We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomodations & great location....will be back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 N. Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly The Inn Towne Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Good accomodations & great location....will be back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Marriott took a very old historic hotel in Milwaukee, kept elements of the former building, added a "hip" vibe and reopened it around March 2013. Had a 2 queen bed corner room with windows facing both ways on a top floor and was able to see July 4th fireworks from about 12 locations around Milwaukee, Very nice. This is a great location on Old World 3rd St. with restaurants, piano bar, riverwalk, Summerfest grounds, museums, theaters, 3rd Ward District, shops etc. all walkable. Being new the furnishings and bedding were fantastic. Self parking is on a surface lot just 2 buildings down and it is 24 hour monitored. You can park in front of the building to load and unload. The breakfast is quite good, but it will close by 9 am even on holidays and weekends. This results in loads of people bunching up in the dining area about 8:40. I'm not sure why they don't extend the dining to 9:30 or 10 am as most other hotel's do??? The only reason I'm not giving a 5 star is because I felt the evening security level should be a little tighter in an urban setting. Let me be clear in that I felt very safe walking the area at night, lots of other people around etc. That being said I do think there should be key access into the hotel after 10 pm, or at least the elevators to the floors should require keys after that hour. I came and went at midnight and 1 am without any required additional security check. There was no security guard around either, just the woman at the front desk. As I said, I was never really concerned in the building or on the street about my safety, but I do think urban hotels should control who is getting onto the floors after a certain time in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
30
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed 2 night for a trip to Summerfest and a Brewers game. Great location for both events. Free shuttle available within 3 blocks of hotel which ran all day and night about very 20-30 minutes. A very short drive to Miller Park too. We walked along Waters Street to the Third Ward District and had lunch at The Wicked Hop. Best Bloody Mary's Cool shopping in this area. Hotel is across the street from the mall and many other great bars and restaurants. This hotel is brand new so it's stylish with a good workout room. The only bummer is there is no pool. Kids love hotel pools so we may not return again only because of that. The staff was friendly and the free breakfast was the standard stuff but the fruit was very fresh and everything was stocked as soon as it was low. Nice sheets and pillows.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here last week during Summerfest. The hotel was nicer than expected and looks to have been recently rehabbed. Location seemed pretty decent, we could walk to the Summerfest grounds. Area seemed a little shady late night, but that goes anywhere. Room was very clean albeit quite small, nice Paul Mitchell toiletries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This cool new Fairfield Inn in a historic downtown building has a comfortable industrial feel which is appropriate for Milwaukee. Rooms are not large but our King was very comfortable for our three-night stay. Staff at front desk is professional, friendly and helpful. The girl at check in cheerfully escorted us to several other options when we were not thrilled with our initial room assignment. The free hot breakfast buffet exceeded expectations even for Platinum Marriott customer. Self parking is at a secure attended surface lot at the end of the block--no worries.

The location is very convenient for convention center and Bradley Center events. There is a food court across the street on third floor of Grand Avenue which bustles at lunch time. That and Boston Store are some of the few remaining bright spots in this formerly vibrant urban mall . Plenty of good restaurants abound in the city. It is about a mile to the lakefront museums and festival grounds and less to Third Ward--very walk-able in season.

Room Tip: Corner rooms ending in 08 are bright if you prefer two beds. Suites are not ideally located in dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites for a girls weekend June 21-23. The hotel is very nice and new. Parking was easy. Just down the block. Breakfast was good and had a lot of choices. The room was very nice with large windows and comfy beds. We were worried being located directly across from the elevator but we never heard a thing. The only issue I can think of is that we had a handicapped accessible room and after the second shower the bathroom was slightly flooded. Not a big deal but if you have things on the floor they may get wet. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This Fairfield Inn was very convenient for us while we were exhibitors at a show at the Delta Center a block away. There seem to be lots of meal options for lunch and dinner nearby, and it's great that a hot breakfast buffet was included in our room rate.

The desk staff was very friendly, cheerful, and helpful. That really made the stay even more enjoyable. Check-in and check-out were fast. Parking ($15 a day for non-valet) was nearby, and we had in-and-out privileges. The room and bathroom were clean.

I don't know how other bigger rooms were outfitted, but our one-queen-bed room was tiny, and drawer space was very limited. Our respective night stands were our dressers, and they were just too inefficient. This is the only complaint I have with the property. We'll probably be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 710 N. Old World Third Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly The Inn Towne Hotel)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#19 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening May 2013. Situated in the historic Straus Building in the heart of downtown Milwaukee, the NEW Fairfield Inn & Suites invites you to relax in our comfortable guest rooms or socialize in our urban public spaces! Just steps from the critically acclaimed restaurant scene, famed Milwaukee Art Museum, BMO/Harris Bradley Center, vibrant theater district and major corporations, this hotel is adorned with contemporary accommodations and a stylish urban warehouse lobby reminiscent of Milwaukee’s yesteryear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Towne
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.