We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Turn-around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilawat

Kilawat
139 E Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)
414.291.4793
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kilawat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,338 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Water Street
Description: Expect a dining experience that's nothing short of electrifying at Kil@wat, the signature restaurant of InterContinental Milwaukee. The menu runs the gamut from traditional favorites to exotic happenings with each unique selections prepared with a distinctive flair. Expect all of this in a distinctive, cutting edge decor that fills up the senses as you enjoy a meal. Whether it's the start of your night or your evening's destination, Kil@wat works well with any plans. Enjoy an amazing dinner in under an hour before catching a show in the nearby Theatre District or grab a seat at the bar and take in the unique ambiance.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Fabulous Turn-around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had not dined here in a few years because of slow service and mediocre food. WOW! What a change! Wonderful, efficient service; the server knew all about the food and clearly loved his work. Many staff circulated to provide any assistance needed. And the food was delicious! Interesting preparations, fish and vegetables cooked perfectly, creative pairings of tastes.
We will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    59
    19
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“GREAT MILWAUKEE RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The restaurant is in a great setting in downtown Milwaukee on the second floor of the Intercontinental hotel. Eclectic decor is very elegant and the wait staff is very professional.
The food quality and selections are fantastic! Many entrees are midwestern and done to perfection. Prices are reasonable for a restaurant of the quality. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Food was wonderful and recommendations were right on -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The waiters new exactly what we needed to eat. Salads were the best! We loved the service, food, manager, drinks and everything about this place. Already planning our next trip back. don't miss this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenBloomer, Public Relations Manager at Kilawat, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello ebenezer15, thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review! It is wonderful to hear the staff’s recommendations were “right on,” and you enjoyed your over-all experience with us! We would be honored to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“""Marc's Big Boy"" with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Nostalgia brought us to the Kilo@wat restaurant...fine food, impeccable service, and creative drinks will bring us back again and again....Spent most of my high school Saturday nights enjoying the famous Marc's Big Boy...how sad it was to see the chain leave t his area and with it this delectable burger creation...fast forward to present day Kilo@wat chef who has magically recreated this blast from the past so masterfully....trust me you will NOT be disappointed! ...and yes it can be ordered as a dinner item as well as luncheon selection... Along with our meal we had the roasted butternut soup....amazing.....the TREETINI martini was sensational...the entire waitstaff was most accomodating and friendly....the restaurant is decorated beautifully in rich oranges and greens and the wide windows offer beautiful views of the light show at the PAC..... hotel parking was easy or go the valet route....the atrium is transforming....enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenBloomer, Public Relations Manager at Kilawat, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review here on Trip Advisor! It’s wonderful to hear we could get you in by the nostalgia of the Big Boy burger, and I’m even more excited you’ll be back based on our views of the city and the service, food & drinks you received!

Here’s a fun fact about the Big Boy burger and our company ~ Bob’s Big Boy restaurants first opened in California in the 1940’s. In 1958, our company, The Marcus Corporation, opened the first (Marc’s) Big Boy in Milwaukee and operated over 60 Big Boy restaurants until the mid-1990’s. Our Big Boy statue still resides at the Eisner Museum of Advertising & Design in Milwaukee!

Thanks again for your feedback; we would be honored to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Very enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful Decor. The design of the restaurant is upscale and sophisticated, very big city look. The menu had a good selection and the food was well presented and very good. One of my party had to have her food heated but the quality of all meals was very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenBloomer, Public Relations Manager at Kilawat, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the delightful review on Trip Advisor, Judith! I love your description of our restaurant as “sophisticated” and “big city;” and am so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us! We would be honored to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilawat also viewed

 

Been to Kilawat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilawat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.