We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Brewers game!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214-3414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great for a Brewers game!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We loved staying here for our annual jaunt to a Brewers game. They are still under renovations but they are doing a good job. Our room was modern and clean and perfect.

We do the trail to the game.

Food downstairs in the Grotto unfortunetly was reallly average. Sad to say.

They didn't have the shuttle to the game this year which bummed us out.

Front desk guys were nice and friendly. Was able to get my triple a discount.

Took in the Harley Davidson Museum prior to the game which was very cool.

We did the ihop for breakfast so I cannot comment on the breakfast this time but in the past it has been good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    72
    57
    17
    11
See reviews for
59
57
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Bend IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Though the hotel was under construction it still ranked average compared to others. For the price this was a great place to stay. Great staff free contenintial breakfast and wi-fi. Conviently located near the downtown area. This was a family retreat and we had a wonderful experience. I am sure once all the construction work is completed, people will really value this hotel that much more:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at hotel twice due to a relative in the hospital. Property is being revamped; however, was still clean and comfortable. Price is affordable and third generation owned which is great in this country to have property owned by an American. Lastly, it is located in a safe, clean, residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
273 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here to go to a Brewer game and it is within walking distance though it is still a hike to get to the park. We also went to the zoo from this location and they got us a cab and were overall very helpful.

The motel does seem to be dated in places and looks like its maintenance crew is more of patch it for now type of people.

Overall I thought we got great value staying here to go to a Brewer game even if the place has it flaws. It is almost always booked during baseball games and it was fun to chat with other fans.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Always perfect! Never a surprise!
Check-in was smooth, and the clerk was able to help us make our dinner reservations with excellent driving directions.
Maybe next time we will try a room with a whirlpool.
Or the pool. Or the restaurant. Always more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This BW hotel was awful - the bed linens felt scratchy, the linens and pillows were horribly soft and uncomfortable, and the carpet in the hall and room was filthy

Worst of all, they DEMAND to scan your driver's license into their system or they won't let you stay there. I don't know if that is legal or not. We arrived after 11 p.m., so we had no choice but to give in even though we protested. The front desk clerk refused to call the manager to tell him/her of our request not to relinquish our DL. The front desk clerk actually showed us copies of OTHER PEOPLE's scanned copies of their DL's (to prove he copied EVERYBODY's driver's licenses.) We could read everyone's names and DL # - what a breach of security.

I called Best Western main national customer service from the front desk and they said that is not their policy to scan/copy licenses, it is up to the individual franchise.

I have stayed at Hampton Inn, Quality Inn, La Quinta, Comfort Inn, Day's Inn, Clarion, and they have NEVER scanned/copied my license. At most they check it visually to ensure it is me, but my DL # is not forever in their computer system.

Best Western never told me on the phone when I made my reservation that giving them your DL to scan/copy was a requirement to stay there. If I had known that, I would never have booked a room there. In this day of security breaches. If you care about your security, do NOT stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had our annual Woods View Best Western stay last weekend. Some minor things have changed, but the place is much the same as it was in previous years. I won't go into why we were there for an annual stay.

It's hard to find a closer facility if you are in town for a Brewers game, or to participate in any event at State Fair Park. The location of Woods View is a natural for this.

Public areas and facility: This hotel has been around the block. public areas a bit worn. The biggest negative of the public areas during late fall / winter (when we had our stay) is the fact that the hotel boiler is on, and these spaces can be a bit warm.

Breakfast: Woodsview now has one of those waffle machines...........I don't care for them, and people without a clue tend to mess up as they don't follow the instructions. Really hard to get a waffle out of the machine if you forgot to flip it! They also had what my room mate alluded to being "tire patch eggs". I tried one our first morning at Woodsview and was not impressed. I'd rather have hard boiled eggs available. Really bad sweet roll pastries, but the muffins were a bit better. Cereals and yoghurt, bread, english muffins and toaster also available.

On site bar / restaurant: We tried to partake in this joint our first night, but couldn't get anyone to pay us any attention at our table. The action seems to be locals up at the bar. This place has menus, but we finally gave up and went elsewhere to find some food. I will say that this place seems to be run independently from Woodsview, and poorly at that. If I was the Best Western Corporation, I would not be happy about this.

Room: Our second floor room was clean and well kept, which is paramount to a good hotel stay. I cannot stress how wonderful our housekeeper kept our room. Very warm in the room upon first entrance, and we had no luck turning down the thermostat. However, the desk person suggested that we turn the through-wall airconditioner on, and this helped a lot. We were never able to get the temp in the room down lower than 72, but it was comfortable. Kudos to the maid for recognizing the heat in this room and letting our air conditioner run when we were gone for the day. The street noise in the room wasn't bad considering we were on the side of the building with a busy street outside, However, we did seem to have the Clampett family living above us on floor 3. I a swear they wore lead shoes.

Next year for the annual? Yup, we'll be back. Location, value, and good housekeeping will get us back to the Woodsview.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street...........3rd floor should be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milwaukee
2.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn West Allis
Days Inn West Allis
#1 of 2 in West Allis
3.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Milwaukee
Days Inn & Suites Milwaukee
#39 of 52 in Milwaukee
3.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ramada Milwaukee Downtown
Ramada Milwaukee Downtown
#47 of 52 in Milwaukee
3.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
2.5 mi away
Potawatomi Hotel & Casino
Potawatomi Hotel & Casino
#33 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn

Address: 5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Milwaukee has to offer - from Miller Park to the Milwaukee County Zoo - from this affordable and convenient hotel.Offering easy access to the I-94 and I-41, the BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn makes it easy to experience the area's most popular attractions. Miller Park, home of the Milwaukee Brewers and many other concerts and events throughout the year, is just a mile away. Other big-name events are held at the nearby State Fair Ground, and Milwaukee's famous annual music festival, Summerfest, is held each summer about five miles away. This Milwaukee hotel is also within minutes of some of the city's cultural attractions, like Miller Brewery and the Milwaukee County Zoo. We are a great choice for athletes in town for kickball, ice skating and hockey at the Pettit National Ice Center, and other sporting events.Corporate travelers appreciate that the BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn is conveniently located to businesses in the retail, medical and education sectors. The Mayfair, Southridge and Brookfield Malls are all within 15 minutes of the hotel, and the VA Hospital, Froedert Hospital and Medical College are just steps away. The University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee is less than ten miles away. Other local business draws include the Wisconsin Expo Center, PH Mining/Harnischfege, Siemens Power Corporation and Rockwell. This West Milwaukee hotel also offers a conference room perfect for corporate meetings or other events. This Best Western hotel in Milwaukee makes each guest feel at home with spacious guest rooms, featuring rooms with kitchenettes, Free Wi-Fi and cable television. Other convenient hotel amenities include a complimentary breakfast, onsite cocktail lounge, indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are proud to offer superior customer service and comfortable accommodations in west Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woods View Hotel Milwaukee
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.