We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun relaxing afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Third Ward

Historic Third Ward
Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Historic Third Ward)
414-273-1173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 243 things to do in Milwaukee
Attraction details
Green Bay
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun relaxing afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

When we dicided to take a little trip to Milwaukee this was on our must do list. I am glad we went! Finding parking was a little tricky because this is a popular spot. We found two hour parking for $1.50 an hour. It was easy to pay with change or a card with thier electronic parking meeter. The only problem with parking here is that we had to remember to run back every 2 hours to put more time on. Our first stop was the public market. This place is amazing. So many yummy treats to nibble on. Make sure you come here hungry! Most of the food is local and I love supporting local businesses. We bought coffe and found a bench. This place is just a good place to sit and peopl watch. We later decided to get lunch and one of the many resaurants. Everything looked good so we just picked one at random and were not dissapointed. There were also quite a few cute stores to look at!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    128
    37
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A stroll back in time !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Old World Third Street goes back to the days when that was the place to go. That was over 100 years ago. The buildings are still there and doing great. If you visit Milwaukee you have to go there.The river boats offer dinner cruises or just beer and brats. For me it is like going back in time. I was born in Milwaukee in 1938 and I still love to visit 3rd Street.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Lots of dining options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a few hours in the Historic Third Ward recently on a beautiful weekday. Started out at the Public Market. Really nice market with wonderful fresh food options. Unfortunately, we got there a tad too early for most of the vendors, but the coffee place was open and the coffee was delicious. Strolled up the street, stopping in all of the fun shops along the way. There are not a ton of stores, but the ones that are there are interesting, unique, and worth checking out. Two particularly interesting shops were "Artasia Gallery" and the quirky little corner antique store. Artasia was pretty unassuming from the first level, but look out: the lower level is like a museum waiting to be discovered!!! There are quite a few great options for dining on this street. Many are open air during the summer months. Busy, great vibe at lunchtime.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to take a date~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A nice place to spend some time with family, or a date. Always a lively atmosphere filled with positive energy and things to do. A favorite of all my out of town guests, and myself included. Can be pricey, but also really reasonable if you just want a quick bite to eat or a drink. Lots of sights to see!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed walking around the Historic Third Ward. There are great little shops and funky restaurants. The Market is amazing and you really shouldn't miss the handmade chocolates!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Third Ward also viewed

 

Been to Historic Third Ward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Third Ward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.