We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be nice when completed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Third Ward

Historic Third Ward
Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Historic Third Ward)
414-273-1173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 76 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Attraction details
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Will be nice when completed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We walked a few blocks and some construction still going on. We had lunch at the Wicked Hop. The Ruben sandwich was great, very lean. The parking concept was new to us. The meters have numbers and then the meter box is located on the sidewalk and you pay w/credit card accordingly. Many different shops, art galleries and clothing, etc.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    113
    33
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bend
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Browsing and Dining Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I love this part of Milwaukee. Close to downtown, but with a character all its own. Lots of interesting shops for browsing and many varied restaurants to suit any taste. The Public Market is a cool destination for dining or buying food and drink. What urban living should be.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Watch out for over-priced restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A good place to walk around and look at a lot of unique shops. Restaurants are high-end but some are pricey. Great furniture place there - Rubin's. It is worth going through.
Also, there is a big Antique store there also worth walking through.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an afternoon during great weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My boyfriend & I did the walking tour of this area through the Milwaukee Historic Incorporated. http://historicmilwaukee.org/tours/walking-tours/
This walking tour was a great way to learn about the history of this area and all of the old buildings. The buildings that survived the 1892 fire and the ones that were built after the fire. This area has lots of places to eat and some shops. An artsy area due to the Milwaukee Art & Design school. The best place here is the Milwaukee Public Market. Great place with different eats and treats. I highly recommend a walk in this neighborhood.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Public Market is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had lunch at the Public Market - lots of variety. And save room for dessert - great pastries, pies, candies and custard available. Also a wine shop and wine tasting area. The rest of the area had a lot of shops, but I was more interested in the area's beautiful architecture rather than the shops themselves.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Third Ward also viewed

 

Been to Historic Third Ward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Third Ward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.