We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the building!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 N. Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly The Inn Towne Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love the building!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

When people say "newly renovated" I'm never sure if I'm getting new paint and a retro-fitted tub or a quality renovation. Happily, this hotel must have been gutted because everything including the bathroom tile and tub looks brand new. The building was an old office building and is very small but also extremely nice, modern and frankly very inexpensive. Even though the rooms are small they are uncluttered and the furniture manages to have lots of convenient storage cubbies and workspace without getting in the way. nicely done, Marriott. Love the old mail chute and ceiling at the elevator bank too, adorable. Beds extremely comfy. Heat a little noisy but typical for most hotels in my opinion.

Room Tip: Corner rooms provide more windows and better views. Windows are very large. There seem to be plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony p, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear tlatte,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our property and we look forward to having you visit our property in the future.

Best regards,
Anthony Pittman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
26
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Arrived after a concert at the Bradley Center, around 11, with my 13 year old daughter. Upon check in, was told Valet service was done for the night, so I had to leave my daughter with the luggage and park in a ramp down the block, alone, and walk back. Not cool.

Finally got to bed, and about 2:15 a.m. the fire alarm goes off. We jumped out of bed, down 10 flights of stairs into the lobby. Talking with other guests who said this wasn't the first time even TODAY that the alarms had gone off and the fire department had shown up. One guest said it had been going on while she checked in. Another family who had been staying there for 2 days said this was the FOURTH time since they had checked in. Milwaukee Fire Department response time was impressive, and we were released to go back to our rooms about 1/2 hour later. We got up to our room, fire alarm strobe light in our room was still going off. And continued to flash for another 1/2 hour. Then when they figured that out, the fire alarm beeping in our room continued for another 1/2 hour. I called down to the front desk and the desk clerk said he was "working on it", so I'm not sure if it was a matter of his not having the proper knowledge to shut it off or what the deal was. I would have liked one of the managers to get out of his/her bed and come attend to this, as none of us in the hotel were getting any sleep, why should s/he? I had to be up before 7 a.m. for a 3 hour drive back home on next to zero sleep.

The next morning, I saw the manager and asked to have the Marriott rewards points put back on to our account. Not sure how long that will take, but it had best be a full refund,

On the plus side, the beds were some of the best I've slept in in any hotel. And the room/hotel was clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony p, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear MamaparrotHead,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Anthony Pittman
Front Office Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
anthony.pittman@marriott.com
414.224.8400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed overnight for a concert. This Fairfield is conveniently located close to shopping (across from the Grand Avenue Mall) and just a couple of blocks from the BMO Harris Bradley Center. Had a very good morning breakfast! Nice selection of food and beverages.

Don't waste your money on valet parking. There is a parking ramp kitty corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the top floor to cut down on foot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony p, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Mitchell M,

Our team is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our property. We truly value your business and hope you choose to visit our property again.

Thank you,

Anthony Pittman
Front Office Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Milwaukee, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have stayed here a few times since they opened about a year ago. This is more like a New York Boutique Hotel. Very Clean and Modern, not to mention the free breakfast for the price you can't get a better deal. As for the service it's great. I have to mention June at the front desk, who is always welcoming and accommodating.
She is always willing to help with making your stay comfortable. I will continue to keep coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony p, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear OneSwtP,

Our hotel would like to thank you for such great feedback, and would also like to thank you for your business it's greatly appreciated. I will share your feedback with June who does a great job with making our guests feel right at home. Please feel free to contact me or June the next time you are in the area. We will always do everything within our power to accommodate you.

Thank you,
Anthony Pittman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites downtown Milwaukee this past weekend when we attended a concert at the Potawatomi Bingo Casino. The hotel staff was attentive and very friendly from the moment we walked in the door until we departed. We drove in from Saint Louis in horrible weather and appreciated the valet parking. Check in was quick, and our room was what we expect from Marriott properties. Clean, comfortable, fresh, and convenient. We very much appreciated the shuttle service to the casino also. Breakfast was filling, and got us on the road to Chicago for our next Marriott and concert destination. We will definitely stay at this property again if the music draws us back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor, furthest from the elevator and we never heard a sound outside of our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony p, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Julie S,

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to our property. Our team members take great pride in making sure every guest feels right at home from the beginning to the end of their stay. The next time you are in Milwaukee and need hotel accommodations please feel free contact me at 414.224.8400

Warm regards,
Anthony Pittman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

A quick weekend trip to Milwaukee. Staying at the Fairfield Inn and Suites as a Marriott rewards member gave us the opportunity to be within walking distance of many of the interesting sights of the city, e.g. the Milwaukee Public Market and the shops in the 3rd Ward.
The hotel, newly renovated was very pleasant and the staff most congenial, helpful and professional. The breakfast buffet was especially full of many selections and very good.
I highly recommend this hotel as I do for so many in the Marriott name!

Room Tip: Select a room, if possible, on the entrance side, not Wisconsin St as the bus nose can be heard earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony p, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Jack1511,

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our property. Thanks for your feedback and I will be sure to share your experience with my team members. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Sincerely.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

As a gold Marriott rewards member I have stayed at practically every brand of Marriott so when I booked the fairfield I did not have high expectations that it would be like staying at a high brand. I was very pleasantly surprised as the hotel was recently renovated, the staff was extremely helpful especially June and Amanda,and friendly. We encountered a problem with our TV that HBO did not work. Someone was sent up and when it turned out it wouldn't be fixed they offered to change our room. At first I said no but then when we heard so much noise from the room that was adjoining we decided to change our room. Amanda and June handled our change of rooms and after we were moved to a room on the 8th floor that was not adjoining we were fine. We were also pleased by the breakfast. The location was also very good. Milwaukee has a very good bus system and we were able to take a bus to the Pabst Mansion and the Milwaukee Art Museum. As seniors we were able to get a reduced fare by showing our medicare card. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Probably higher floor and not one that is adjoining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony p, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Maxine3618,

We truly appreciate your comments, and apologize for the issue that you encountered with the HBO channel. I have shared your comments with our team members, and we want to thank you for staying with us.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 710 N. Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly The Inn Towne Hotel)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening May 2013. Situated in the historic Straus Building in the heart of downtown Milwaukee, the NEW Fairfield Inn & Suites invites you to relax in our comfortable guest rooms or socialize in our urban public spaces! Just steps from the critically acclaimed restaurant scene, famed Milwaukee Art Museum, BMO/Harris Bradley Center, vibrant theater district and major corporations, this hotel is adorned with contemporary accommodations and a stylish urban warehouse lobby reminiscent of Milwaukee’s yesteryear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Towne
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.