We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Nice Ambience, Solid Winelist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mason Street Grill

Mason Street Grill
425 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)
414-298-3131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mason Street Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,342 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Jefferson Street
Description: Welcome to Mason Street Grill, where our world-renown steaks, warm ambiance and gracious staff are waiting to make your ordinary day extraordinary! Whether entertaining colleagues or dining with special friends Mason Street Grill’s lunch and dinner menus are sure to please every appetite. Enjoy happy-hour in our Lounge while listening to Milwaukee’s best live jazz, Monday-Saturday. Our private dining rooms are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings, and feature our culinary team’s outstanding customized menus. Come on in and make yourself comfortable, and let us take care of the rest!
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Ambience, Solid Winelist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Eat & drank here a few times on a business trip - it is part of the Pfister Hotel & like everything at the hotel it is very good. Had a nice Cabernet with some very good steak. Very happy to come back any time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    78
    28
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Small Group Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Located in the Pfister Hotel, this is a great choice for entertaining out of town guests and/or hosting small groups (or lunch/dinner anytime really, of course). It is a nice way to highlight the historical hotel in Milwaukee for guests, as well as an excuse to get downtown. We eat here a dozen or so times a year and, most recently, booked a smaller private dining room located on the south side of the restaurant for a family dinner of 11 guests. Their private spaces have all been recently renovated and offer windows overlooking the sidewalk, as well as very comfortable seating with lots of privacy. The managers are extremely accommodating and seem to really love their jobs, as well as appreciate that you are there (refreshing!). Our server, Danny, was excellent and EXTREMELY patient with members of my family who shall go unnamed - haha. Our group ordered a variety of food from the normal restaurant menu, including the beet salad (excellent), the halibut, various steaks, and a handful of desserts. All was delicious, with plenty of leftovers. If you are lucky enough to go when they have caramelized brussels sprouts on the menu, they are a must-try. Overall, I highly recommend Mason Street Grill for their consistency, enjoyable staff, finely-prepared fare, and comfortable, but chic location. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been to Mason Street Grill a number of times and each time the food is fantastic, I've never had a bad meal. Consistency seems to usually be lacking even in better restaurants but not here - meat is always perfect, and the mushrooms are so good I can't stop thinking of them. Robust and hearty, delicious. I'll go back for a steak just to get some of these. Also it has an elegant but not stuffy feel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great steaks, nice perfect atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

With live music in the bar area, and some exceptional steak quality, you won't be disappointed.Walked in to check in for our reservation and all 5 of the staff at check in welcomed us,(really felt welcome), they have something on the menu for everyone, form affordable to high quality and still priced right. The staff did not rush us and we had a really enjoyable time, and a great dinner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Grand Gathering Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My daughter and I try to get together at The Mason Street Grill, located in The Pfister Hotel, once a month. The food is always tasty and done "just right". Everyone is always friendly and service is efficient. Remember to park in the Pfister parking structure and get your parking ticket validated prior to ordering. Friday and Saturday nights it is quite crowded; at times it makes for good "people watching".

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mason Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mason Street Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.