We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport, but more about families.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr. to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5105 S Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207-6109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
McPherson, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Close to the airport, but more about families.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It's location adjacent to the airport makes it tempting for business travelers, but travelling families are the ones who would really thrive here. When we arrived (for business) the desk staff was friendly and helpful, our rooms were ready, and employees we saw around the hotel offered friendly greetings. The rooms are very respectable, mid-level, clean rooms, that come with a microwave and refrigerator, which would be good for parents with small children. On the other hand, there is also a safe, so maybe this is just a hotel with a lot to offer inside the rooms.There were not enough outlets available in the room, however, so I wound up sliding the bed away from the wall to plug my computer in. The bed itself was clean and comfortable.

The hotel offers free breakfast in the restaurant for guests, but don't get too exciting. It is the standard self-serve hot breakfast bar you see at many hotels, with the waffle machine, the toaster, the scrambled eggs and the coffee in the paper cups. It is a bonus, but not at the level of a free restaurant breakfast.

The pool area is a dream for kids. Indoor, big enough to play in, it cinludes a hot tub and a video game area. During our stay there were always a group of kids in the pool, and it was fun to watch them play and horse around.

The fitness room, on the other hand, was lame, consisting of the three standard cardio machines and a functional yet not versatile or comfortable universal weights station. This is such an important aspect of business travel that I am continually surprised to find inadequate exercise facilities at mid-level hotels.

The bar/restaurant was decent, and given the lack of good restaurants near the airport I would recommend eating in most of the time. Try the rueben.

Overall, this was a perfectly good place to stay, with clean rooms, friendly staff and solid amenities. I just wish I had brought my family.

Room Tip: If you have kids stay in the pool area. Otherwise, the rooms in the 240's are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BikeTripIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestwesternPLUS, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr., responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the diverse amenities available at our property. Though we definitely admit to being a great family hotel, we also strive to cater to the business traveller with the amenities you mentioned as well as free high-speed wireless internet throughout the building, a 24 hour business center, fax and copy services, diverse meeting spaces, from our conference suites to the Mitchell Ballroom, and late night food and drinks available in the the Aviator until at least midnight daily. Thank you for your feedback regarding the fitness center. We will definitely take a look at our current offerings and work toward better offerings for the business traveler. We've also been considering an adult swim for the last hour of the pool and whirlpool area which I would hope could offer a chance for business travelers to unwind after a long day. Stay tuned! We hope you return soon, for business or family travel. Either way we would love to have you back and always remain thankful for the feedback.

Sincerely,
Chad A. Johnson
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a little out of the way from downtown. But very close to the airport if you are passing through. Breakfast is provided and there is a good variety. Rooms are comfy and most have mini fridge, microwave and tv. Pool is big, I just wish it was open 24/7.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondeItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestwesternPLUS, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr., responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you found comfort and enjoyed the wide ranging room amenities. While we are south of downtown we always love to expose our guests to the ease of leaving the car behind and catching the Green Line Express servicing MIlwaukee's best neighborhoods, from the airport, up and coming Bayview, the Historic Third Ward, central business district and the trendy Eastside. Everything Milwaukee has to offer is a quick ride and the best part, it's only $2.25 to ride. Ask for a transfer and enjoy city while avoiding the parking headaches. Thanks again for your review and we hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely,
Chad A. Johnson
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I conducted a 2-day training event at this property. The staff was very easy to work with and the meeting space (for the price) was very nice. After this event, I did schedule a follow-on event with this Conference Center. Noel was one of the hotel staff members that provided exceptional customer service. I would recommend this facility.

Room Tip: Really close to the Milwaukee Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestwesternPLUS, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr., responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our meeting space. We are glad you found yourself at ease while conducting your meeting and we are especially pleased to see Noel cited for the exceptional service she delivers. Although a recent addition to our team, Noel fits perfectly with our customer centric culture. She exemplifies true service and we thank you for taking the time to recognize her, we will surely do the same. I will be sure to pass along your kind feedback to our sales and catering team whom I am sure played an integral role in the successful execution of your training meeting. They are there to ensure you can focus on the task at hand without meeting space concerns. Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,
Chad A. Johnson
Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were in town for the Moose International Convention. When we arrived, we called for the shuttle. They told us he would be there in ten minutes. It was less than five minutes later when he pulled up. I picked this hotel primarily for the complimentary buffet breakfast; which, by the way, was OUTSTANDING and the on-site restaurants. We visited the Aviator a number of times. The food was great. Really love their Frozen Mudslides! Bridget was wonderful. Ralph made us feel like were the most important customers he had. I mistakenly put my toothpaste, hair mousse, etc., in my carryon. Ricco replaced some of the items from the desk and went out of his way, on his own time, to find some mousse for me. That is above and beyond! The entire staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was most comfortable. The only thing I found I didn't like was the location of the shower head, at the side of the tub instead of the end. My two friends, my husband and I had a wonderful stay. I would definitely go there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestwesternPLUS, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr., responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Cheryl,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Plus-Milwaukee Airport. We grew to adore the Moose organization and certainly came to know many wonderful members during your stay with us for your Moose International annual convention. I'm glad we were able to start off your stay with prompt shuttle service. We know your time is important so we don't want to make you wait around for a shuttle. Luckily our prompt staff and proximity to Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport helps ensure quick transit from the tarmac to our doorstep. Thank you for the glowing review of our free hot American buffet breakfast and the Aviator Sports Bar & Grille. Who wants just continental offerings when you can have bacon and eggs or biscuits and gravy in addition to all the traditional cold items? Most importantly I will make sure to pass along your thanks to Ricco, Bridget and Ralph for their outstanding service. After all the core of true hospitality is genuine customer service. We hope you return to Milwaukee again soon and definitely look forward to another Moose convention.

Sincerely,

Chad Allen Johnson
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for a quick overnight before an early morning flight. We checked in around 5pm. Check-in was smooth, the front desk was helpful and friendly. The pool was nice. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Shuttle service was fantastic! We were in the lobby at 4:30am the next morning and the shuttle left 5-10 minutes later. When we arrived back in Milwaukee I called for a shuttle and they were there within 5 minutes. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clmbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestwesternPLUS, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr., responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our Best Western Plus Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Center. It sounds like you took advantage of our popular Stay and Fly Package that include your nights stay, parking and two distinct breakfast options, sounds like you took advantage of the early bird grab and go option. Topped with prompt transportation to and from Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport makes this package the way to go. Next time consider booking a slightly later flight and you can take advantage of the free hot breakfast buffet in the Lake City Dinning Room. Plus, if you don't have to wake up for that 4:30am shuttle you can enjoy our deliciously crafted menu in the Aviator Sports Bar and Grille. Looking forward to your next trip and remember, book through our front desk or Bestwestern.com for the best stay and fly package rate.

Sincerely,
Chad Allen Johnson
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Me and my Husband just moved to Milwaukee and had missed the check in time for moving into our apartment. When we approached the front desk road weary and tired, Ricco Arenas was absolutely nothing but helpful, and smiling. He upgraded our room to a very spacious extended stay style space with a king bed and then followed up to see how we liked it.

In addition to his superb customer service, he was very knowledgeable about the local deals, and good places to eat.

The facilities were clean and well cared for, and we would recogmend this hotel to anyone we know. (The price was decent as well considering what we got, and the location.)

In addition to Ricco, his fellow staff in the morning were equally as friendly! It's great to know that this Best WEstern employs such great people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestwesternPLUS, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr., responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Best Western Plus Milwaukee Airport. I'm proud to read of the treatment you received as wayward travelers on your move to Milwaukee. Ricco is always there to welcome our guests and go above and beyond to make sure your stay at the hotel, and in MIlwaukee, is a memorable one. He embodies Best Western's I-Care philosophy. We will be sure to thank all our staff for their efforts to deliver superior service. It sounds like you enjoyed our executive suite with a living room and bar area that help ensure your comfort, especially during longer stays.

Thanks again for your delightful review and welcome to the MIlwaukee family.

Chad Allen Johnson
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have a GREAT Stay at this hotel for 6 days we were treated like royality by the staff. Erin at the front desk ans as our van driver went out of her way to help me, especially when I need to order flowers and she found the florist and accepted the delivery for me. Ralph and the other Lounge and resturant staff were so pleasent and helpful. Congrats to the staff for making us welcome and serving us well.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and there was very little outside and hallway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milwaukee
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Airport
Clarion Hotel Airport
#32 of 53 in Milwaukee
3.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#21 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.

Address: 5105 S Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207-6109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#25 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr. 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Milwaukee Airport Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Plus Milwaukee Airport Hotel Milwaukee
Best Western Airport Hotel
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing