good.

It was great to not have to worry about parking--off-street parking was free. The location was within walking distance to the Art Museum and the shore. We had a storm the first morning and didn't manage to get up early enough the second, but the sunrise would be awesome over Lake Michigan just a short walk from the hotel. There was no fitness center, but many sidewalks plus the shoreline to walk or run along.

Feel free to send me any questions!

Room Tip: No noise from the bar/restaurant on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at the County Clare when we took our daughter to college. We were in a suite which as very comfortable and spacious. Our room was over the bar so on a busy weekend evening it could be noisy, but it wasn't a problem for us. All activity ended on Tuesday evening at 11 am. The room was cute with an old fashioned, country touch. We ate at the hotel restaurant and it was good, large portions and very Irish. The breakfast was very good, small number of choices but delicious made to order omelets. We plan to return in October to visit our daughter and will check out a standard room. County Clare was a far superior choice to the other standard hotels we tried in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Small Irish hotel, cooked to order breakfast included, large, spotlessly clean rooms with jacuzzis, wifi and comfortable furnishings. great location near Milwaukee Art museum, $100 a night, very reasonable, and free off street parking, charming cafe/bar on site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Loved staying at County Clare while in Milwaukee for Cardinals vs Brewers series. Close to everything we needed and great food in the Pub right downstairs. And omelets prepared every morning for the Guests! Theresa (waitress in Pub) was very friendly and quick to point out all her favorites and helped us plan our time in Milwaukee. Great little neighborhood with ample parking for Guests in the back.

Was originally concerned about noise from the Pub but it was very quiet and was never disturbed even though the Pub was open very late and our room was on a low floor.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful during our stay also. Offered us directions to good local restaurants for lunch and groceries. (Pub not open for lunch midweek or we would have stayed there for all our meals!)

I highly recommend this Inn for a nice place to stay while visiting Milwaukee. We are already planning our next trip to Milwaukee to visit family and we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our first visit to Milwaukee and we stayed one night at the County Clare. We bought a package - room, $40 toward our entrees, a bottle of champagne and breakfast for two for $149.00. I thought it was excellent value. We walked the Lakeside District shooting photos and returned to the outdoor patio for margueritas for dinner. We ate at the restaurant and the meal was fine. I had a chicken pot pie but it didn't come with anything else on the plate. I would have enjoyed a vegetable or salad. I wasn't aware it came with nothing. It was tasty though and the service was pleasant and efficient. Parking is limited but they have spots reserved for people staying overnight, which we appreciated. The inn is in a somewhat residential area so it was nice and quiet in the evening. The room was spacious, very clean with a nice big shower and comfy bed. I would recommend it. It is also very conveniently located if you need to take the ferry over to Muskegon, Michigan. It's only about a 10 minute drive to the ferry.

Room Tip: I think they're all good rooms. Even though ours fronted the street it was well soundproofed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed one night at the County Clare & I was pleased with the rooms & location of the Inn. We had a suite & my son stayed in a standard room. Both were nice. Breakfast was good with fresh omelets made to order, muffins, sweet breads, oranges, apples, sausage, potato patties, orange juice & toast. One thing to be aware off is they don't have pop or snack machines/ice machine. A tap beer & glass of sprite was $8 from the bar. I would certainly stay here again but would bring pop & snacks the next time. Property was clean & they did have live music on the Friday night we stayed. Staff members were helpful & pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish hotel in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East Side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A refrigerator is available upon request free of charge. The bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! Guinness Brewmaster, Fergal Murray recognizes County Clare for the best Guinness pint in Wisconsin! The highly acclaimed County Clare Pub and Restaurant celebrates the music, food, and drink of Ireland. The amiable staff is proud to present traditional Irish cuisine as well as contemporary American fare. Feast on such comfort food as shepherd's pie, grilled salmon, our signature Irish root soup, a meatloaf sandwich, or the popular Bloody Mary. County Clare also has an extensive vegetarian menu with vegan options of all your favorites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Clare Irish Inn and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.