We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent All Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carnevor

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carnevor
724 N Milwaukee St, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)
(414) 223-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carnevor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Wisconsin
Description: Milwaukee's premier steakhouse, Carnevor is one of Wisconsin’s most acclaimed fine dining destinations. A restaurant consistently topping year-end “Best Of” lists, Carnevor has been lauded for its variety of culinary tastes – from our luscious barrel-cut beef to mouthwatering New York Strips and bone-in fillets. Our steak menu offers exquisite wet- and dry-aged USDA prime beef – a distinction afforded to less than two percent of all American beef – as well as daily selections of the coveted Kobe, imported from Japan to guarantee the most succulent and tender waygu. And with a wine list featuring more than 400 selections, you’ll always find the perfect bottle to uncork with your meal. But it’s not merely the “meal” you’ll enjoy at Carnevor. It’s the entire experience: service, music, menu, and more. To top it all, herbivores are always welcome. Please call restaurant to arrange large party reservations.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent All Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

One of the best steaks I have had in my life. Highly reccommended! The staff was helpful and attentive. It was a wonderful place to celebrate my wedding anniversary.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    25
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great steak, but otherwise mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Steak: bone in prime rib eye. Truly excellent. Poor variety of cuts (do you really need 5 versions of filet?). Sides decent, not great. Wine list was STUPID expensive, almost insultingly so. Menu otherwise was not particularly inspired. Would not return.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, the rest, not so much.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently had our first dinner there and while pricey, (which we knew before we got there), the food was very good from the main course all the way to the dessert. However, that being said, the tables are too close together and with the bar being so close, the surrounding noise became too loud and it was hard to hear. And the service, while clearly exerting effort to accommodate our every need, was way beyond overkill. We figured that between our waiter and the other servers, we must have been interrupted at least 25 times or more. It was completely ridiculous! The other thing is that the website implies this delightful lighting effect from panels on the wall. There is no such lighting and is nothing more that ‘staged’ lighting for the photo or computer enhancement. It’s quite dark and the ‘ambient’ lighting is minimal at best. So, the food is good but as far as the rest goes and for that kind of money, we’ll find good food and a better atmosphere somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Liked the atmosphere- dimly lit w/ simple decor. Drinks so-so, and the food was overpriced. Service was very good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Took my husband for his 50th - just the two of us, wanted a nice romantic night away from the kids - it was noisy, where we could hardly hear each other across the table. We were seated right away. Prices were shocking to me - $45 for mine and $75 for my husband's 8 oz Kobe steak. They were delicious but I don't think any 8 oz portion of steak is worth $75! My husband found a shell in his lobster bisque and the gentleman that we told looked at it closely and said "that's odd" and walked away, no opology, no follow-up with anyone - pretty ridiculous for the price paid. We will not ever go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnevor also viewed

 

Been to Carnevor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnevor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.