We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice renovation in older building, guest satisfaction could be improved.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 N. Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly The Inn Towne Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Sandy, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice renovation in older building, guest satisfaction could be improved.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I selected this hotel for its location to the convention center, and good rates. Im a Marriott traveler and stay frequently in Fairfield Inn properties. This hotel looks great with the new renovation. Its in a historic building, and the design is pretty cool.
Upon check-in, they immediately told me they had oversold the suites, and asked that I move to a King room. I was slightly disappointed as the suite is one of the reasons I picked this property over the Hyatt and Hilton. They also did not offer me points or anything for the downgrade, although I did not expect or ask for them. I tend to take the nice approach in these situations, rather than making a big deal in the lobby about it. It would have been a nice touch though. I've been pretty happy otherwise, and would be happy to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are on the small side. Try to get a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
34
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel with a good spread for breakfast and easy walking to all of downtown area. Rooms are good size and most importantly clean! I found all of the staff to be quite accommodating. Parking is close and only $15 per night.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was most important to us for our visit to Milwaukee, but the hotel was nice enough to hold its own. We had a suite, which was plenty of room for us. It was nice and clean.

The Wi-Fi was good. The free breakfast was typical fare, but good enough for us.

Weight room had a couple treadmills, a couple Stairmasters, and then two benches and dumbbells. That was about it.

Staff was friendly.

The only down side was that the windows were pretty thin, and you could hear the busses rolling up and down Wisconsin street all night. But if this is typical of an older hotel in an urban setting. I would still recommend this hotel to anyone that asked.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really like what they did with this property. Our room was a corner room and a little small, but it's an older downtown hotel so not too surprised by the size. Fairfield has done a great job with the renovation. Water pressure in the shower was great, even on the 8th floor. The place was very clean and modern. The price was right even on Marriott's own site. Parking was 2 blocks away but was fine! Overall we were very happy with the place. We had an issue with late night door slamming, like after 230 am. Late night but not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was looking for a place within walking distance of the Bradley Center and this seemed to fit the bill. We arrived early and there were no rooms ready, so they held our luggage as we waited for friends to pick us up. Before our friends arrived, they got a room ready for us and we were able to check-in. The room was great, wifi convenient, wonderful breakfast, everyone was friendly. The bathroom was a tad small, but overall, it was a comfortable stay. We paid for the self-park, which worked well and seemed secure. And, we had no trouble walking to the Bradley Center and back after the game. There are restaurants and stores nearby....sadly we only got to stay one night, so didn't get to completely enjoy the area. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Went to Milwaukee to see an NBA game. The downtown Fairfield Inn & Suites was a great choice. The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The AAA rate was very reasonable and it included breakfast. It was a short walk to the arena to watch the Bucks play, which saved us on parking and dealing with traffic before/after the game. It was also a nice stroll to the Riverwalk and the Lakefront. All in all a very good choice.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

First, this gem is staying on my list as far as where to stay in Milwaukee. First reason--location, location, location! It is 3 blocks from Amtrak, which stops at Milwaukee's General Mitchell Airport, and is across the street from the Grand Avenue Shopping Center and Walgreens. Within a half mile is Bradley Center, Wisconsin Center and U.S. Cellular Arena. Second, accomodations: The hotel has an inviting lobby with couches to sit on where people often just sit and talk, and the breakfast area is also there, but looks just as inviting during non-breakfast hours. One thing I absolutely loved was this mini-pantry of sorts by the front desk that held food, snacks, wine, beer, and meds to ensure your comfort. Stores close at 5 or 6, so that can be a godsend, and all you have to do is charge your purchases to your room or pay at the front desk. All the staff I met was upbeat--either they smiled or had that personable look about them. I heard some say the rooms were small, but I was alright with the size because my king size bed was comfortable, the bathroom was very clean (two very crucial things for me) and I had a two tiered desk that enabled me to work well within the space. I also enjoyed the huge 42" flat screen, which seemed a bit big for the room, but also gave that home theater quality. I always try to find "my hotel" in each city I visit, and I have to admit, this one is a great find and one I'd stay at again.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor corner, and I liked the huge windows and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 710 N. Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly The Inn Towne Hotel)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening May 2013. Situated in the historic Straus Building in the heart of downtown Milwaukee, the NEW Fairfield Inn & Suites invites you to relax in our comfortable guest rooms or socialize in our urban public spaces! Just steps from the critically acclaimed restaurant scene, famed Milwaukee Art Museum, BMO/Harris Bradley Center, vibrant theater district and major corporations, this hotel is adorned with contemporary accommodations and a stylish urban warehouse lobby reminiscent of Milwaukee’s yesteryear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Towne
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.