We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Rustic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Merenda

La Merenda
125 East National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53204
414-389-0125
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Merenda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,393 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 1st and Barclay
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfectly Rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Eclectic decor and quaint dining space makes this tapas restaurant a neighborhood gem. Reservations are highly recommended, otherwise you may find yourself waiting for quite a while.
The staff is approachable and friendly. The menu changes at times but most of the favorites remain the same such as the Goat Cheese Crostini & La Merenda salad. Whatever you choose know that you are experiencing the freshest available ingredients that have been prepared carefully with seasoning that allows the food to shine!
I prefer to enjoy La Merenda after 8:30p when the place is just beginning to wind down from the dinner rush. The service is just a bit more attentive and the room a little quieter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    42
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My kitchen..I wish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Peter Sandroni is one of the best chefs ever! His farm fresh, Internationally themed, small plates menu is outstanding. The decor is not fancy but there is a warm, friendly atmosphere and the place is humming every night. The outdoor patio is perfect with a wood burning fireplace. Now..the food! The nightly specials are delicious and the menu changes quite often. Try the ceviche, Argentinian beef, ravioli, short ribs, curried shrimp, patatas bravas with chorizo, lumpia..so many excellent dishes and perfect to share. Good wine selection and Mon. night bottles are half price. We even love eating at the bar where we've met many interesting people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“ghetto tapas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

first off, the location and first impression of the plastic door is horrible. valet service...haha no where around.
then you walk in...bartender lazy and bad mannered. I told the restaurant it was my bday and if i could have a nice table that would be nice. No mention of my bday, horrible SMALL table with a chair that was falling apart. Ambiance is horrible and looks like it was decorated at a flea market.
asked to switch to a different table....grudgingly moved.
Food was mediocre at best. Tapas is normally a decent serving that can be shared. portion was tiny. the special (beef wellington) was very good. the only thing that was any good! :(
my boyfriend told them AGAIN it was my bday and she literally TOSSED my dessert at me and said HAPPY BIRTHDAY (as she walked away).
i will never go back and it definitely was not a good choice for my bday.
learn how to treat your guests with respect....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great tapas place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food, service and atmosphere were great. Will be going back to enjoy the new patio if summer ever arrives.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tapas were so tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I visited this restaurant last night in Milwaukee. The food was very delicious. Ordered the argentinian steak, trout, potato skins, chorizo sausage and empanadas.. Had a great evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Merenda also viewed

 

Been to La Merenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Merenda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.