We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good if you don't mind the noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214-3414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #32 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Pretty good if you don't mind the noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for four nights as a base in Milwaukee to visit various Harley Davidson sites, especially the HD museum.

Location wise the hotel is good for access to the city, Miller Park baseball field and the west side of the city. Mainly suburban area with a few restaurants and bars to walk to. Crawdaddy's Cajun restaurant is particularly good. On-site restaurant is more of a sports bar that happens to do food. The food is inexpensive but pretty good, especially the pizza. Nice friendly staff and the locals were equally friendly and gave lots of advice on the local area.

Hotel is on a busy road (West National Ave) with lots of noisy traffic and trucks from 0500hrs through to 0200hrs. Our room faced the road admittedly so asking for a rear facing room would make a big difference. The occupants of the hotel were also generally noisy and it could just be the layout that causes people to shout down the corridors to one another as they return to their rooms. Why do people do that ??? Rear facing rooms also seem to be more modern and have been updated from my sneaky peek as we walked down the corridor, which would be nicer.

Car parking is good and reception is quick and efficient. Never managed to eat breakfast in the hotel as the breakfast area is very small and it was always full. However we did find Miss Katie's Diner about 2 or 3 miles away which was brilliant (see separate review). Having found the diner I doubt if we would have used the free breakfast option in the hotel anyway.

Rooms are standard US motel size, beds were comfy and all was clean and acceptable. Slightly dated furnishing in Our room but perfectly fine overall. We were in Room 120 on the ground floor (even numbers face the road) and the guests upstairs could be heard every time they moved around as the floors creak quite a lot. Again it's the noise thing !

Air con works in the room but again is pretty noisy so leaving it on is not really an option if you want to sleep.

All in all this hotel does what is expected, nothing is fantastic but equally nothing is really bad. I live in a very quiet place so a noisy hotel next to a busy road is more noticeable for me. Others may not notice as much.

The test is always "would I return" ? Overall, the answer would be probably yes, but I'd ask for a room facing the car park.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    37
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
30
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We wanted to catch a day game at Miller Park and do a few other things around Milwaukee. We wanted to be centrally located, but we didn’t want to spend a fortune on a hotel room. We found the Best Western Woodsview Inn on National Avenue to fit the bill. Although the room was very small, it was clean and had a comfortable bed. The room included a free continental breakfast, which was quite extensive: hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, English muffins, sweet rolls and waffles. The breakfast was available in a cheery room off the main lobby. Even though most of the other guests were very messy when using this room, it was quickly cleaned by hotel employees. The hotel also included an indoor pool, hot tub and a small exercise room which we never had time to use. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was extremely quiet - no noise from the hallway or from neighboring rooms.

There was a bar/restaurant located in the same building as the hotel called Emilia’s Grotto/Mollica’s Pub. They offered free shuttles (2 drink minimum) to Miller Park. The people in the bar and the driver were polite and friendly. The driver dropped us off very near an entrance and picked us up exactly where he said he would when the game was over.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, WI
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is an older hotel but it is clean and our 1st floor room was updated compared to other rooms I have stayed in at this hotel. They had a shuttle out of the downstairs restaurant that took you to and from the game which was really nice! The staff was really helpful and polite. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and the bar downstairs was nice to have as many bars and restaurants are further away. Love staying here for Brewers games!

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERYWHERE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Have stayed here a few times over the years as a place to stay/walk to a Brewers game. Parking is free to guests and they have a little map that you cut across the VA Hospital property to get to the park. It takes about 20 minutes to walk. Quicker than across the parking lot of the Park lol.

Rooms are a bit dated but very clean. Jason at the front desk is always friendly. They offer continental breakfast which is good. Free internet in the breakfast room and you get the code from the front desk. All in all a good bargain for staying here and not having to navigate the traffic in/out of the stadium and no need for a designated driver.

Stop off at the 4th base bar 2 blocks away for a good burger after the game.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is an old place, hanging on because of it's location close to the Brewers field, Miller Park, about a $8 cab ride away. If you're a walker, you can walk it, it's maybe 15 blocks.
Hard to find anything else of value this close to Miller Park. If you're trying to impress your honey, you're going to need to pay more elsewhere. If you and your spouse are in agreement that you're saving money, this works. And in that vein, the Ihop, just down the street, works too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

First off, we came to town simply to see a baseball game (which was fantastic even though our team lost). My husband and 2 kids were able to quickly check in, park the van out back, and dump our stuff in the clean room. With only two full-size beds, I asked the front desk clerk for a cot, which came up immediately. Room was clean, towels were fluffy and extremely clean. Shower had some mildew in corners. Front desk clerk called for a taxi for us (I had recently had foot surgery so couldn't do what would normally be a moderate walk for my kids). Over to the stadium in 5 minutes. Really convenient o the way home. Morning continental breakfast (bagels, muffins, donuts) was sufficient to bring up the room as we get ready to leave. Net, not a luxury hotel, but perfect for our schedule.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We needed to stay in two different parts of Milwaukee on this trip; first downtown, then near the ballpark. Downtown we stayed at a five star property and near the ball park we chose the Woods View Inn. What a pleasant surprise to find the Woods View to be a clean, well appointed, nicely run and reasonably priced hotel so close to Miller Park. Our room was as comfortable and better supplied than the expensive place downtown. We'll probably stay here every time we come to Milwaukee from now on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn

Address: 5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Milwaukee has to offer - from Miller Park to the Milwaukee County Zoo - from this affordable and convenient hotel.Offering easy access to the I-94 and I-41, the BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn makes it easy to experience the area's most popular attractions. Miller Park, home of the Milwaukee Brewers and many other concerts and events throughout the year, is just a mile away. Other big-name events are held at the nearby State Fair Ground, and Milwaukee's famous annual music festival, Summerfest, is held each summer about five miles away. This Milwaukee hotel is also within minutes of some of the city's cultural attractions, like Miller Brewery and the Milwaukee County Zoo. We are a great choice for athletes in town for kickball, ice skating and hockey at the Pettit National Ice Center, and other sporting events.Corporate travelers appreciate that the BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn is conveniently located to businesses in the retail, medical and education sectors. The Mayfair, Southridge and Brookfield Malls are all within 15 minutes of the hotel, and the VA Hospital, Froedert Hospital and Medical College are just steps away. The University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee is less than ten miles away. Other local business draws include the Wisconsin Expo Center, PH Mining/Harnischfege, Siemens Power Corporation and Rockwell. This West Milwaukee hotel also offers a conference room perfect for corporate meetings or other events. This Best Western hotel in Milwaukee makes each guest feel at home with spacious guest rooms, featuring rooms with kitchenettes, Free Wi-Fi and cable television. Other convenient hotel amenities include a complimentary breakfast, onsite cocktail lounge, indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are proud to offer superior customer service and comfortable accommodations in west Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woods View Hotel Milwaukee
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;