We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Latin and South American food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antigua

Antigua
5823 W Burnham St, Milwaukee, WI 53219
(414) 321-5775
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #294 of 1,389 restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Latin and South American food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I visited Antigua Restaurant with a friend. She had chicken mole and I had terrific chicken dish with a white sauce, rice and salad. Saying white sauce is a real disservice. It is delicate and creamy. There is nothing plain about it. The server was able to have a drink made for my friend like one she had in Mexico. Perfect winter after dinner drink. Just the right amount of chocolate liqueur.
The service was outstanding. Perfect complement to the food. I'm going back soon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    15
    5
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Racine,Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely the most delicious meal I have ever eaten!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

You must try their version of coconut shrimp, Encocao de Camarones, it is unbelievable! It is not the normal breaded version. It is in a coconut sauce served with cilantro rice and plantains, I just can't say enough about it!

We have been coming here for a while and I have enjoyed their other food as well, especially the tequila sauce chicken and enchiladas. They also have wonderful guacamole and drinks. It is a fantastic place!!!,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
“Not impressed, not returning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I went here for lunch with a co-worker. Thankfully I had a buy one get one free. I ordered Cochinita Pibil which is basically a pulled pork with red onions. He ordered pupusas which where very thin. He was lead to believe it was an entree, looked like an appetizer. Would never get either again. Small portions.

Service: Arrived at 12:30 on a Wednesday. 11 tables, a bartender and one server. Took awhile to get drinks, then order. Was not impressed by service other than he was very polite. Music was a bit loud, atmosphere is more modern for a "latin" restaurant. Won't be going back here again.

On another note, I asked for some hot sauce and received what tasted like pizza sauce, and I was charged for it. Worst $25 lunch to date.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We bought a Groupon for Antigua to give it a try. We went on a Saturday night. It had a nice look to it on the outside with a patio. Upon entering, we noticed it was loud. We ordered guacamole with bacon. It was o.k.. Our entrees were a bit pricey, I thought, and the food was just o.k..
There are a lot of other Latin / Hispanic restaurants around with better food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Extremely overpriced & Not even Mexican food!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The atmosphere is very nice and clean but the customer service could use a little work, staff is somewhat judgemental. The food is waaaay to expensive for very little portions and just not worth it. To be honest, it isn't even a mexican restaurant, if you are looking for taco's, enchiladas, burritos and refried beans, this is not the spot for you. Average price for a dish is around $15-$19.99 for ONE person...stay away from this place...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antigua also viewed

 

Been to Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.