We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our annual Woodsview stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214-3414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Saint Paul
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Our annual Woodsview stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had our annual Woods View Best Western stay last weekend. Some minor things have changed, but the place is much the same as it was in previous years. I won't go into why we were there for an annual stay.

It's hard to find a closer facility if you are in town for a Brewers game, or to participate in any event at State Fair Park. The location of Woods View is a natural for this.

Public areas and facility: This hotel has been around the block. public areas a bit worn. The biggest negative of the public areas during late fall / winter (when we had our stay) is the fact that the hotel boiler is on, and these spaces can be a bit warm.

Breakfast: Woodsview now has one of those waffle machines...........I don't care for them, and people without a clue tend to mess up as they don't follow the instructions. Really hard to get a waffle out of the machine if you forgot to flip it! They also had what my room mate alluded to being "tire patch eggs". I tried one our first morning at Woodsview and was not impressed. I'd rather have hard boiled eggs available. Really bad sweet roll pastries, but the muffins were a bit better. Cereals and yoghurt, bread, english muffins and toaster also available.

On site bar / restaurant: We tried to partake in this joint our first night, but couldn't get anyone to pay us any attention at our table. The action seems to be locals up at the bar. This place has menus, but we finally gave up and went elsewhere to find some food. I will say that this place seems to be run independently from Woodsview, and poorly at that. If I was the Best Western Corporation, I would not be happy about this.

Room: Our second floor room was clean and well kept, which is paramount to a good hotel stay. I cannot stress how wonderful our housekeeper kept our room. Very warm in the room upon first entrance, and we had no luck turning down the thermostat. However, the desk person suggested that we turn the through-wall airconditioner on, and this helped a lot. We were never able to get the temp in the room down lower than 72, but it was comfortable. Kudos to the maid for recognizing the heat in this room and letting our air conditioner run when we were gone for the day. The street noise in the room wasn't bad considering we were on the side of the building with a busy street outside, However, we did seem to have the Clampett family living above us on floor 3. I a swear they wore lead shoes.

Next year for the annual? Yup, we'll be back. Location, value, and good housekeeping will get us back to the Woodsview.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street...........3rd floor should be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    54
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
37
38
10
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a Best Western and lives up to its standards. The neighborhood may look a little scary, but the hotel is very nice. Rooms were nice and well decorated. Breakfast area was good and had a good selection. Very clean and staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Every September for the last Saturday and Sunday home games, friends of mine and I stay here and every year I am even more pleased. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are always clean (the housekeeping staff must take pride in their work). Breakfast is very basic, but enough to start your day.
The location is wonderful! Super close to Miller Park and easy on and off the highway.
The downstairs bar is pretty great too.

I look forward to next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here one night for a Brewers game. We ate at the restaurant that is attached to the hotel prior to the game, so we got a free van ride to and from the game. We walked to the game but did use the van on the way home, which was extremely convienent. The room was on the small side, seemed like a lot of furniture stuffed into a very small space. The carpet in the room was dirty, needed a deep cleaning or replaced. The elevator was SLOW, especially since we were on the third floor!! It was extremely overpriced for what we got, you are completely paying for the location!! Only one reason to return, another Brewers game.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsford, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I choose this hotel because it is close to the VA and I could walk there. I had a king bed room on the first floor. The bed was not very comfortable and when I did manage to fall asleep, some one would would jump around upstairs or a door would slam in the hallway. The floors are extremely squeaky above and the building shakes when someone slams the door. The carpet in the hallways was disgusting and the room carpet was not much better. The bathroom was as clean as it could be and the bed was made nicely. The breakfast was decent with waffles, eggs and cereal being offered. There is a nice little sports bar below the hotel with good burgers and friendly staff. There is adequate parking in the back. The desk staff are not the friendliest but better than others I suppose. Its close proximity to the VA and Miller Park give this place some value but it is less than special for sure. Luckily the Brewers were out of town as I heard it gets pretty roudy here during home games.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is older, but they keep it clean. The basement bar and restaurant are a nice touch, especially considering the neighborhood has little to offer. The food at the restaurant is OK - pretty good pizza. The free breakfast is meager, but better than nothing. The AC in the rooms is old and loud. The TVs in the rooms are circa 1995. Despite all these fair/poor qualities, I've stayed here about 6 times, and I plan to return. The reason: it's close to Miller Park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

As many other reviewers have stated, this hotel is located in a perfect spot in relation to Miller Park. We were able to check in early and park our car then we walked to the stadium which was about a 10-15 minute walk. We were aware of the shuttle but decided that we would walk instead. All of the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good. The room was very clean. The shower curtain was really short, though, and all of the water went on the floor. Not too important considering we were leaving but if we were to stay more than one night it might be a problem. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn

Address: 5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Milwaukee has to offer - from Miller Park to the Milwaukee County Zoo - from this affordable and convenient hotel.Offering easy access to the I-94 and I-41, the BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn makes it easy to experience the area's most popular attractions. Miller Park, home of the Milwaukee Brewers and many other concerts and events throughout the year, is just a mile away. Other big-name events are held at the nearby State Fair Ground, and Milwaukee's famous annual music festival, Summerfest, is held each summer about five miles away. This Milwaukee hotel is also within minutes of some of the city's cultural attractions, like Miller Brewery and the Milwaukee County Zoo. We are a great choice for athletes in town for kickball, ice skating and hockey at the Pettit National Ice Center, and other sporting events.Corporate travelers appreciate that the BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn is conveniently located to businesses in the retail, medical and education sectors. The Mayfair, Southridge and Brookfield Malls are all within 15 minutes of the hotel, and the VA Hospital, Froedert Hospital and Medical College are just steps away. The University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee is less than ten miles away. Other local business draws include the Wisconsin Expo Center, PH Mining/Harnischfege, Siemens Power Corporation and Rockwell. This West Milwaukee hotel also offers a conference room perfect for corporate meetings or other events. This Best Western hotel in Milwaukee makes each guest feel at home with spacious guest rooms, featuring rooms with kitchenettes, Free Wi-Fi and cable television. Other convenient hotel amenities include a complimentary breakfast, onsite cocktail lounge, indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are proud to offer superior customer service and comfortable accommodations in west Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woods View Hotel Milwaukee
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.