We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are trying” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214-3414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“They are trying”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The bed was comfy and the TV nice. The air conditioner did not do the job and the room smelled musty, moldy. I think was due to AC. The room was small. Location good for access to VA. But hotel gave me the willys. They are remodeling but it is like putting lipstick on a pig. Won't stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay with us.
We are doing several renovations to the hotel and once everything is complete, the staff and I do hope that you will give us another chance to regain your confidence.
Thank you again for taking time to complete a guest review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    69
    54
    12
    10
See reviews for
52
51
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

10 minute walk to the ballpark and a few bars on the way, which is awesome. It's a roll of the dice on what you will pay for a room...there's no rhyme or reasoning to how they price. Sometimes it's $80 per night, other times it's $150. I would totally understand if the jacked up the prices for the weekends or if the Brewers were playing a big rival or a historically good team, but that's not the case. Recently renovated throughout, but nothing special...it needed it! So basically if you can get a room for a decent price, it's a perfect hotel for a game or two!

Room Tip: If you can get a decent price for a room with a whirlpool - do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay.
I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations but it is our hope that when more hotel renovations are complete, you will give another chance to regain your confidence.
We do appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel is nestled directly across the street on National Ave., from the VA Medical Center and VARO, little hard to spot when you are coming in. Property was clean and maintained, very friendly staff. Our room came with an iron, microwave, small fridge, hair dryer, free HBO, wi fi and was comfortable and clean.
Price was also decent. It is within walking distance to Miller Park, about a mile. Definitely found our spot for future games.
There is also a nice pool area, exercise room, and hot tub.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to complete a review on your stay on TripAdvisor.
We strive to provide the very best in guest service and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future (or the next Brewer game! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, NM
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I chose this property based on it's short walking distance to Miller Park for our family of six, including a toddler. For us, that was pretty much the only thing that turned out good. It is an old hotel, with some updates and I believe they're still in the process of updates-which would be a very good thing. Our room seemed to have been "updated" already, but the kitchenette was a throwback from the 1950's or 60's and ruined the whole idea of an update in my opinion. Overall the room was spacious and seemed clean when we arrived, but housekeeping left things like last night's pizza on the counter and half eaten pieces on plates, which I thought was odd. The ladies who worked the front desk during the day were awesome, but the man who came in at night was a bit rough around the edges. When a breaker was thrown on our floor he seemed angry and rude that he'd have to come up and fix it. He was bothered by another guest's question about where to park (parking is VERY SPARSE) and in a very rude tone told him to just park in the street. I always use Tripadvisor when making decisions on hotels and I knew that this place wouldn't be one that we'd normally stay at, but figured it would be fine for two nights and the walk to the game would make it worth it. In the end, I would've spent only game night there and moved us the next day. Our time there wasn't awful, but it's unlikely I'd make the same choice in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to complete a review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to read about the problems you encountered with Housekeeping and one of our Front Desk staff. These issues will definitely be looked into.
We strive to provide the very best in guest service and hotel cleanliness and I apologize we were not able to live up to your expectations!
It is my hope that you will give us another chance to regain your confidence if your travels bring you to Milwaukee again.
Thank you again for letting us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Woods View Inn is located in a mixed use residential neighborhood reminiscent of old Milwaukee yet close to downtown and the waterfront. Very courteous and efficient staff and great value! Room was clean and comfortable and the business center well-equipped and functioning. Everything is compact, yet there is ample space. Several dining establishments very nearby---would especially recommend Regel's Inn for traditional German cuisine in a cozy cottage-type setting. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. The staff strives to provide the very best in guest service and hotel cleanliness. It is our hope that you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Milwaukee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is older but has been very recently updated. We has two double beds and our room was tight. The parking was a bit tight. The rooms and pool were clean. The service was top notch. We were there for a convention at Miller Park. We could walk every day. The front desk ladies, Linda and Nicole were very friendly and accommodating. The free continental breakfast was good! Pancakes, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy! And Sue worked her tail off keeping up with all the guests! So thanks to Linda, Nicole and Sue!!! Overall it's a decent place to stay and would come again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review-The Management & staff greatly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoddard, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our preferred place to stay when coming to town for Brewer games. 15 minute walk to Miller Park. Updated rooms are nice and clean. Friendly staff...no issues. Front desk recommended a pizza delivery place and it was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking time to complete a review-The management & staff appreciates it!
Glad to read you enjoyed your pizza! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milwaukee
2.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn West Allis
Days Inn West Allis
#1 of 2 in West Allis
3.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Milwaukee
Days Inn & Suites Milwaukee
#39 of 52 in Milwaukee
3.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ramada Milwaukee Downtown
Ramada Milwaukee Downtown
#46 of 52 in Milwaukee
3.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
2.5 mi away
Potawatomi Hotel & Casino
Potawatomi Hotel & Casino
#34 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Suites Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn

Address: 5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Milwaukee has to offer - from Miller Park to the Milwaukee County Zoo - from this affordable and convenient hotel.Offering easy access to the I-94 and I-41, the BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn makes it easy to experience the area's most popular attractions. Miller Park, home of the Milwaukee Brewers and many other concerts and events throughout the year, is just a mile away. Other big-name events are held at the nearby State Fair Ground, and Milwaukee's famous annual music festival, Summerfest, is held each summer about five miles away. This Milwaukee hotel is also within minutes of some of the city's cultural attractions, like Miller Brewery and the Milwaukee County Zoo. We are a great choice for athletes in town for kickball, ice skating and hockey at the Pettit National Ice Center, and other sporting events.Corporate travelers appreciate that the BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn is conveniently located to businesses in the retail, medical and education sectors. The Mayfair, Southridge and Brookfield Malls are all within 15 minutes of the hotel, and the VA Hospital, Froedert Hospital and Medical College are just steps away. The University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee is less than ten miles away. Other local business draws include the Wisconsin Expo Center, PH Mining/Harnischfege, Siemens Power Corporation and Rockwell. This West Milwaukee hotel also offers a conference room perfect for corporate meetings or other events. This Best Western hotel in Milwaukee makes each guest feel at home with spacious guest rooms, featuring rooms with kitchenettes, Free Wi-Fi and cable television. Other convenient hotel amenities include a complimentary breakfast, onsite cocktail lounge, indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are proud to offer superior customer service and comfortable accommodations in west Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woods View Hotel Milwaukee
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.