We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast
3046 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53208   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Milwaukee B&B and Inns
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very pleasent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed there for a Murder Mystery dinner play and enjoyed it. We were greeted and checked in quickly. (Sorry I can't remember her name). She asked when we would like breakfast served and when we said we would not be able to make breakfast at the time that was offered on the weekends, she said we would be able to eat earlier so we could get on the road and head home. However the information on the time was never passed onto the morning and they we not ready for us. She did offer us some toast and coffee though.
After getting checked in we were walked up to our room and shown how to use the whirlpool, fireplace and given the excess codes for the free wireless.
The dinner part of the murder mystery was more like appetizers, but still very good. Free drinks (both alcohol and non-alcohol) were good. The show itself was very nice and the theater in the basement of the mansion was surprisingly roomy. After the show we had dessert and drinks and were able to hang out with the actors, who were all very nice and excepting of us and other guests.
The parking lot is down a couple of houses and across the street is not very big with very limited spaces. Our room was facing the busy road of Wisconsin Ave. and was a little noisy with the constant sound of vehicles driving by. I would suggest a room not on the main roadway.
We will most likely return in the future. Everybody we had contact with was very friendly and made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street may be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    9
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattoon, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast. We were greeted by the Inn Keeper and given a tour of the mansion. The eloquent decorating with antiques and hardwood floors gave this bed and breakfast character like no other I have ever been in. I would highly recommend this experience and will probably go back if we visit Milwaukee again. The mystery dinner theater is "a must" also. Everyone meets in the parlor and then go to different parts of the house as the mystery unravels. It was so much fun! It's in a nice neighborhood. Parking was not a problem at all. Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room. The first morning we were served apple pancakes and they were delicious. The second morning we were served omelets and they were also very tasty. Our room was "Emma's room". We not only had a large walk in shower all encased in granite, but also had a huge whirlpool tub as well. Complete with candles and a fireplace. Beautiful antiques all over the room. My advice to anyone is to stay here. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Our main reason for going to Milwaukee was to attend a concert at Summerfest. While here, we wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was our first time here and our hostess Tanja was fantastic - she made us feel so welcome! We stayed in the George Suite and it was huge and beautiful and felt like stepping back in time. Breakfast was delicious and they include complimentary beverages (including wine and beer) to enjoy during your stay. Since this is in the heart of the city you do get alot of street noise, but this feels like an oasis in the middle of it all. Parking is about 1/2 block away so best if you pack light. We were not aware they host many wonderful events - murder mysteries, poetry readings, etc so would be great to plan around one of those. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

As our 12th anniversary approaches, it brings me to remember 7/1/12 when we married. We spent that night at the Brumder Mansion. I still remember how well decorated the first floor was and how delicious the breakfast was. Our room was well decorated and made for a memorable trip. I guess that's why I'm writing this positive review and why we're contemplating a trip back to Milwaukee and staying at the Brumder Mansion, if we do go. We've stayed at several B&Bs over the years and this is the one that I compare all the others to. This place is top notch and in the city with the greatest restaurants!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at the historic Brumder Mansion on Friday June 8th and had a wonderful overnight stay. I had rented out all 6 guest rooms for a surprise 35th birthday party for my wife. Tanja could not have been more accomodating in helping make this a special evening. We had a small reception set up in the George suite for a group of 15. Each room was charming and comfortable. Tanja provided a delicious breakfast the morning after. Plenty of parking was available both in a lot across 31st street and on 31st street itself. It was a special evening.

Room Tip: Stay in the Gyneth suite for a romantic night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Brumder Mansion this past weekend to celebrate our first anniversary. This was our first experience at a B&B, and we could not be happier. The Brumder was clean, welcoming, centrally located, and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We were in the Gwyneth suite. It is very roomy yet intimate and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My hubby and I stayed here last nite and loved it! We were greeted warmly and shown around. We booked last minute and had the smallest room, and it was still very spacious. We were shocked at all that was included in the very reasonable price. We had wine and snacks last nite, and a wonderful breakfast (stuffed french toast, bacon, fruit, coffee and juice) this morning. There was a fridge with soda, beer, wine and water at our disposal. The house was clean, charming, and full of wonderful antiques. The neighborhood is not perfect but is fine, a mix of historic homes, churches, and apt buildings. Downtown Milwaukee with tons of great restaurants, sports, museums, and theaters is very close by! We are going to go back for a Murder Mystery and get George's suite - it is beautiful!

Room Tip: Only saw 2 rooms, we were in the blue room, spacious w a fireplace, and a private bath down the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3046 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53208
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brumder Mansion b&b
Brumder Mansion Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.