We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3046 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53208   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Milwaukee B&B and Inns
IL
1 review
“Awesome!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

What an great place to stay! I will stay again!

Me and a good friend decided to stay a night and explore the granduer of this lovely mansion, as well as investigate some of the spooky stories we've read about the place. What character it has. The innkeeper was so friendly and an Amazing COOK! The food alone will keep you going back. You truely feel at home with the warm welcome, and even a table of wine is waiting for you. We were given a lovely tour of the home and we were even allowed to view the unoccupied rooms. What beautiful decorating! You truely feel like you're back in time. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from in the area as well. As far as investigating....I only heard a few creaks....nothing heart-stopping:) I will be returning to enjoy everything the place has to offer.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    3
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
33
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
eau claire wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

This is our second time at the mansion, and both times we have had very positive experiences. Our rooms have been clean, comfortable and quiet. We prefer staying here when we go to the Brewer games because it is so close. We can catch the bus right down the block. And downtown Milwaukee is just minutes away. There is off street parking ( a huge plus). I can't say enough about the delicious breakfasts we were served. The first morning we had blueberry french toast and the next morning wild rice quiche. All was presented very tastefully. We are planning our third stay this summer.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

If you have enjoyed the likes The Washington House Inn of Cedarburg, or The Rochester Inn of Sheboygan Falls, that is certainly not what you will find at the Brumder. While is does boast beautiful architecture, the mansion itself lacks in polish both inside and out. As previous reviews state, the neighborhood is questionable, as people roamed and slept on the street just 1 block away. Every room begs to be decluttered and dusted. The "modern amenities" escape me, as I have no idea what they could be referring to based upon our stay. The mansion was creepy and dark, not charming and welcoming. While the host was kind, she seemed very overwhelmed. I was not impressed with the breakfast or the presentation. Avoid this bed & breakfast and save your $200+.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunkermonkey60, Owner at Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
2015 - WE are disappointed that your stay wasn't what you had hoped for. We have been working hard to polish and improve Brumder Mansion, inside and out, since we first bought it back in January of 2008. We have purchased new art, new chairs, new lights, and have steadily improved the grounds around our property. We have been told that Brumder Mansion is warm and welcoming!

We know our neighbors, and they know us. Great people live in our neighborhood, and 98% are friendly and go about their business. The other 2% don't stay long, and are the kind that frequent any city anywhere. We haven't had any trouble. There is a strong police presence as well.

Rooms have been de-cluttered and are dusted thoroughly. Our routine is to have the room cleaned after use, and then have an experienced cleaner come mid week to go hunt the dust bunnies and do more deep cleaning. Victorian mansions draw in the dust quickly and we work hard to have a clean bed and breakfast.

We have made improvements to the air conditioning. There are side air conditioners in the Gold Suite, the George Suite, The Mariam, the Gyneth, one in the library, one on the central staircase, and two in the downstairs theatre.

Each room has a working electric or gas fireplace, a flat screen TV, robes, and 4 or our 5 guest suites have working whirlpools.

We offer wine, soft drinks, water, dessert; cake or cookies - for no charge. We have an extensive DVD collection, and some interesting material to read. WE have games like cribbage, and a really nice ivory antique Japanese chess set. If you book a room during one of our plays, productions, you can get one ticket free.

We and our friendly friendly staff strive to have a high class joint, and provide a lovely time for our guests. We don't offer gourmet breakfasts, but they are full and tasty ones.

Come by for a tour, and you can see for yourself all the improvements we have made in 7 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

After reading the previous negative comments, I wanted to write to voice my opinion. The mansion itself is not in a neighborhood you'd typically stroll in. However, in Milwaukee, that is "bed and breakfast district" with renovated Victorian Homes. There is off street parking so your vehicle is safe.

Our room was spectacular on the third floor with a lovely bathroom and large whirlpool tub with lights. (The two person shower was fabulous.) We requested breakfast at 9:00 a.m. in our room. At exactly 9, there was a light tap on the door. There was a nice basket of a hot, homemade breakfast with piping hot coffee.

I should mention that earlier that evening there was an event in the theater. However, it did not interfere with our stay and we never heard a thing.

This is one of the nicer B&B's I've stayed in and would recommend it anyone. Granted, the neighborhood could be better. However you are minutes from Downtown, Summerfest, and some very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

Stayed there in July, will never return! Definitely don't recommend this place, a real rip off with extremely unfriiendly staff. Breakfast really boring, chef should attend a cooking course first. Very unfriendly and impatient staff. Not worth all the money you pay there. How disappointing!

  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunkermonkey60, Owner at Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2015
We bought Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast in January of 2008, two years after you stayed here, and a lot has changed. It is unfortunate that you didn't enjoy your stay your first time, but hope you will come back and give us a try as Brumder Mansion is under different ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

We have stayed in B&B's throughout the US and found the warm and accomodating hospitality of the innkeeper to be among the very best.

The Innkeeper/Owner did everything to accomodate our needs and questions. She let us choose when we wanted breakfast up to 11am to accomodate late events at SummerFest and made whatever we wanted to eat. The presentation of the breakfast was lovely and the food very good.

She sat down with us and answered all questions about the Inn, activities, and restaurants.

In fact her boyfriend took time out from his breakfast to get us directions to the airport so we could avoid the July 4th traffic.

The Inn is beautifully appointed with interesting antiques and decorated with a great sense of design.

The only reason we didn't rate this as excellent is that the neighborhood is somewhat marginal and not conducive to walking around. But a few blocks away by car are the botanical gardens and a park where you can walk. Museums and the lake front are just a 10-15 minute drive.

We highly recommend the Brumder Mansion and will stay here again when we are in town.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

We went online to their website, very easy to use, and booked our reservation over a month in advance. After flying from San Francisco, to Chicago, to Wisconsin for a funeral, we felt the night before going back home, a nice B&B would be relaxing. At 5:00 PM the EVENING of our stay, we saw a 414 area code number on our cell phone. NO Message left, we call and find out from the Owner "Hey if you guys dont mind, I have a play tonight and we need your suite between 8-8:30 PM AND again between 10 and 10:30 PM if that is ok. I politely and very nicely said, that isn't going to happen we are tired and do you have another room? Having customers in our suite, which by the way is over 200.00 a night, once for say 30 minutes is one thing but again at 10PM> Come on. And to tell us at 5PM the night we are to arrive, "Oh sorry this was not expected" is nonsense. So rather than leave a voice mail on our phone the Owner was going to wait for us to drive our 2.5 hours to Milwaukee and break the news? So to top it off, the Owner tries to help and says "I have friends at a B&B just a few blocks down that is JUST as nice, and they will do for 150.00". We are assured this is a great place but we are a bit skeptical when the Owner says "Now it may not look like much when you get there but it is gorgeous inside'. So on the way there we call the Owners of the OTHER B&B and they give us directions and are very gracious. The kicker is?? Once we arrive this neighborhood is one of THE WORST impoverished Milwaukee inter-city locales you can have. 35th and Highland folks is not where B&B and casual tourist belong at 8:30 at night. We are not shy wall flowers,travelled in many places, good and bad, but when you see people roaming streets in gang clothing and local Milwaukee cops, busting people less than 100 yards from this "Other great B&B" we were conned. We immediately cancelled , went to the Hilton on Wisconsin avenue, a grand old building and were well treated. In fact the front desk clerk,. after hearing our run around in B&B Hell, gave us a junior suite and the Milwaukee Chophouse, gave us a free dessert as well. Everyone at the Hilton laughed and shook their head when we mentioned the address of the "Other B&B" . We choose not to mention the "Other place" as it is no fault of their own. And if we were not so tired and worn out from hours of driving after a funeral, we would have been at Brumder' doorstep chatting about this total disregard for paying customers.

Brumder, it is cute and quaint you have a playhouse, but if you are going to take a reservation, nearly 4.5 weeks in ADVANCE, DO NOT, call someone, not leave a message and then decide "Well gee I have an impromptu play, you will have to make way". Either be a play house or a B&B you cannot have it both ways and ask for 200.00 plus a night!! Oh and the Brumder telling us "The other B&B is just a few blocks away, try across the Wisconsin Avenue bridge, about 2 miles away and worlds away in terms of neighborhoods. Nice try.

That folks is covering your tracks and false advertising in one fell swoop. I assure you, we will never, attempt to stay at Brumder Mansion again. BUYER BEWARE!!!!! . A complete waste of an evening.

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunkermonkey60, Owner at Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 16, 2015
I am sorry about your unfortunate experience at staying at Brumder Mansion back in 2005, under the old owners. We are the new owners of Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast, since January of 2008. We have made many improvements in the 7 years we have owned this fabulous mansion and offer a delightful experience to our guests. Do hope you will consider giving Brumder Mansion another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3046 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53208
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast is a romantic, 1910 Victorian, Arts and Crafts mansion that offers beautiful common rooms full of antiques, old world charm, and the original craftsmanship and artistic treasures that were lovingly built into this warm, relaxing place so long ago. Our five guest rooms and suites also have antiques, and each has its own personality. All have their own bathrooms, and either an electric or gas fireplace. Four suites have both a whirlpool, and a lovely marble shower. All guest accommodations have access to robes, complementary water and drinks, cookies and desserts, wine, and hair dryers, ironing boards and irons. They all have flat screen televisions, DVD players, and access to a large selection in the Brumder Mansion dvd library located on the second floor. Brumder Mansion also has a theatre in its basement area, where guests can buy a ticket and enjoy the play being presented on the Brumder stage. Check out Milwaukee Entertainment Group's website, linked on our website, for upcoming shows. The theatre area and the first floor rooms can also be rented for events, and meetings. Weddings and receptions have also taken place here. We also offer a full, delicious breakfast, with coffee or tea, made by our chef. Come and enjoy a stay in Brumder Mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brumder Mansion Hotel Milwaukee
Brumder Mansion b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.