We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maxie's

Maxie's
6732 West Fairview Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53213
+1 414-292-3969
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 1,406 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Maxie's is Milwaukee's outpost of Southern cooking and comfort food. Known for seafood and fish dishes, Maxie's features an oyster bar with Happy Hour and nightly specials. Maxie's draws inspiration from throughout the South, and serves barbecue, Low Country favorites, Cajun and Creole cuisine.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The food was very good with some very unique choices. The service was excellent. Could not have asked for a better experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    46
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WI
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have been here a few different times but most recently went on new year's eve.They had their standard menu and additional food specials. We had reservations at 6:30 and it was already hopping.Food was delicious (I always get the chicken fritters) and service was good, generally (the waiter managed to drop a fork down the back of my husbands shirt, but no big deal). They have good happy hour specials too! (Especially the mojitos!)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tosa, wi
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Happy Hour - Half priced apps and drink specials daily”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Maxie's is okay for Southern food, just okay. I was raised on real Southern food cooked by real Southerners and Maxie's misses the authenticity mark just a bit. The prices are inflated for what you get. My husband and I spent over $85 for a mediocre meal that included a half price fried green tomato appetizer, two half priced drinks, two entrees, and one dessert. The hospitality is fine, but could be better. During peak hours, the noise level is so high it is difficult to carry on a conversation at your table. We also attended a party here and the food was the same as a regular dinner. But, it was a fun party.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Cajun Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife grew up down south and she says this is the best shrimp and grits she has ever had. We have been there three times and she really wants to try something else but the S&G is too good not to order. I had the Gumbo and it was fantastic!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Love the fried green tomoatoes! Great drink menu! We got the oysters too...very friendly staff explained all the different oysters and "flavors" to expect.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxie's also viewed

 

Been to Maxie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.