We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but perfect for Miller Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214-3414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #33 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but perfect for Miller Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here one night for a Brewers game. We ate at the restaurant that is attached to the hotel prior to the game, so we got a free van ride to and from the game. We walked to the game but did use the van on the way home, which was extremely convienent. The room was on the small side, seemed like a lot of furniture stuffed into a very small space. The carpet in the room was dirty, needed a deep cleaning or replaced. The elevator was SLOW, especially since we were on the third floor!! It was extremely overpriced for what we got, you are completely paying for the location!! Only one reason to return, another Brewers game.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
26
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I choose this hotel because it is close to the VA and I could walk there. I had a king bed room on the first floor. The bed was not very comfortable and when I did manage to fall asleep, some one would would jump around upstairs or a door would slam in the hallway. The floors are extremely squeaky above and the building shakes when someone slams the door. The carpet in the hallways was disgusting and the room carpet was not much better. The bathroom was as clean as it could be and the bed was made nicely. The breakfast was decent with waffles, eggs and cereal being offered. There is a nice little sports bar below the hotel with good burgers and friendly staff. There is adequate parking in the back. The desk staff are not the friendliest but better than others I suppose. Its close proximity to the VA and Miller Park give this place some value but it is less than special for sure. Luckily the Brewers were out of town as I heard it gets pretty roudy here during home games.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is older, but they keep it clean. The basement bar and restaurant are a nice touch, especially considering the neighborhood has little to offer. The food at the restaurant is OK - pretty good pizza. The free breakfast is meager, but better than nothing. The AC in the rooms is old and loud. The TVs in the rooms are circa 1995. Despite all these fair/poor qualities, I've stayed here about 6 times, and I plan to return. The reason: it's close to Miller Park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

As many other reviewers have stated, this hotel is located in a perfect spot in relation to Miller Park. We were able to check in early and park our car then we walked to the stadium which was about a 10-15 minute walk. We were aware of the shuttle but decided that we would walk instead. All of the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good. The room was very clean. The shower curtain was really short, though, and all of the water went on the floor. Not too important considering we were leaving but if we were to stay more than one night it might be a problem. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, WI 54829
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night while we went to a Brewer game - it was perfect for us. They let us check in early so we could park the car and change before walking to the game (about a mile away but could have taken the shuttle). As noted in other reviews, the hotel is older, but it was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was fantastic! The pool was also nice and clean. We didn't use the hot tub, so I can't comment on that. We'll definitely stay there again if we go to another Brewer game.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for four nights as a base in Milwaukee to visit various Harley Davidson sites, especially the HD museum.

Location wise the hotel is good for access to the city, Miller Park baseball field and the west side of the city. Mainly suburban area with a few restaurants and bars to walk to. Crawdaddy's Cajun restaurant is particularly good. On-site restaurant is more of a sports bar that happens to do food. The food is inexpensive but pretty good, especially the pizza. Nice friendly staff and the locals were equally friendly and gave lots of advice on the local area.

Hotel is on a busy road (West National Ave) with lots of noisy traffic and trucks from 0500hrs through to 0200hrs. Our room faced the road admittedly so asking for a rear facing room would make a big difference. The occupants of the hotel were also generally noisy and it could just be the layout that causes people to shout down the corridors to one another as they return to their rooms. Why do people do that ??? Rear facing rooms also seem to be more modern and have been updated from my sneaky peek as we walked down the corridor, which would be nicer.

Car parking is good and reception is quick and efficient. Never managed to eat breakfast in the hotel as the breakfast area is very small and it was always full. However we did find Miss Katie's Diner about 2 or 3 miles away which was brilliant (see separate review). Having found the diner I doubt if we would have used the free breakfast option in the hotel anyway.

Rooms are standard US motel size, beds were comfy and all was clean and acceptable. Slightly dated furnishing in Our room but perfectly fine overall. We were in Room 120 on the ground floor (even numbers face the road) and the guests upstairs could be heard every time they moved around as the floors creak quite a lot. Again it's the noise thing !

Air con works in the room but again is pretty noisy so leaving it on is not really an option if you want to sleep.

All in all this hotel does what is expected, nothing is fantastic but equally nothing is really bad. I live in a very quiet place so a noisy hotel next to a busy road is more noticeable for me. Others may not notice as much.

The test is always "would I return" ? Overall, the answer would be probably yes, but I'd ask for a room facing the car park.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We wanted to catch a day game at Miller Park and do a few other things around Milwaukee. We wanted to be centrally located, but we didn’t want to spend a fortune on a hotel room. We found the Best Western Woodsview Inn on National Avenue to fit the bill. Although the room was very small, it was clean and had a comfortable bed. The room included a free continental breakfast, which was quite extensive: hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, English muffins, sweet rolls and waffles. The breakfast was available in a cheery room off the main lobby. Even though most of the other guests were very messy when using this room, it was quickly cleaned by hotel employees. The hotel also included an indoor pool, hot tub and a small exercise room which we never had time to use. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was extremely quiet - no noise from the hallway or from neighboring rooms.

There was a bar/restaurant located in the same building as the hotel called Emilia’s Grotto/Mollica’s Pub. They offered free shuttles (2 drink minimum) to Miller Park. The people in the bar and the driver were polite and friendly. The driver dropped us off very near an entrance and picked us up exactly where he said he would when the game was over.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn

Address: 5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Milwaukee has to offer - from Miller Park to the Milwaukee County Zoo - from this affordable and convenient hotel.Offering easy access to the I-94 and I-41, the BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn makes it easy to experience the area's most popular attractions. Miller Park, home of the Milwaukee Brewers and many other concerts and events throughout the year, is just a mile away. Other big-name events are held at the nearby State Fair Ground, and Milwaukee's famous annual music festival, Summerfest, is held each summer about five miles away. This Milwaukee hotel is also within minutes of some of the city's cultural attractions, like Miller Brewery and the Milwaukee County Zoo. We are a great choice for athletes in town for kickball, ice skating and hockey at the Pettit National Ice Center, and other sporting events.Corporate travelers appreciate that the BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn is conveniently located to businesses in the retail, medical and education sectors. The Mayfair, Southridge and Brookfield Malls are all within 15 minutes of the hotel, and the VA Hospital, Froedert Hospital and Medical College are just steps away. The University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee is less than ten miles away. Other local business draws include the Wisconsin Expo Center, PH Mining/Harnischfege, Siemens Power Corporation and Rockwell. This West Milwaukee hotel also offers a conference room perfect for corporate meetings or other events. This Best Western hotel in Milwaukee makes each guest feel at home with spacious guest rooms, featuring rooms with kitchenettes, Free Wi-Fi and cable television. Other convenient hotel amenities include a complimentary breakfast, onsite cocktail lounge, indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are proud to offer superior customer service and comfortable accommodations in west Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woods View Hotel Milwaukee
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.